Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bailey's Irish Cream
0

13 posts in this topic

This is the Bailey's Irish Cream statement regarding gluten, this makes me assume it isn't gluten free...correct???:

Gluten: Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys is manufactured by fermenting grain, which contains gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten-free diet must consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I don't think that it is gluten free.

Alcoholic beverages that are gluten free:

Alcoholic Beverages

NOTE:A lot of products may also be listed by "type" i.e. Wines, Vodkas, etc.

Almaden Wines (000.000.0000) (vw=05/30/02) (www.almaden.com/faqs/FAQ.htm)

Alpine Spiced Cider (Continental Mills) (800.457.7744) (vp=09/05/02)

Drink Mixes

Arbor Mist Frozen Wine Blenders (Arbor Mist) (1-800-836-9463 x 35700) (Consumer.affairs@cwine.com) (ve=05-20-2003)

All are gluten free.

Armagnac (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Bacardi (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

All rums

Bargetto Wines (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (http://www.bargetto.com) (ve=05/19/2004)

All varieties

Bartles & Jaymes (E&J Gallo) (www.bartlesandjames.com) (ve=03/26/04)

Wine Based Coolers NOTE: Bartles & Jaymes MALT-Base Coolers contain gluten

Boone’s & Boone’s Farm Coolers (E&J Gallo) (209-341-3111) (ve=03/26/04)

Wine Based Products are gluten-free. NOTE: Some are MALT Based beverages and contain gluten

Brandy (00/00/00)

Calvados, Grand Marnier, AVOID VSOP!

Bushmill's (bushmills@qualitycustomercare.com) (ve=01/09/2004)

ALL whiskies including Malt whiskeys are gluten-free. This is a very smooth Irish whiskey, all products triple distilled, says manufacturer

Campari (000.000.0000) (ve=05/30/02)

Captain Morgan (000.000.0000) (ve=06/04/02) (www.rum.com)

Original Spiced Rum; Silver Spiced Rum; Parrot Bay; Private Stock

Champagne (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Chaucer's Mead (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (http://www.bargetto.com) (ve=05/19/2004)

Regular, Raspberry, Olallieberry

Cider (00/00/00)

Hornsby (NOT Draft Cider),

Wyder’s Ciders (Wyder’s) – (ve=05-20-2003) .

The Pear and Raspberry Ciders DO contain gluten. The Peach and Apple Ciders, however, contain no gluten.

Ciders (00/00/00)

Woodchuck, Cider Jack, Woodpecker, Strongbow (all made from fermented apples and made with gluten-free ingredients)

Cognac (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Corbett Canyon Wines (The Wine Group) (209.599.4111) (00/00/00)

All varieties

Coastal Cellars (Bargetto) (800- 4-BARGETTO) (http://www.bargetto.com) (ve=05/19/2004)

All varieties

Crown Royal products (ve=2-5-03)

from the company: “Please be advised that Crown Royal products, which have been distilled, do not contain glutens or gluten residues. However, as this relates to a medical condition, may we suggest you consult your own physician concerning the consumption of alcohol beverage products?”

Cruzan (Todhunter Imports) (www.cruzanrum.com) (ve=2-21-03)

All Rums including flavored onesare gluten-free.

DeKuyper (www.DeKuyper.com) (ve=9-23-04)

Our cordials are made with distilled spirits that are primarily made from a corn base. They may also from time to time, contain small amounts of small grains such as wheat or rye. It is known that Gluten can be found in the small grains such as rye, barley, oats, etc. However, it is generally accepted that the process of distillation excludes gluten in the finished product.

Diageo (800.767.3123) (from the ListServ 07/14/02)

"After calling customer service at 800 767-3123, I received the following list from Diageo on its gluten-free brands

GINS:

Booths

Gordons

Gordons Citrus

Gordons Wildberry

Popov

READY-TO-DRINK COCKTAILS:

T.G.I. Friday's On The Rocks

• Censored on the Beach

• Long Island Ice Tea

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Pina Colada

• Strawberry Daiquiri

• White Russian

The Club Cocktails

• Brass Monkey

• Censored on the Beach

• Gin Martini

• Long Island Ice Tea

• Manhattan

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Pina Colada

• Screwdriver

• Tom Collins

• Vodka Martini

• Whiskey Sour

NEW: SMIRNOFF ICE

BLENDERS:

Jose Curevo Blenders

• Authentic Margarita Mix

• Lime Margarita Mix

• Strawberry Margarita Mix

T.G.I. Friday's Blenders

• Amaretto Mudslide

• Margarita

• Mudslide

• Orange Dream

• Pina Colada

• Strawberry Shortcake

• Raspberry Chiller

• Vanilla Caramel Swirl

LIQUEURS AND SPECIALITIES:

