Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Helluva Good Dip
0

11 posts in this topic

Does anyone have experience with the Helluva Good French Onion dip. It has MSG, but it only says Milk as an allergen on the container. I am not a sensitive celiac but I still don't take chances. Thanks Everyone

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I don't know if it is gluten free, but if you post the ingredients and which ones you think are suspect, I'm sure we could come up with a good answer!

MSG does not contain gluten. However, there is much discussion that it is not 'great' for you. But in terms of Celiac, it is safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know I checked on 'hellava' products years ago over the phone, but it was so long ago, updated info would be a good idea. I remember the woman was very nice and knew what I was talking about. Some of their products were indeed gluten-free, but not all of them. Phone number on package? I'd be happy to make the inquiry again for everyone.

sorry not more help than that!

~Patti in NJ~

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought that I saw this product listed somewhere before (in one of my various lists), but I can't seem to find it now....sorry

Personally, I find it easy to just stick with Kraft products - I think their French Onion Dip is yummy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I know I checked on 'hellava' products years ago over the phone, but it was so long ago, updated info would be a good idea. I remember the woman was very nice and knew what I was talking about. Some of their products were indeed gluten-free, but not all of them. Phone number on package? I'd be happy to make the inquiry again for everyone.

sorry not more help than that!

~Patti in NJ~

the phone number is 888-611-4341 , i just happen to have an empty container in the trash! The French Onion Dip states milk,cream,salt,dehrydrated onion; sugar;msg;parsley; spices;modified food starch; gelatin; potassium sotbate and enzyme. I'd be thrilled to know what you find out if you call.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thanks Everyone!

I don't know why I thought the MSG had gluten but in the beginng everything is overwhelming so you take in a lot of info at once. I must have got something mixed up.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If anyone calls, I'd be interested to know.

Everything on there looks safe to me except modified food starch. Let's hope its not from wheat!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If anyone calls, I'd be interested to know.

Everything on there looks safe to me except modified food starch. Let's hope its not from wheat!

I called helluva good while at the grocery store a few days ago. All of their dips are gluten fee as well as their cheeses. I also called frito lay and kraft. Both companies told me that if there was even a tiny amount of gluten in their products...they would list the source as gluten or the grain. Frito lay said that their food starch comes from potato,tapioco and another gluten free source that I cannot remember, lol. Companies are always happy to speak with you. My daughter has been celiac since age 10 mo(29 now). The companies also explained to me that msg used to come from a wheat source but now is chemically made(not from gluten). I just started a gluten free diet 3 days ago. Hope this helps. xx

http://www.heinz.com/glutenfree/index.html

http://www.glutenfreeceliacweb.com/2007/12/08/gluten-free-soy-and-teriyaki-sauce-an-update/

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/healthy-living-ideas/articles/food-allergies/glutenfreefoods.aspx

http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-not-containing-gluten-ingredients.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called helluva good while at the grocery store a few days ago. All of their dips are gluten fee as well as their cheeses. I also called frito lay and kraft. Both companies told me that if there was even a tiny amount of gluten in their products...they would list the source as gluten or the grain. Frito lay said that their food starch comes from potato,tapioco and another gluten free source that I cannot remember, lol. Companies are always happy to speak with you. My daughter has been celiac since age 10 mo(29 now). The companies also explained to me that msg used to come from a wheat source but now is chemically made(not from gluten). I just started a gluten free diet 3 days ago. Hope this helps. xx

http://www.heinz.com/glutenfree/index.html

http://www.glutenfreeceliacweb.com/2007/12/08/gluten-free-soy-and-teriyaki-sauce-an-update/

http://www.kraftrecipes.com/healthy-living-ideas/articles/food-allergies/glutenfreefoods.aspx

http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-not-containing-gluten-ingredients.html

Just be aware that Frito Lay doesn't list CC issues on their packages. They do however have this included on their website along with the items it pertains to:

"Please note however, some of the products listed below may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Although our lines are washed between batches, Frito-Lay has not tested these products for gluten content and the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing. Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration in consuming these products."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just be aware that Frito Lay doesn't list CC issues on their packages. They do however have this included on their website along with the items it pertains to:

"Please note however, some of the products listed below may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten. Although our lines are washed between batches, Frito-Lay has not tested these products for gluten content and the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing. Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration in consuming these products."

Thank you, What is CC?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, What is CC?

CC is cross contamination from wheat being used in the same plant or on the same lines. Flour dust stays suspending in the air for quite a while and can contaminate stuff that would otherwise be gluten free. CC is also a problem in our own kitchens, that is why we need a new toaster for gluten-free breads, to replace colanders and cutting boards and scratched pans. Even a small amount can keep the antibody reaction going. Some will react more severely to CC than others and some can safely eat stuff made in shared facilities and on shared lines. At first I think it best to be as strict as possible then after fully healing add in items that are from shared lines etc and see if a reaction happens.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,116
    • Total Posts
      919,451
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I figured I would update those who were wondering.  I have gotten the appt. so far moved up to August 30. I am waiting to have gene testing done via swab for all 3 of my kiddos tomorrow. My daughters celiac antibodies came up negative but her IgA is low which the ped said could cause false negative antibodies for celiac so she will need to see a GI dr. also. The pediatrician is going to call the GI to try to get them in sooner. I am keeping them all on a gluten diet until the GI dr. decides what to do. I am on the cancellation list already for my son, however I am not going to be persistent with my phone calls to them until I have the results of the gene test. I really want that result in my hand before going to the GI dr if I can. Maybe if he is positive, along with his bloodwork and my history they can forgo the endoscopy. But he will eat gluten till then.  My husband and I have been very honest and upfront with him as to what is going on and the possibility of the endoscopy and what that entails and although scared in general he seems ok after assuring him that since I have it he has me to help him every step of the way.  Going through his current diet with him I realized that he is truly on such a low gluten diet that I am actually surprised his bloodwork shows antibodies at all!  So I told him to make a list of allllll the gluten he could possibly think of eating and he needs to pound it until the GI visit or endoscopy. Funny thing is everything he keeps thinking of to want to eat...is already gluten free!  The other night we were at a friends and he asked if he could be done with his hotdog. I made him finish just the bread 😂 Thanks for your help and advise and I will keep y'all posted on both kids!  My oldest is a ok as far as all his antibodies. Just actually had a follow up for other immune issues and all his levels are now normal!
    • I like your plan Cara, I may have to include it in my sons.    Poor little guy is still very very sick. I think he is resisting and cheating, despite having the support of two other siblings and a 100% gluten-free home. 
    • Despite it being a nightmare, I did wait for my kids to get biopsies. At one point I had one severely ill child gluten-free and two more waiting having to eat it. It was worth the wait though and I think long term a biopsy may be worthwhile, especially for school. I have already had issues with schools and camps so having a firm diagnosis has been helpful. 
    • Knowing that the reaction to gluten in celiacs is an uncalled for immune system reaction, I was thinking of how a cure would be possible. Maybe a medicine that somehow turns off the immune system. The only thing that i've heard do that... HIV.  obviously that's way worse than celiac. Just some food for thought.
    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,155
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    AndiR
    Joined