Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Vinegar?
0

24 posts in this topic

I seem to react to vinegar, almost every time, and strongly. Could this be a gluten reaction?

I also seem to react to alchohol made from grain and rice dream milk.

Just wondering if is just a sensitivity to vinegar or if I am actually damaging myself.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

P.S - I know malt vinegar is bad news - I'm talking about when it just says plain 'ol vinegar on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julie--Rice Dream contains gluten. I believe it's from barley used in the production. I know most, but not all vinegars are ok, gluten wise. Malt and apple cider FLAVORED being the exceptions. I use apple cider vinegar with no problems. Could it be the acid you react to?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, It could very likely be the acid. I mentioned Rice Dream because I have read that they believe the distilling process gets out the barley, but that it has been found at .002% I think in some samples. So I guess I am skeptical of the idea that the distillation process in any case can actually remove all gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Julie-It seems from my reading on this board, there are a "select" bunch :D of Celiacs who cannot tolerate distilled alcohols and vinegars. Most people can. However, some vinegars are not made from wheat---I'm pretty sure Heinz vinegar is made from corn?

I just looked it up on the Heinz page:

Heinz Ketchup does not contain any gluten (the distilled vinegar used is from corn sources). Also, Wine Vinegar, Distilled White Vinegar and Apple Cider Vinegar are gluten-free. Please note that Heinz Organic Ketchup and Apple Cider Flavored Vinegar are not gluten-free.

So, it might be the type/source of vinegar you are using, or a non-gluten related issue? Those are my two conclusions.

Hope you figure it out, girl!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I cannot tolerate any vinegar, even rice vinegar (I made my own mayo and mustard trying to find a way around my problems and that didn't help either), and I cannot tolerate any grain alchohls.

My problem is yeast though, I think. There is yeast in the vinegar process - I read that in one of my many early searches - on a candida site. I am guessing, that is the problem with the alchohl too. I can have tequilla which is not made from grain and potato vodka, in small amounts.

I know I cannot have yeast, not even ripe fruit - same reaction as wine and vinegar. The last time I had a yeast bread, I passed out for 4 hours and was groggy for days - in addition to the tummy problems.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gasp - Yes! When I have one too many cherries or blueberries I get stomach cramps and run to the BR. Cherries are the worst though for me. Probably over 5 and I am done for.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rice Dream milk does have barley or malt in it although it is not on the package. I suggest going to their website as they list each item and what it

contains.

http://www.imaginefoods.com/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you're reacting to all distilled vinegars or "vinegar," then it's not gluten. Very, very, very, very few vinegars are made from wheat.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with Richard. I thought vinegars were made without gluten -- I was under the impression that the only ones which were questionable were "Malt Vinegar" (obviously) and "Balsalmic Vinegar". . . . Lynne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I agree with Richard. I thought vinegars were made without gluten -- I was under the impression that the only ones which were questionable were "Malt Vinegar" (obviously) and "Balsalmic Vinegar". . . . Lynne

balsamic vinegar is only questionable if it's not real balsamic and has added ingredients. balsamic vinegar is made like grapes, in a process very similar to wine making. it doesn't come from a grain.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the heads up on that . . . I didn't know that! I love Balsamic vinegar, too -- you've made me really happy! :) . . . Lynne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heinz apple cider vinegar is not gluten-free according to their website. I have found many vinegars that are not really gluten-free so make sure you hit the corporate websites prior to using vinegars. I havent found a apple cider vinegar yet that was gluten-free in the standard store.

Deborah

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heinz apple cider vinegar IS gluten-free -- it's the apple cider FLAVORED vinegar that isn't gluten-free. There'sa big difference; the flavored vinegar isn't really made with apple cider. Real apple cider vinegar is without exception gluten-free, even in the standard store. I've never found one that isn't gluten-free. If you have found real apple cider vinegars that aren't gluten-free please tell us which ones.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Heinz apple cider vinegar is not gluten-free according to their website. I have found many vinegars that are not really gluten-free so make sure you hit the corporate websites prior to using vinegars. I havent found a apple cider vinegar yet that was gluten-free in the standard store.

Deborah

FWIW, I recently read some info concerning vinegar. Just did a search and found the Web site that published the info: http://www.nowheat.com/grfx/nowheat/primer/iheard.htm

"In the United States, almost all distilled vinegar comes from corn, not wheat. In the rare instances where wheat is the original source of the distilled alcohol that gets fermented into vinegar, the distillation process will remove all appreciable amounts of gluten (gliaden, peptide chains). A "mother" is added to the distilled alcohol to begin the process of fermentation, but research and interviews with industry experts (including the provider of vinegar to Heinz) indicate that gluten-containing ingredients are not used in this "mother" -- so distilled vinegar is safe. Please note that most vinegar listed on ingredients list is not distilled vinegar."

"If food manufactured in the United States has vinegar listed as an ingredient, where just the word "vinegar" appears between commas (for example, "Ingredients: water, vinegar, tomato paste)" the FDA's Compliance Policy Guide for Vinegar requires that the vinegar must be apple cider vinegar. So if you see just "vinegar" listed as an ingredient (not "malt vinegar" or any other modification), the vinegar is apple cider vinegar."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Now THAT is good know. I have never liked apples - perhaps they are my problem. Strange thing is that like baked apples and applesauce. But usually apple juice makes me feel a little unhappy, and I hate apples raw. Good to know it is not gluten though. As long as there is no damage occuring, I can deal.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I seem to react to vinegar, almost every time, and strongly. Could this be a gluten reaction?

