Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Mcdonald's French Fries Not Safe?
0

349 posts in this topic

Perhaps this has already been posted but I thought McDonald's fries were safe... at this web site for McDonalds USA ingredients it clearly says that the fries contain wheat ingredients! When did this change occur?

The french fries are listed about half way down the page and it clearly says:

natural flavor ( beef, wheat, dairy sources).

This was the only place I would eat french fries and now it looks like that is out.

the page is here:

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nu...ents.index.html

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
Perhaps this has already been posted but I thought McDonald's fries were safe... at this web site for McDonalds USA ingredients it clearly says that the fries contain wheat ingredients! When did this change occur?

The french fries are listed about half way down the page and it clearly says:

natural flavor ( beef, wheat, dairy sources).

This was the only place I would eat french fries and now it looks like that is out.

the page is here:

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nu...ents.index.html

Susan

WHAT!?!? When did htat happen. I have always though we got gluten from CC, cause everyone preaches that McDonalds freis are safe!

THERE...

This list is effective 02-03-2006.

BAH.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

These are the ingredients that I see for fries:

French Fries:

Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef source), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil).

They are also still listed on their gluten free menu items. I think you must have mis-read somewhere. Sorry!!

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Perhaps this has already been posted but I thought McDonald's fries were safe... at this web site for McDonalds USA ingredients it clearly says that the fries contain wheat ingredients! When did this change occur?

The french fries are listed about half way down the page and it clearly says:

natural flavor ( beef, wheat, dairy sources).

This was the only place I would eat french fries and now it looks like that is out.

the page is here:

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nu...ents.index.html

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
French Fries:Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef, wheat and dairy sources), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Breading set in vegetable oil. Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil). Contains wheat and milk ingredients.

I guess that is proof that they are not safe. No wonder I always felt sick after eating their fries!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Susan,

I'm a Suzanne, but people call me Susan about half the time :lol:

As for the fries, I'm not seeing what you're seeing...this is what the page says when I pull it up:

French Fries:

Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef source), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil).

Is there something else I'm not seeing?

I am horrified, by the way, to see that the fries still contain beef. I'm no longer vegetarian, but I bet alot of people who are think these are okay for them. I thought they changed this years ago after vegetarians got upset.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




These are the ingredients that I see for fries:

They are also still listed on their gluten free menu items. I think you must have mis-read somewhere. Sorry!!

-Jessica :rolleyes:

Angle, please try readin the link she put in here post it CLEARLY states the fires have wheat...

French Fries:

Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef, wheat and dairy sources), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Breading set in vegetable oil. Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil). Contains wheat and milk ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Susan:

I did not see anything that was listed by McDonalds that say that the french fried were not safe. What is your concern?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am not seeing it either. I am looking at the page for the USA though, so that may be making a difference. I live in the US, so not concerned with outside of the US.

-Jessica

Hi Susan,

I'm a Suzanne, but people call me Susan about half the time :lol:

As for the fries, I'm not seeing what you're seeing...this is what the page says when I pull it up:

French Fries:

Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef source), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil).

Is there something else I'm not seeing?

I am horrified, by the way, to see that the fries still contain beef. I'm no longer vegetarian, but I bet alot of people who are think these are okay for them. I thought they changed this years ago after vegetarians got upset.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am not seeing it either. I am looking at the page for the USA though, so that may be making a difference. I live in the US, so not concerned with outside of the US.

-Jessica

<DELETED> I know whats happeing, you all need to REFRESH the poage you are seeing the OLD PAGE. This page is new TODAY.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The link that Susan provided is from the US and MacDonald's states that,

"French Fries:

Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef, wheat and dairy sources), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Breading set in vegetable oil. Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil). Contains wheat and milk ingredients."

McDonald's Quality & Nutrition Information

McDonald's Corporation

2111 McDonald's Drive

Oak Brook, IL 60523

1-877-MCD-FOOD

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

EVERYONE THIS IS A NEW PAGE MAKE SURE YOUR READING THE PAGE UPDATED 02/06/2006! YOU MAY HAVE TO HOLD SHIFT AND HIT REFRESH TO SEE THE WHEAT BUT IT IS THERE.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Try reading the link she posted. :rolleyes:

The part I quoted before is exactly what it reads when I use the link pixiegirl gave. No wheat. I wonder if we are being routed to different sites based on where we are located? Why would a huge company like McDonald's trick people by changing the ingredients around?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ON the page I posted it clearly says wheat. the page is here:

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nu...ents.index.html

to find it i went to mcdonalds.com then to USA then to nutrition then to ingredients.

I copied the ingredients for fries below:

French Fries:

Potatoes, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural flavor (beef, wheat and dairy sources), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color). Breading set in vegetable oil. Cooked in partially hydrogenated vegetable oils (may contain partially hydrogenated soybean oil and/or partially hydrogenated corn oil and/or partially hydrogenated canola oil and/or cottonseed oil and/or sunflower oil and/or corn oil). Contains wheat and milk ingredients.

Be sure that you have cleared your history as you may not have update to this page but pulling an old page up from your cache. Again I see it clearly.

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The part I quoted before is exactly what it reads when I use the link pixiegirl gave. No wheat. I wonder if we are being routed to different sites based on where we are located? Why would a huge company like McDonald's trick people by changing the ingredients around?

SORRY. As I just seonds ago posted, you are seeing an OLD COPY of the page, they JUST now updated it. HOLD SHIFT AND HIT REFRESH on the page to see hte new verision.

THIS IS NEW INFORMATION.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well %&$#@(*&^! That is SO not what I wanted to hear today. I can see it now. I hit refresh.....crap!