Black Haus Blackberry Schnapps

Rumple Minze Peppermint Schnapps

RUM

Appleton Estate V/X

Appleton Estate 12 Year

Appleton Estate 21 Year

Appleton Special

Malibu Caribbean Rum

TEQUILAS:

Cuervo 1800 Reposada

Cuervo 1800 Añejo

Cuervo 1800 Coleccion

Cuervo 1800 Single Barrel

Jose Cuervo Especial

Jose Cuervo Tradicional

Reserva de la Familia de Jose Cuervo

VODKAS:

Gordons

Popov

Relska

Smirnoff

Smirnoff Black

Smirnoff Citrus Twist

Smirnoff Orange Twist

Smirnoff Raspberry Twist

Smirnoff Vanilla Twist

WINES:

CALIFORNIA

• Beaulieu Vineyard

• Blossom Hill Winery

• Glen Ellen

• M. G. Vallejo

CHILE

• Casa Lapostolle

• Cuvee Alexander

FRANCE

• Chateau De Sancerre

• Piat D’Or

ITALY

• Ruffino

Diasronno Originale (Imported by Bacardi from Italy) (http://www.diasronno.com) (ve=06/24/03)

Amaretto

E. & J. Gallo Winery, of Modesto, California (Comsumerrealtions@carlorossi.com)(ve=04-12-2004)

All of the wines and champagnes are completely free of gluten or any gluten by-products

Gin (00/00/00)

Club Gin & Tonic, Cocktails for Two Gin Martini, Hublein Gin Martini, Milshire Gin 80%, Popov Gin 80%. Look for Korn (a German Potato Gin)

Hornsby (E&J Gallo) (209-341-3111) (ve=03/26/04)

None are considered gluten-free

Irish Mist (000-000-0000) (ve=04/30/04)

Jack Daniels (www.jackdaniels.com) (ve=01/09/2004)

Jack Daniel's Black Label Tennessee Whiskey has absolutely no carbohydrates (sugar or starch), gluten, fats or cholesterol, as these are removed during the distilling process.

Madeira (www.premiumport.com) (00/00/00)

If from the Portuguese island of Madeira it is gluten-free because of the regulations with making Madeira in that country - otherwise check with the manufacturer

Margarita Mix (00/00/00)

Jose Cuervo; Mr. & Mrs. T

Marinade & Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes; Mr. & Mrs. T (EXCEPT Bloody Mary Mix) (00/00/00)

Martini (00/00/00)

Club Extra Dry martini, Club Vodka Martini

Mead (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Distilled from honey and is usually gluten-free

Mistico (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Jose Cuervo Mistico (agave & cane)

Mixes (00/00/00)

Club Tom Collins (corn), Diamond Jim's Bloody Mary Mystery, Holland House (EXCEPT Teriyaki

Motts (Motts Cadbury Schwepps) (800-426-4891) (http://www.mottsinteractive.com) (vp=06/19/03)

Motts Cooking Wines (all varieties)

Ouzo (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

A clear, aromatic alcohol distilled from grapes and flavored with aniseed (anise). Anise belongs to the parsley family and has a licorice-like flavor. Anise is one of the earliest aromatic plants to be mentioned in history and originates in the Mediteranian.

Pat O'Brien's Hurricane Cocktail Mix (Franco's Cocktail Mixes) (800-782-4508) (www.francoscocktailmixes.com) (vp=9-24-03)

The modified starches they use are sourced from the USA and are corn based but they do not manufacture those ingredients themselves so cannot guarantee that they are totally gluten free. None of the natural flavors are from wheat, rye, barley or oats

Port (www.premiumport.com) (00/00/00)

If from Portugal it is gluten-free because of the regulations with making Port in that country - otherwise check with the manufacturer

Ramapo Valley Brewery gluten-free beer (vp= 11-03) (845-369-7827).

Remy Martin Congnac (ve=1-27=03) (www.remy-cointreau.com)

Remy Martin Congnac products are all grain free/gluten free.

Rose's Natural Infusions Cocktail Mixes, Rose's Brand (they also bring you Rose's Lime Juice and are part of the Motts/Cadbury/Schweppes Group)

1-800-696-5891 www.rosesinfusions.com (vp & ve 08/20/2004)

Rum (00/00/00)

Rum is distilled from sugar cane. Light rums should be free of gluten; however, the heavier spiced rums may contain gluten. If you prefer spiced rums please contact the company to make sure that any spices used are gluten-free. Otherwise it is safest to trust only white rums.

