This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

This Information Might Be Helpful

neff-terence

neff-terence Newbie

Hi everyone,

I was diagnosed w/ the gluten allergy roughly 1.5 yrs ago. It has been an uphill battle for the majority of that time. I wanted to share some insight with regards to my diet for people that have been recently diagnosed and are trying to get on track. I am not a doctor and don't claim to have a "sure fire" way to get better. If anyone wants to expand on this or correct me, feel free. However, I have almost been able to manage my gluten problem. ALMOST!

Things I've learned:

1) I've have become a darn good cook over the past year! I previously sold restaurant equipment so I already had a decent background in cooking utensils. I purchase a ton of raw food on a regular basis. This comprises 90% of what I eat. I purchase lots of fresh veggies, fruit, meat,(lots of eggs), and dairy products. I also use nuts in my meals if I am %100 sure it doesn't have a wheat additive. My grocery store specializes in whole and organic foods so they guarantee there is no wheat added.

2) I recently used McCormicks spices for a taco salad meal. I had heard that Mccormicks spices were gluten free. If most other celiacs are like me, I assume they eat lots of left overs as it takes time to cook. I had eaten the taco salad for the last two days and have regreted every minute of it. I had a terrible reaction. I highly recommend visiting the gluten free pantry on the net and ordering their gluten free spices. Also, I visit the gluten free mall's website for good sauces.