-Jessica

EVERYONE THIS IS A NEW PAGE MAKE SURE YOUR READING THE PAGE UPDATED 02/06/2006! YOU MAY HAVE TO HOLD SHIFT AND HIT REFRESH TO SEE THE WHEAT BUT IT IS THERE.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow I can't believe it doesn't say wheat on your pages, i cleared all my history and cookies and went back again thru the main mcdonalds.com web site, again went to USA and it still says wheat. I can tell you it changed because I looked at this a few months ago and it did NOT say wheat and it does now. I'm in the USA so I'm not sure why I would get a different page then anyone else in the USA.

Wow this has me really upset! I wrote them a nasty letter!

Susan

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, no matter how much refreshing I do, mine won't update (tried the shift trick too, but no luck). Strange since I've never been to the site before, but I trust you guys. That's crappy...I hadn't even treated myself to any since going gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Wow I can't believe it doesn't say wheat on your pages, i cleared all my history and cookies and went back again thru the main mcdonalds.com web site, again went to USA and it still says wheat. I can tell you it changed because I looked at this a few months ago and it did NOT say wheat and it does now. I'm in the USA so I'm not sure why I would get a different page then anyone else in the USA.

Wow this has me really upset! I wrote them a nasty letter!

Susan

Thats becuase they JUST updated thier site. THis is brand new breaking news. You were the first to spot it. Once they refresh they will see it too. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes be sure to refresh your page, its new, probably as of today. I am so sorry to break this news to you and I'm so upset, I URGE you all to write to them a contact us link is at the bottom of the web site.

susan (sorry for posting so much but I was upset that I was the only one that could see it)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dumb thing is, they still list them as safe on their gluten free menu with the same date of 2-3-06!! Not good!! So which one is right? Which one has the typo?? This is rediculous!

-Jessica :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well, no matter how much refreshing I do, mine won't update (tried the shift trick too, but no luck). Strange since I've never been to the site before, but I trust you guys. That's crappy...I hadn't even treated myself to any since going gluten-free.

Try dumping your cache. Assuming your unsing a current version of IE (most ppl do..) go to the TOOLS menu then INTERNET OPTIONS then click the button that says "DELETE FILES" (warning, it could take a hwile to complete depending on your setup).

Once that is done, thry again with the SHFIT-REFRESH.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They are just friggin potato's......why do they have to screw them up :angry::angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

<deleted typo'd the info in it, better to delete then mess with>

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is unbelievable! I have pasted the link to their gluten free menu (for the US) and french fries are clearly not on there! But hash browns are - and wouldn't you assume that the hash browns are fried in the same frier as the fries?????? UGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHH

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nu...uten.index.html

Thank you for posting this - I still cannot believe it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This is unbelievable! I have pasted the link to their gluten free menu (for the US) and french fries are clearly not on there! But hash browns are - and wouldn't you assume that the hash browns are fried in the same frier as the fries?????? UGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHH

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_controller.nu...uten.index.html

Thank you for posting this - I still cannot believe it!

that link is dated

This list is effective 09-28-2005.

and the PDF is dated 3 days ago.

The wheat info link is dated 2/3/2006 so this is a new devolpment. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,354
    • Total Posts
      920,509
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Yes it most certainly could be a false negative, and I would bet you a dozen donuts that it is (gluten free, of course.   )  At the very least you can be sure it is related to gluten.  These gluten rashes take forever to clear up.  I don't know about you, but whenever I start to doubt my gluten intolerance, I just look at my skin, and the old blood stains on my sheets, and I am reassured that it's not all in my head, and I need to avoid gluten as if it were a bucket of battery acid.
    • Hello, My fiance and I are going to Singapore for our honeymoon next year and I was wondering if anyone knew any cafes/restaurants etc that have gluten-free dishes? We previously went two years ago and enjoyed ourselves so much that we definitely wanted to go back our our honeymoon. Catch is I got diagnosed as being gluten intolerant a few months ago, negative for Coeliac though. If I eat gluten I have bad nausea, bloating, diarrhea etc. Not pretty for a honeymoon :-) I am more than happy to eat fruit at breakfast and make do with steamed rice at dinner etc but if anyone has any ideas on anywhere I can safely eat that would be much appreciated. I don't care how much it costs! Also is it possible for me to bring packaged gluten-free food into Singapore from Australia? I am not sure on the rules. Thank you!!
    • Went in and talked to the manager of our pm and asked about the gluten free pizza, and he told me he can't guarantee its 100% gluten free because of the flour in the air from the other crusts being made.  I value the honesty.   The other employee also mentioned changing gloves.   I was thinking wow great, until I walked out and got to thinking about cross contamination from everyone grabbing the toppings out of the same bins and spreading the sauce with the same utensils.    My son was just diagnosed this week so we are new to the whole lifestyle.   So any help or info is greatly appreciated.    Thanks  
    • Before i was diagnosed 2 years ago i had a severe chronic itchy scalp.  It would develop minor pimple like blisters then turn in to sores from the intense scratching.  At the time the dr i saw did a punch biopsy on the original sore, it came back with a florescent pattern and micro abcessing.  i saw a dermatologist who said it was a staph infection (wasn't checking for dh) sent me home with cream and a steroid lotion, didnt work. Shortly after i was diagnosed with celiac and went back to the dermatologist.  He did a punch biopsy BUT he took it from the top of my butt cheek saying that was the most common spot for dh to manifest.  My results were negative.   my question is...   Can this be a false negative due to the punch biopsy not being taken from skin adjacent to the lesions? since being gluten free the intensity has subsided but is still there.
    • Hi Morna.  I will have to add Tom and Chee's to my list.  I have found so many new restaurants on this forum.  My family's birthday season is coming up (I swear, everyone was born between September-December), so I am going to have to check out the bakery on Campbell Station.  Sneak in some gluten-free cake and goodies and see if anyone notices.  I miss cake.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,422
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Celiacinthesea
    Joined