Sake (00/00/00)

May contain gluten from barley enzyme from some of the ingredients used during processing.

Sam Adams (http://www.bostonbeer.com) (ve=07/30/03)

Sam Adams Hard Core Cider

Sherry (00/00/00)

Some use grains. Gallo Cocktail pale dry sherry of California

SKYY Spirits (000.000.0000) (ve=05/30/02)

SKYY Vodka and SKYY Citrus Vodka

Smirnoff Ice (diageo brands) (www.diageo.com) (02/02/05)

USA: Smirnoff Ice (any variety) is a malted beverage and NOT gluten-free.

CANADA, Smirnoff Ice (all varieties) is made with distilled vodka and is gluten-free

SOGONO DI SORRENTO LEMONCELLO (Cive Importing Co., Boston, MA) – liquor (617-227-3193) (ve=03-13-2003). Alcohol used in production is made from beets.

Sutter Home wines (Trinchero Family Estates) (ve=11/12/03)

All our wines are gluten free.

Taylor Marsala Wine (800-487-3417) (vp-3-3-05)

We DO NOT put any gluten in our wines, however, since we do not TEST for gluten, we can not say that it is gluten free!

Tequila (00/00/00)

El Tosoro, Herradura, Jose Cuervo Traditional & White, Matador White, Sauza Commeritivo, Sauza

Tito's Vodka (http://www.titos-vodka.com/ ) v? 9-23-04)

Made from 100% corn and the product is distilled 6 times.

Tres Generationes (000.000.0000) (00/00/00)

Beware of dark Tequila using caramel food color

Vodkas (00/00/00)

Bellevedere (one from potato - not from rye); Black Death (beet); Bushman's (Australia) (100% cane); Chopin (potato); Hamptons Vodka (made in USA is made from corn -- 877-937-5951); Jinro Soju (a Korean vodka made entirely from sweet potatoes); Kamchatka Vodka 80% (California only - corn); Luksusowa (from potato); Glacier Teton Vodka (made with 100% Idaho potatoes); Milshire Gin 80 proof; Monopolowa (Potato); Popov Citrus & Tangerine; Relsk Vodka 80% (corn); Popov 80%; Smirnoff 80% & 100%; Smirnoff Silver 90.4%; Smirnoff Vodka 80% (corn); Smirnoff Citrus Twist 70%; also see Zodiac.

Tito's Vodka (http://www.titos-vodka.com/ ) v? 9-23-04)

Made from 100% corn and the product is distilled 6 times.

Williams Sonoma apple martini mixer and lemon drop mixer (www.williamssonoma) (Feedback@williams-sonoma.com) (ve=3-31-05)

The 4830808 Lemon Drop Mix and 6124119 WS Cktl Mix Apltni. These items do not contain gluten.

Wine and Wine Coolers (00/00/00)

Most are gluten-free: Soleo Wine Cooler; E&J Brandies (the cask and cream liquor) , Also see individual listings

Zodiac Vodka (000.000.0000) (vp=05/30/02) (www.zodiacvodka.com)

I see Irish Mist on the list as gluten free, but not Baileys. I have tried Irish Mist before, it's pretty good, but not as good as Bailey's......

Karen

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have yet to try Bailey's. I read the same thing on their website. I do know of some celiacs who drink it with no problems. I am not saying it is gluten-free just that some do not have problems. Does anyone drink it? Anyone have a problem?

Hez

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As I said on another thread, I think the statement on their web site is just a CYA statement. Whiskey is made from grains which contain gluten, but it is generally accepted by experts that the distillate is gluten free. Having said that, thare are a few people who have reported problems with distilled spirits, or distilled vinegar. But most thinking is that the risk from distilled spirits is an urban myth. I have no adverse effects from Baileys, nor from scotch whiskey. Beer is another story, but it is NOT distilled.

Just because something is not on a particular gluten-free list does not necessarily mean it contains gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had some New Year's Eve in some coffee (to try and make it to Midnight). I don't know if it bothered me or not as I have only been gluten-free for about 3 months. I read their disclaimer, and decided I thought it was safe since the only issue could be the grain alcohol. If it is 100% safe or not, I don't know.....but for me, I have decided for now that it is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Oh wow, I thought I read that it WAS gluten-free! I took a cruise over New Years and I drank it often after dinner and I will say I didn't have any problems.... hmmm. I usually have gluten reactions within an hour and they are obvious... stomach pain, the runs, gas... I didn't have any of that. Oh well, maybe I lucked out but I find it hard to believe its loaded with gluten.

