Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Gf Dairy Free "ice Cream"


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 02 May 2004 - 06:41 PM

I was wondering in anyone has tried this brand. We have not had luck with Rice Dream, Tofutti or Soy Dream. I can't find any Mocha Mix frozen dessert. But in my searching I came acrossed this. I am waiting for an e-mail response to whether they sell it on the west coast. Anyone on the east coast tried this brand?

Klein's Kosher Ice Cream

Let me know. I've looked at the ingredients and can't find any gluten. In fact they have a gluten free list under the special diets link. You can find the items that are dairy free and gluten free if they are on both lists.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Susan555

 
Susan555

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
 

Posted 03 May 2004 - 04:55 PM

Hi Marianne:
Actully I have never heard of that brand. I live in New York (east coast!) so I am certainly going to look for it. Ice cream is my favorite food in the world! When I find it I will let you know. I found on a gluten-free web site that Breyers All Natural ice cream was gluten free but a nurse at the doctors told me it wasn't. So I have 2 half gallons in my freezer and I'm afraid to eat them because now I don't know if it has gluten or not. My goodness this diet is confusing and I've only been on it 9 days! I wish you all the best and may God bless you and your family. Susan
  • 0

#3 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 03 May 2004 - 05:38 PM

Susan555,

What are the ingredients in the Breyers that you bought? They might be safe. Post the ingredients here and we'll check. Or you could call the manufacturer and check with them. Don't throw it away without checking. There might be some ingredients that are questionable, but do not necessarily contain gluten.

Anyhow, I am looking for dairy free ice cream too. Not a lot of choices out there. I did get a response from the company. They gave me the number for the California distributor to see if there are any stores near me that might carry their products. They have a large selection of gluten free frozen goodies. Click on the link above that says Klein's Kosher Ice Cream and it should tell you where you can find it locally.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#4 Susan555

 
Susan555

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
 

Posted 04 May 2004 - 05:09 AM

Hi Mariann:
The two flavors of Breyers All Natural ice cream I have right now are Chocolate (of course!) and paech. The ingrediants in the chocolate are : milk, cream, sugar,cocoa, natural flavor-----the ingreadiants in the peach are :milk, peaches, sugar, cream, natural flavor.
The ingrediants sounded ok to me but that "natural flavor" makes me wonder. I've just been doing so good on the gluten-free diet and I don't want to mess up.
I can't believe it, I have been 2 days without any abdominal cramping and pain!! Praise the Lord! Susan
  • 0

#5 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 04 May 2004 - 07:34 AM

Sometimes (but not often) the natural flavoring can contain gluten. Just call Breyers to check. There should be a number on the container. I also sent them an e-mail. I'll let you know what they say, if you don't already have an answer. :)

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#6 Free Food

 
Free Food

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 04 May 2004 - 03:01 PM

Which type of Rice Dream did you get? The vanilla and carob are definately gluten-free - we eat them all the time. The Mint Carob Chip is not gluten-free - processed with barley. We have contacted Rice Dream and they are very aware of Celiac and allergy issues and manufacture their ice cream in order of "least problematic" to "most" so the risks of cross-contamination are nil.
  • 0

#7 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 05 May 2004 - 07:34 AM

Sorry, didn't mean to imply that the Rice Dream wasn't gluten-free. I am thinking (since I don't have any to read the labels) that the problem was with it containing casein, and the flavor didn't go over well the last time my kids tried it (pre-diet).

I am just trying to find something that goes over well with the kids as far as taste goes. They liked the Tofutti fudge bars, but one of my kids is having a problem with soy, and unless I can find something they can all have then we all go without. Not fair to give two of them the fudge bars and the other little guy has nothing. Today is my out of town shopping day. I'll be looking around the city for some Mocha Mix and possibly some of the Klein's brand.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#8 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 06 May 2004 - 12:04 PM

Susan, This is the response I got from Breyer's:

Thank you for your recent inquiry about gluten. We currently do not have a
gluten list, and are recommending consumers read the ingredient label on our
cartons. If wheat, barley, or rye were used in a product, it would be clearly
listed. The flavorings may contain ethyl alcohol. However, we cannot
guarantee from which grain the alcohol was derived. Because the alcohol used
in our products is distilled, there are no proteins present and would not pose
a threat to anyone who is gluten intolerant.


So it is really up to you if you want to try it and see if you get a reaction.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: