Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Vinegar?
0

24 posts in this topic

I seem to react to vinegar, almost every time, and strongly. Could this be a gluten reaction?

I also seem to react to alchohol made from grain and rice dream milk.

Just wondering if is just a sensitivity to vinegar or if I am actually damaging myself.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

P.S - I know malt vinegar is bad news - I'm talking about when it just says plain 'ol vinegar on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julie--Rice Dream contains gluten. I believe it's from barley used in the production. I know most, but not all vinegars are ok, gluten wise. Malt and apple cider FLAVORED being the exceptions. I use apple cider vinegar with no problems. Could it be the acid you react to?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, It could very likely be the acid. I mentioned Rice Dream because I have read that they believe the distilling process gets out the barley, but that it has been found at .002% I think in some samples. So I guess I am skeptical of the idea that the distillation process in any case can actually remove all gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julie-It seems from my reading on this board, there are a "select" bunch :D of Celiacs who cannot tolerate distilled alcohols and vinegars. Most people can. However, some vinegars are not made from wheat---I'm pretty sure Heinz vinegar is made from corn?

I just looked it up on the Heinz page:

Heinz Ketchup does not contain any gluten (the distilled vinegar used is from corn sources). Also, Wine Vinegar, Distilled White Vinegar and Apple Cider Vinegar are gluten-free. Please note that Heinz Organic Ketchup and Apple Cider Flavored Vinegar are not gluten-free.

So, it might be the type/source of vinegar you are using, or a non-gluten related issue? Those are my two conclusions.

Hope you figure it out, girl!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I cannot tolerate any vinegar, even rice vinegar (I made my own mayo and mustard trying to find a way around my problems and that didn't help either), and I cannot tolerate any grain alchohls.

My problem is yeast though, I think. There is yeast in the vinegar process - I read that in one of my many early searches - on a candida site. I am guessing, that is the problem with the alchohl too. I can have tequilla which is not made from grain and potato vodka, in small amounts.

I know I cannot have yeast, not even ripe fruit - same reaction as wine and vinegar. The last time I had a yeast bread, I passed out for 4 hours and was groggy for days - in addition to the tummy problems.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gasp - Yes! When I have one too many cherries or blueberries I get stomach cramps and run to the BR. Cherries are the worst though for me. Probably over 5 and I am done for.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Dream milk does have barley or malt in it although it is not on the package. I suggest going to their website as they list each item and what it

contains.

http://www.imaginefoods.com/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you're reacting to all distilled vinegars or "vinegar," then it's not gluten. Very, very, very, very few vinegars are made from wheat.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Richard. I thought vinegars were made without gluten -- I was under the impression that the only ones which were questionable were "Malt Vinegar" (obviously) and "Balsalmic Vinegar". . . . Lynne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I agree with Richard. I thought vinegars were made without gluten -- I was under the impression that the only ones which were questionable were "Malt Vinegar" (obviously) and "Balsalmic Vinegar". . . . Lynne

balsamic vinegar is only questionable if it's not real balsamic and has added ingredients. balsamic vinegar is made like grapes, in a process very similar to wine making. it doesn't come from a grain.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the heads up on that . . . I didn't know that! I love Balsamic vinegar, too -- you've made me really happy! :) . . . Lynne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heinz apple cider vinegar is not gluten-free according to their website. I have found many vinegars that are not really gluten-free so make sure you hit the corporate websites prior to using vinegars. I havent found a apple cider vinegar yet that was gluten-free in the standard store.

Deborah

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heinz apple cider vinegar IS gluten-free -- it's the apple cider FLAVORED vinegar that isn't gluten-free. There'sa big difference; the flavored vinegar isn't really made with apple cider. Real apple cider vinegar is without exception gluten-free, even in the standard store. I've never found one that isn't gluten-free. If you have found real apple cider vinegars that aren't gluten-free please tell us which ones.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Heinz apple cider vinegar is not gluten-free according to their website. I have found many vinegars that are not really gluten-free so make sure you hit the corporate websites prior to using vinegars. I havent found a apple cider vinegar yet that was gluten-free in the standard store.

Deborah

FWIW, I recently read some info concerning vinegar. Just did a search and found the Web site that published the info: http://www.nowheat.com/grfx/nowheat/primer/iheard.htm

"In the United States, almost all distilled vinegar comes from corn, not wheat. In the rare instances where wheat is the original source of the distilled alcohol that gets fermented into vinegar, the distillation process will remove all appreciable amounts of gluten (gliaden, peptide chains). A "mother" is added to the distilled alcohol to begin the process of fermentation, but research and interviews with industry experts (including the provider of vinegar to Heinz) indicate that gluten-containing ingredients are not used in this "mother" -- so distilled vinegar is safe. Please note that most vinegar listed on ingredients list is not distilled vinegar."

"If food manufactured in the United States has vinegar listed as an ingredient, where just the word "vinegar" appears between commas (for example, "Ingredients: water, vinegar, tomato paste)" the FDA's Compliance Policy Guide for Vinegar requires that the vinegar must be apple cider vinegar. So if you see just "vinegar" listed as an ingredient (not "malt vinegar" or any other modification), the vinegar is apple cider vinegar."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now THAT is good know. I have never liked apples - perhaps they are my problem. Strange thing is that like baked apples and applesauce. But usually apple juice makes me feel a little unhappy, and I hate apples raw. Good to know it is not gluten though. As long as there is no damage occuring, I can deal.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I seem to react to vinegar, almost every time, and strongly. Could this be a gluten reaction?

I also seem to react to alchohol made from grain and rice dream milk.

Just wondering if is just a sensitivity to vinegar or if I am actually damaging myself.

trust your body!

:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No matter what your friend told you, if the grain vinegar is made from something other than wheat (almost no distilled vinegar is made from wheat), there is absolutely no way there can be gluten in it. You might react to it in some fashion but it is NOT a gluten reaction because there is no gluten. Take Heinz white or distilled vinegar for instance. It's made from corn (which, by the way, is a grain). There's no wheat, rye, barley or oats anywhere in the process. Your body might not like the vinegar but whatever is happening, it's NOT because of gluten.

The same is true with some alcohols. Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. No wheat, rye, barley or oats. So if you react to Smirnoff, it's most definitely not because of gluten.

If you've decided not to eat anything at all with vinegar in it, that's your choice, but it most certainly is not a gluten issue. I don't know of a single mayo, ketchup or mustard made with vinegar from wheat.

I'm not saying you don't react in some way and I'm not saying that others don't have trouble with some distilled products, but please, please don't confuse people by telling them that all grain vinegars and alcohols have or could have gluten. It's simply not true.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
No matter what your friend told you, if the grain vinegar is made from something other than wheat (almost no distilled vinegar is made from wheat), there is absolutely no way there can be gluten in it. You might react to it in some fashion but it is NOT a gluten reaction because there is no gluten. Take Heinz white or distilled vinegar for instance. It's made from corn (which, by the way, is a grain). There's no wheat, rye, barley or oats anywhere in the process. Your body might not like the vinegar but whatever is happening, it's NOT because of gluten.

The same is true with some alcohols. Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. No wheat, rye, barley or oats. So if you react to Smirnoff, it's most definitely not because of gluten.

If you've decided not to eat anything at all with vinegar in it, that's your choice, but it most certainly is not a gluten issue. I don't know of a single mayo, ketchup or mustard made with vinegar from wheat.

I'm not saying you don't react in some way and I'm not saying that others don't have trouble with some distilled products, but please, please don't confuse people by telling them that all grain vinegars and alcohols have or could have gluten. It's simply not true.

richard

dear richard,

thanks for the info.

i'll pull my comments re: vinegar and liquor until i get some more definitive info.

thanks!

paula

:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The same is true with some alcohols. Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. No wheat, rye, barley or oats. So if you react to Smirnoff, it's most definitely not because of gluten.

I couldn't find any info on Smirnoff's site re: their ingredients. But on Stoli's site they had this under "ingredients":

"Historically, vodka has been made from whtaever agricultural crop is most abundant and cheap, but modern vodka is made principally from various grains, most often corn, rye, and wheat. Rye is common in eastern European vodkas whereas most western vodkas are produced from wheat."

Yes, corn is a grain, but if "grain alcohol" could mean corn, rye, or wheat (but most commonly wheat), I'm not taking chances, I have had bad reactions to grain vodkas.

Richard, do you have definitive info that Smirnoff *only* uses corn? I'd love to add it to the list of OK vodkas, especially since bars tend to carry it.

[other OK vodkas: Lukosawa (inexpensive Polish potato vodka), Chopin (expensive Polish potato vodka), and Ciroq (French vodka from grapes).]

:)

paula

ps - maybe there is some labelling standard for "grain" in regard to alcohol? there was one weird vodka I saw once, can't remember the name, but it said on it that it was a "corn" liquor. this kind of confusion is what has me reluctant to trust the vagueness of the vinegar labels...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just found out from the Heinz website that it is flavored apple cider vinegar that has gluten. However, the site says that its white vinegar and regular apple cider vinegar, which aren't flavored, are gluten free. Hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I cannot tolerate any vinegar, even rice vinegar (I made my own mayo and mustard trying to find a way around my problems and that didn't help either), and I cannot tolerate any grain alchohls.