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Karen, thanks so much for posting this. I am one of the unlucky ones who does react, strongly, to gluten grain alcohols, whether distilled or not. I have ended up afraid to drink anything except potato vodka and woodchuck cider. I am going out this morning to get some ouzo and amaretto, my absolute favorites before diagnosis. I am sooo looking forward to an after dinner coffe with ouzo in it, or a small glass of golden almond goodness by my fireplace. Your efforts are appretiated greatly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think the statement on their web site is just a CYA statement. Whiskey is made from grains which contain gluten, but it is generally accepted by experts that the distillate is gluten free. Having said that, thare are a few people who have reported problems with distilled spirits, or distilled vinegar.

Whenever I see a liquor that contains a lot of flavorings, colors and sweeteners, like wine coolers or Irish Cream, I automatically think, there has to be some gluten in there. (Sometimes I feel like the gluten-free version of that creepy guy in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang who is all, "I smell children!") If I don't have one of those lists handy, I just stick to one of the vodka brands I never have problems with. But if Bailey's is saying that Whiskey is the only questionable ingredient, it's probably gluten-free since the distillation process generally removes gluten.

Having said that, I HAVE had some notable problems with distilled grain alcohol. I went over to a friend's house for "drinks" and it turned out that by "drinks" he meant "beers." So I asked if he had anything else. He found a dusty bottle of Georgi Vodka (what is this? high school?) and made me a vodka & soda. The next day I was sick. I'm thinking that the cheaper brands (ie comes in a plastic bottle) of distilled spirits aren't always distilled that carefully. I've had other grain-based vodkas and never had a problem.

If Bailey's is something you always enjoyed, it might be worth doing an experiment to see how it affects you. I'm thinking there's little risk since the whiskey they make it with is probably high end.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Canadian Karen - THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!

I was looking for that list!

Potato vodka is expensive, and I'm sick of wine!

Yippee - anyone for happy hour friday??!! LOL

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Karen, thanks so much for posting this. I am one of the unlucky ones who does react, strongly, to gluten grain alcohols, whether distilled or not. I have ended up afraid to drink anything except potato vodka and woodchuck cider. I am going out this morning to get some ouzo and amaretto, my absolute favorites before diagnosis. I am sooo looking forward to an after dinner coffe with ouzo in it, or a small glass of golden almond goodness by my fireplace. Your efforts are appretiated greatly.

I seem to have trouble with all grain alcohols as well.. and wierdly, even Chopin, which is potato vodka. But, oddly.. Bailey's is one of the very few things I"m ok with, and I can't figure out why! No other brand though.. there is an immediate and bad reaction to other brands. I'm terribly reactive to corn products too.. same affect as Gluten.

Everyone seems to have their info. at the bottom, and I don't know how to do that. I was diagnosed 15 years ago by elimination diet, and it was then (after 4 months of Gluten free diet) that I had my first two hours of my entire life without severe stomach pain. I lived my entire first 24 years of life wearing sixe 10 pants when I was a size 1 because my stomach was constantly swollen the same sixe as a 7 month or so pregnant woman and I was doubled over constantly. I grew up this way so I had no idea it wasn't normal. My intestines still don't work on their own so I have to take all kinds of horable herbals (since no doctors or meds have ever helped.. not even the ones that work for everyone else) but if there is any gluten or corn anywhere in my diet the medicines fail to work and I"m doubled over with a non-working digestive system again for usually about 6 months of really bad effects. I'm constantly learning about more things hiding in my diet, esp. with the corn products, so I don't think I've ever been entirely gluten/corn free enough to be healed all the way. But, the more clean my diet is the markedly better I am. Anyway.. there's all kinds of of endometriosis and other stuff they've diagnosed, just like the rest of you, but whatever. Right now they are suspecting also auto immune (runs in family) with some muscle nerve effects that started occuring about 10 yrs ago and got markedly more noticeable over the last few years.. but I do wonder if years worth of intestinal damage and malnourishment could be responsible for the muscle issues.. and surely the exhaustion! ... And other allergies keep popping up.. like now a bad reaction to any form of sugar. Yuck. Anyway.. I feel for everyone out there, and if anyone knows about these muscle/nerve issues let me know! (muscles just suddenly not working at times.. like loss of communication betw. brain and nerves. Much difficulty with stairs, or walking up hill started about a year ago.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Folks, this thread is almost 5 years old now. Any list in it is long outdated.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Taylor Marsala Wine (800-487-3417) (vp-3-3-05)

We DO NOT put any gluten in our wines, however, since we do not TEST for gluten, we can not say that it is gluten free!

The first time I read this, all I could think of was reading the label on a tub of ice cream: We do not put any ground beef in our ice cream. However, since we do not TEST for ground beef, we cannot say our ice cream is vegetarian.

