Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Foods, Shampoos, And Other No-no's
0

18 posts in this topic

I've heard that there is gluten in a lot of places you wouldn't think of. I'll list what I know about, but if anyone knows another product that you wouldn't directly digest that contains gluten, please add it. From what I know gluten is in:

- Glue

- Clay

- Playdough

- The side of the stamp that you lick

- The part of the envelop that you lick to seal

Any other weird places?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I am a potter and I have never heard of gluten in clay! Though, I am talking about clay clay and not the little packets of modeling clay and such from the store. I always where gloves, eye protection, and a breathing mask when mixing the chemicals for glazes, though.

Play-doh is not say, don't play with it!

It is not in any glue I have used. . .maybe in some fancy brands? I do a lot of crafts and glue related projects, too.

Maybe I am wrong here, where are you getting your information?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok..from reading these posts I've found there are a lot of things to stay away from. Shampoos?? :o I'm new to all of this, so can someone point me to these lists you keep talking about that will ease the confusion as to what I can and can not eat or use or whatever. Something preferably that is as simply as don't eat bread, eggs, waffles, blah blah blah. And is it entirely necessary to also get rid of dairy? I'm just overwhelmed at what I'm finding I CAN'T eat..I don't have a single thing in my house that is gluten-free...and ugh..can't go to Taco Bell or Sonic. Okay..deep breaths. Anybody that can help with a list of do's and don'ts I would appreciate it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You say you dont have ne thing to eat in the house, eat some fruit, cheese, make some gluten free cookies, vegetables if you think about it there is alot of stuff out there to eat. Go to the health food store and stock up on some gluten free food. I dont think you need to get rid of dariy if your not allergic to it. So if your not allergic i think your safe. and yes you need to check very thing your make up, shampoos, tooth paste yes things that you would never think of. I have read some of the lists and i have also been told that they are not always right so i think you would be better off if you would just read lables ore even call the company before you eat/ use them. and once you know that they are safe write it down in a journal so you dont forget. hope i helped some and if you would like to talk my msn sn is pippigirl32@hotmail.com feel free to IM me whenever.

Joe Moe

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm sure you have plenty of things in your house that are gluten free.

Do you have any carrots? Bananas? Tomatoes? Apples? Oranges? Zucchini? Broccoli? Potatoes? Rice? Chicken? Eggs? Beef? Pork? Corn Tortillas (you do have to check the package, but lots of them are the basic corn, salt, lime recipe)?

Dairy is a call you have to make yourself. It's often useful to drop dairy for a bit at first, while you heal, but not all celiacs are casein sensitive or lactose intolerant. I can still have dairy (in fact, I used to be lactose intolerant, but I'm not any more - or don't appear to be). (I should add that if I have a gluten accident, I do lay off the dairy for a week or so until I feel better.)

I'm unaware of a single list that covers all the non-food items. It's a matter of reading lots of different things and getting it stored in your head. (I'm glad I'm a "simple" sort of person, who avoids most common health care products like makeup and specialty stuff. :-) )

Sorry I can't give you a specific list, but pretty much, if you come in contact with it, think about whether or not it has gluten (and that includes and non-gluten-free relatives who try to kiss you! ;-) )

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I never stopped eating dairy and never had a problem. Until you start getting this straighter in your head, stick with basic meat, veggies, fruit, eggs, cheese. That's what I did. And believe me, it becomes much easier to deal with. I don't even haul around lists any more.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The nutritionist I recently went to works for an adult Celiac doctor. She said that if I use clay at school (I'm only 13) I shoud scrub my hands really well before eating something that my hands touch. She also said that Elmers glue is known to contain high levels of gluten. I just believed this to be true since she probably knows more about it than I do (I'm only 9 weeks on diet). Perhaps it is only certain types of clay; the kind I use at school comes from a large block, so it might be okay. I don't know, but I'm being careful anyway, just in case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This concerned me considering my daughter plays with Rose Art Clay and uses Elmers Glue almost daily. I looked on Elmers website where they state that it is made from only synthetic materials and in one of the FAQ they state that it is lactose free. I emailed both Elmers and Rose Art and will post their replies as soon as I get them.

RaeAnn

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you get all the gluten out of your diet (and off your skin!) and still have some stomach issues, that is when you would need to try cutting out dairy for at least two weeks. If it makes a difference then it would be up to you if you cut dairy for more long term or just for a short amount of time. Most people are not truely "allergic" to milk, and the intolerance goes away after a while of being gluten-free. This will vary for everyone, for some it is a few weeks, others require anywhere from a few months to a few years. Hopefully it is not an issue for you. I am sensitive to casein right now and I miss cheese. There are so many gluten-free foods that I would love to have, but just don't taste the same without cheese! My kids would love to have some gluten-free ice cream, too. Maybe someday soon.

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you guys for answering. This really helps. I have one more question about reading labels (which is basically what I've been doing anyway to be safe). The obvious ones say wheat gluten or gluten. Is there anything else that I need to be looking for. Or if it doesn't say one of these two things does that mean I'm safe? I had found something yesterday (I can't remember what it was now) that I thought would have gluten in it, yet it didn't have either of those things in the list of ingredients..it also didn't say gluten-free. So...anything else I need to check in the ingredients before I chow down? And I know I've heard some people say things about processed foods..and that some cheeses are dusted with flour and can't be eaten...will these foods say gluten in the ingredients..and will the shampoos/soaps and such have gluten listed in the ingredients? Sheesh it's a lot to look for, lol. :unsure:

Cynthia

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Other suspect ingredients are: barley, rye, malt flavorings, food starch, modified food starch, confectioners sugar, and yes, shredded cheeses. The starches are suspect only until you call the manufacturer to determine what kind of starch was used, and not all confectioners sugar and shredded cheese use wheat flour. Reading labels is an absolute must! If the confusion gives you a headache, just stick with meat, fruits, and veggies. Give yourself time for all of the information to sink in! Cosmetic and healthcare products usually will say something along the lines of wheat proteins. While they are not a problem for some, they cause severe problems for others!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Other suspect ingredients are: barley, rye, malt flavorings, food starch, modified food starch, confectioners sugar, and yes, shredded cheeses.

So, if it says these things on the ingredients label..I should stay away from that food, too right? Except the starch I can call the company and ask what type of starch. So..with the wheat thing in the shampoos and stuff..if in the ingredients the word wheat is used at all..even if it's not saying wheat gluten..does that mean I should stay away from that item as well?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There is a list of safe and forbidden ingredients on this website that you can bring with you to the supermarket. I suggest you print them out. There are a lot more ingredients that you need to look for besides just "wheat." It gets a lot easier after the first couple weeks. Then you just know what you can and cannot have, and if you look through this website there are a lot of posts that will tell you which brands are safe for celiacs. Good luck. I was only diagnosed abou 3 months ago and it really isn't as bad as it seems (when you eat at home). Going out to eat is a different story, but at home there are TONS of foods you can have.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.celiac.com/st_main.html?p_catid...-21104477116.e7

click on this link and it will take you to the page with the lists you need. I agree that you should print them out. After a while you will know which ingredients you need to look out for. Anything that is questionable you should call the manufacturer.

It does get easier.

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've heard that alot of cosmetics also contain gluten. Is this true? I've tried to contact different companies and haven't had any responses. I also understand that some lotions, soaps and bodywashes contain gluten too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The nutritionist I recently went to works for an adult Celiac doctor.  She said that if I use clay at school (I'm only 13) I shoud scrub my hands really well before eating something that my hands touch.  She also said that Elmers glue is known to contain high levels of gluten.  I just believed this to be true since she probably knows more about it than I do (I'm only 9 weeks on diet). 

Here are the responses I received from Elmers regarding glue and RoseArt regarding their clay:

Elmers:

Thank you for contacting us regarding Elmer's Glue products.

All products are gluten free except for our brand of finger paints, as they

contain a wheat ingredient and should be avoided.

Sincerely,

Robert Thompson

Mgr. of Consumer Response and Technical Services

RoseArt:

Both our modeling clay and Fun Dough contain wheat flour.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jessicasns17,

Yes, cosmetics, lotions, soaps and bodywashes can contain gluten, too!