My problem is yeast though, I think. There is yeast in the vinegar process - I read that in one of my many early searches - on a candida site. I am guessing, that is the problem with the alchohl too. I can have tequilla which is not made from grain and potato vodka, in small amounts.

I know I cannot have yeast, not even ripe fruit - same reaction as wine and vinegar. The last time I had a yeast bread, I passed out for 4 hours and was groggy for days - in addition to the tummy problems.

Interesting! if you don't mind me asking how did you find out you had an issue with yeast?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is more than six years old. Most of the participants are no longer active. kabowman was last in in 2009.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is more than six years old. Most of the participants are no longer active. kabowman was last in in 2009.

Thanks. I figured I wasn't going to get a response.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,652
    • Total Posts
      921,612
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • So, LST my celiac sibling thinks I should see a naturopath to get additional food sensitivity tests. I think this is swell, but expensive for me. He had a panel done and was reacting to some foods he ate the most of. I have reached out to a local allergist and they do food testing but do not accept my insurance. I was going to make some more calls tomorrow. I actually do have mild reactive airway disease too which seems to go hand-in-hand with the allergists. I honestly had no idea, but makes since. What type of tests have folks had? I know I am not allergic to most foods as of November. My former GI doc ran a basic panel then but it seemed short. Has anyone had any luck with these? I read there is a difference between IGE and IGG tests. Anyone get a doc to order them and insurance to cover? I may end up having to save up for awhile to have this done with a naturopath. But I was off of payroll recently with all of this and the idea of waiting for a couple of more months to find out what other foods may be trigging me really sucks. I am off of dairy and soy, suspicious of lettuce and shrimp.
    • How about reaching out to your local celiac disease support group? http://www.houstonceliacs.org
    • Yes, I am in Houston, TX. Can anyone recommend a good GI in Houston, lots of experience with celiac?  
    • I am sorry to hear about your mother.   It is not so hard to get a medical doctor to order a celiac panel -- especially if your father was diagnosed with celiac disease.  Our family GP did not blink an eye when I first asked my daughter to be tested.    If you think your doctor will disregard your legitimate request, you can either fire him or put the request in writing and send it certified (attorneys love documentation!)  I agree that our doctors should support us.  I have a great GI, but my GP  is pretty clueless when it comes to celiac disease, but she admits it.    She does always order all the lab tests I request.  Perhaps it is because I come in with supporting medical documentation and evidence.  If she was not supportive to my satisfaction, I would find a new doctor.   Again, you can go gluten free in your own.   Chance are you have celiac disease.    But it is hard.  Really hard if you do not have the support of your family.  That is my concern.   Are you in the US?  
    • I've just read SO MUCH about the long, arduous process of getting a positive diagnosis through traditional medicine - I'm not sure I want to put myself through all that. Since my father WAS positively diagnosed - I carry the celiac gene and another gene that predisposes me to gluten sensitivity - and my fecal tests for gliadin were SO elevated - there are enough reasons for me to go to a gluten free diet. The true medical diagnosis would just make it easier for my family/friends to believe the necessity of it. My children are adults and not particularly health care nuts. I doubt they would take their own risk seriously without a medical diagnosis. I'm afraid my husband, while he is trying to be supportive at this point, will grow weary of all the things I no longer serve at meals and all the places we will no longer go to because there are not gluten free alternatives on the menu. A medical diagnosis would make it easier for him, long term, I think.  I don't have much faith in general in our western health care system. My mother died 6 months ago at age 82 after 4-5 years of many different health issues. She had given up the keys to her car in her late 70's after getting lost several times. I became her designated driver to all doctor appointments, procedures, hospital stays, etc. The incompetence and disregard I saw blew me away. I'm surprised any elderly people survive our health care system once they get on that revolving door. The reason I started seeing a naturopath is that I am looking for an alternative to medical doctors for most of my health issues as I age. I know there are some things I still have to see them for - and of course, they are essential in trauma and emergency situations. But I am on a quest to follow a more holistic approach to my health care. If this is the path I am choosing, then I have to follow my gut (no pun intended) in situations like this. I think the only reason I would go through the medical testing would be for other people - not me. It seems to me, that with so many people being gluten intolerant these days, a decent M.D. would listen to a patient that was adamant about their intent to live gluten free - positive celiac diagnosis or not (and especially with the gene and stool test results). I mean, they don't tell vegetarians they have to eat meat ... and vegetarianism is a personal choice. Sorry if I seem to be rambling ... this is all so new, and I'm trying to find my way.    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,653
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    KerryO
    Joined