CYA much?

Anyway, I didn't see Southern Comfort on the list, but I was on the website recently and they list it as gluten-free ... thank God. B)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone out there drink baileys and cream. I want to make a buttery nipple for new years eave tonight. Anyone out there drink this?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,640
    • Total Posts
      921,551
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Hi Kasia2016, Yes, celiac disease symptoms can vary widely.  Some people have no symptoms, we call that silent celiac.  Other have difficulty walking (gluten ataxia), skin rashes (dermatitis herpetiformis), and thyroid disease (Hashimoto's thyroiditis).  The list goes on and on.  GI symptoms can vary widely too, from mild symptoms at times to severe symptoms.
    • Hi egs1707, Welcome to the forum! Irene is right, you should not be gluten-free until all testing is completed.  The celiac disease tests are checking for immune system reactions and damage, and when you go gluten-free that starts to decline.  So the tests may not show the true immune reaction that is going on or the normal damage.  They may not show any damage in fact and you could get a false negative diagnosis.  You body starts healing and out the window go the test results.  Your doctor gets an "F" grade if they told you to go gluten-free now. But you aren't alone in having a doctor who doesn't understand the celiac disease testing process.  Many of them are woefully ignorant of proper testing for celiac disease.  That why the current estimate is somewhere in the range of 85% of celiacs in the USA are undiagnosed.  It doesn't help when doctors screw up the testing themselves.  Or refuse to test people.  Which is also far too common. I was vegetarian for 5 years.  I am not anymore and don't recommend it.  It is hard enough living gluten-free and finding safe food to eat and adequate nutrition for healing a damaged body.  I used to eat a lot of soy products when I Was vegetarian, but now soy makes me physically sick.  We can sometimes develop reactions to foods we eat a lot of while our guts are inflamed IMHO.  Soy is not a healthy food anyway from my reading. I can't do dairy now but may people who start out lactose intolerant end up being able to eat dairy after they have recovered. The best advice I can give is to avoid as much processed food as you can, and eat mostly whole foods you cook yourself at home.  When you do cook, cook big, and freeze the leftovers.  That way you can quickly take a small portion of food out of the freezer and reheat it.  Being celiac it is more important to learn how to cook.  Unless you are wealthy all those gluten-free processed foods add up quick.  Plus gluten-free processed foods often are lacking in fiber and vitamins. You'll want to watch out for vitamin deficiencies also.  Since celiac disease damages the villi in the small intestine, the vitamins and minerals etc are not digested and absorbed well.  So celiacs can be low on vitamin D, calcium,  and one other one I forget.  Vitamin B-12 may be low also ( it is important for nerve health).  Then there are some vitamins that vegetarians tend to have problems getting enough of also to consider. Adjusting to living with celiac disease means adjusting to a new diet and some lifestyle changes.  There's lots of us that make that change every year though, it's not impossible.  You will most likely end up eating better, more nutritious food than many of your peers.  And you will avoid a pletora of additional health concerns that can come along with untreated celiac disease. Learning to cook can be an adventure and you may enjoy it once you start.  you may find your taste in foods changes once you have been gluten-free for a while too. Recovery from celiac disease can take some months.  The immune system is very serious about protecting us and doesn't give up quickly.  Also it always remembers so it will react to even small amounts of gluten.  I live with gluten eaters at home and I do fine.  I just am careful about rinsing dishes off and so forth before using them. There is a Newbie 101 thread at the top of the coping with forum subsection.  It may provide some helpful info.  
    • That's great to hear you are feeling better Nightsky.  I really think when our GI systems are in distress already that it doesn't take much to set off symptoms.  Once I eliminated the other foods that cause me symptoms that helped a lot too.  And added some extra vitamin D to my diet and selenium. Many of us have developed reactions to other foods besides gluten and need to avoid them to keep symptoms at bay.  For me nightshades, carrots, soy, dairy, and celery all cause symptoms.  It took me awhile to figure out all those food culprits, but it made a big difference getting them out of my diet. But we are all individuals, and our bodies react individually.  So you may or may not have additional food intolerances develop. Celiac is one of those life journey things and we learn as we go.  Just keep the bottle of aspirin handy!
    • I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site: http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/ But it is in the US. I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free.  I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.
    • You should never have cut out gluten until you had the biopsy done. It's much worse to have to go back on after you've been off gluten for a while. There's no way I could ever do the gluten challenge after being off gluten for even a month because my reactions got so dramatically worse.  Stress definately can trigger celiac- before I was diagnosed - it got the worst after surgery and after a stressful time planning my daughters wedding. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,644
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    moojoo
    Joined