You just have to read labels. Look for "Hydrolized Wheat Protien" and avoid it...

No matter what I used on my skin, I inadvertantly get some in my mouth at one time or another! :rolleyes: So, I steer clear of gluten in my bath products...

And, Lipsticks can contain gluten, too!

--For you boys out there:

Check your girlfriends lipsticks, lotions, and makeup before kissing!! ;)

It's everywhere!!!

Connie

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

burts bees cosmetics and lotions sent me a gluten free list

they have a web site to contact them

the baby bee lotion is excellent for adults AND gluten-free the carrot creme has gluten but there lip sticks don't

e-mail them for a list

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,142
    • Total Posts
      919,559
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Mnoosh,    Can you give us a link to the article you read about the increased risk after being diagnosed and maintaining a strict gluten-free diet??       IMO,   You are over reacting to a misprint or most likely a misread article.
    • Yes!  With dairy, celiacs can often have a temorary lactose intolerance due to damaged intestinal villi (where the enzymes normally are released to digest lactose).  Of course you could be naturally lactose intolerant based on race or age.  It is best to stick to a whole foods diet while you are healing.  Really, is ice cream or potato chips going to provide you with nutritional value?  Stick with naturally gluten free foods like meat, fish, fats,  veggies (even those with carbs like sweet potatoes or winter squash) and fruit.  Avoid that processed junk as you may react to the additives right now.  Later, you can add back in dairy (test) and other foods you miss and crave.   Good luck!  
    • Take a deep breath and calm down!    The incidence of cancer with Celiac Disease is rare.......it can happen but the vast majority of people never have that experience.  You may have somewhat enlarged lymph nodes due to inflammation from undiagnosed Celiac but that will all calm down and go away once you get going on the diet.  Believe me, there are many of us that have things happen during the diagnosis and early recovery period and everything turned out just fine.  There is an elevated risk for some cancers with Celiac but that risk goes back to that of the general population after a couple of years on the gluten-free diet. I cannot remember the exact time frame but it is somewhere between 2-4 years, I think.  So many of us went years without a diagnosis and when it was all figured out, we have gone on to be healthy with little complications.  Really...do  not worry about this.  Concentrate on learning all the ins and outs of this disease and how to live gluten free happily.  We are here to help you and guess what? The diet is not as bad as some make it out to be. Many things can be made gluten free and are every bit as good as their gluten counterparts. The diet may not be convenient but it is not hard. I would not lie to you!   
    • Well....one common symptom that most celiacs have when they are diagnosed (or undiagnosed) is anxiety.  So, there is a risk of cancers, but science has demonstrated that that risk goes down on a gluten free diet (if you have celiac disease).  In goes down to the same risk as those without celiac disease.   I kind of was a basket case.  I drive my family a bit crazy because I was anxious.  I felt a bit stupid too.  I guess I had a little brain fog going on too.  All that resolved after I healed. Welcome to the fourum.  Read our Newbie 101 thread under "Coping" (pinned at the top of the page) and learn about hidden sources of gluten and cross contamination.  I think most of us do not worry about cancer. We mourn the freedom to eat anything anywhere!   I did not have swollen lymph nodes, but I am sure others have and they did not have cancer.  Hopefully, they will chime in and set your mind at ease.  If not, you can search for "lymph nodes" at the top of the page (little magnifying glass).  There are lots of members with the same issue!  
    • I was recently diagnosed as having celiac and to be honest the part I'm having the most trouble with isn't the change in food or lifestyle. I'm really upset about what I've read about the risk of cancer increasing with celiac disease. I think this is playing into my fears because I currently have lymph nodes all over my body-my Doctor says they are not considered swollen or concerning, but I don't usually feel nodes. The lymph nodes and horrible diarrhea for the last 3 weeks were what got me into the the doctor for lab work. My blood work came great so I'm wondering if anyone else experienced lymph nodes reacting when they found out they were celiac? Also how do you deal with anxiety surrounding the increased risk of cancer? Thanks!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,174
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mnoosh
    Joined