I also seem to react to alchohol made from grain and rice dream milk.

Just wondering if is just a sensitivity to vinegar or if I am actually damaging myself.

trust your body!

:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No matter what your friend told you, if the grain vinegar is made from something other than wheat (almost no distilled vinegar is made from wheat), there is absolutely no way there can be gluten in it. You might react to it in some fashion but it is NOT a gluten reaction because there is no gluten. Take Heinz white or distilled vinegar for instance. It's made from corn (which, by the way, is a grain). There's no wheat, rye, barley or oats anywhere in the process. Your body might not like the vinegar but whatever is happening, it's NOT because of gluten.

The same is true with some alcohols. Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. No wheat, rye, barley or oats. So if you react to Smirnoff, it's most definitely not because of gluten.

If you've decided not to eat anything at all with vinegar in it, that's your choice, but it most certainly is not a gluten issue. I don't know of a single mayo, ketchup or mustard made with vinegar from wheat.

I'm not saying you don't react in some way and I'm not saying that others don't have trouble with some distilled products, but please, please don't confuse people by telling them that all grain vinegars and alcohols have or could have gluten. It's simply not true.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
No matter what your friend told you, if the grain vinegar is made from something other than wheat (almost no distilled vinegar is made from wheat), there is absolutely no way there can be gluten in it. You might react to it in some fashion but it is NOT a gluten reaction because there is no gluten. Take Heinz white or distilled vinegar for instance. It's made from corn (which, by the way, is a grain). There's no wheat, rye, barley or oats anywhere in the process. Your body might not like the vinegar but whatever is happening, it's NOT because of gluten.

The same is true with some alcohols. Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. No wheat, rye, barley or oats. So if you react to Smirnoff, it's most definitely not because of gluten.

If you've decided not to eat anything at all with vinegar in it, that's your choice, but it most certainly is not a gluten issue. I don't know of a single mayo, ketchup or mustard made with vinegar from wheat.

I'm not saying you don't react in some way and I'm not saying that others don't have trouble with some distilled products, but please, please don't confuse people by telling them that all grain vinegars and alcohols have or could have gluten. It's simply not true.

richard

dear richard,

thanks for the info.

i'll pull my comments re: vinegar and liquor until i get some more definitive info.

thanks!

paula

:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The same is true with some alcohols. Smirnoff vodka is made from corn. No wheat, rye, barley or oats. So if you react to Smirnoff, it's most definitely not because of gluten.

I couldn't find any info on Smirnoff's site re: their ingredients. But on Stoli's site they had this under "ingredients":

"Historically, vodka has been made from whtaever agricultural crop is most abundant and cheap, but modern vodka is made principally from various grains, most often corn, rye, and wheat. Rye is common in eastern European vodkas whereas most western vodkas are produced from wheat."

Yes, corn is a grain, but if "grain alcohol" could mean corn, rye, or wheat (but most commonly wheat), I'm not taking chances, I have had bad reactions to grain vodkas.

Richard, do you have definitive info that Smirnoff *only* uses corn? I'd love to add it to the list of OK vodkas, especially since bars tend to carry it.

[other OK vodkas: Lukosawa (inexpensive Polish potato vodka), Chopin (expensive Polish potato vodka), and Ciroq (French vodka from grapes).]

:)

paula

ps - maybe there is some labelling standard for "grain" in regard to alcohol? there was one weird vodka I saw once, can't remember the name, but it said on it that it was a "corn" liquor. this kind of confusion is what has me reluctant to trust the vagueness of the vinegar labels...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just found out from the Heinz website that it is flavored apple cider vinegar that has gluten. However, the site says that its white vinegar and regular apple cider vinegar, which aren't flavored, are gluten free. Hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I cannot tolerate any vinegar, even rice vinegar (I made my own mayo and mustard trying to find a way around my problems and that didn't help either), and I cannot tolerate any grain alchohls.

My problem is yeast though, I think. There is yeast in the vinegar process - I read that in one of my many early searches - on a candida site. I am guessing, that is the problem with the alchohl too. I can have tequilla which is not made from grain and potato vodka, in small amounts.

I know I cannot have yeast, not even ripe fruit - same reaction as wine and vinegar. The last time I had a yeast bread, I passed out for 4 hours and was groggy for days - in addition to the tummy problems.

Interesting! if you don't mind me asking how did you find out you had an issue with yeast?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is more than six years old. Most of the participants are no longer active. kabowman was last in in 2009.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This topic is more than six years old. Most of the participants are no longer active. kabowman was last in in 2009.

Thanks. I figured I wasn't going to get a response.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,644
    • Total Posts
      921,579
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Three years ago I lost about 40kgs (Aussie lol) by better diet & exercise. All was going great til I stopped losing. I upped my exercise but bizarrely started gaining weight. One night a week of not being able to sleep soon became two, then virtually every night with either 1-2hrs tops or none at all. These weird symptoms started about two years ago, becoming worse in say, the last 9mnths. Then I started to get diarrhea. Occasionally then weirdly 2-3 days with multiple occurences then a day or two with nothing, then back to loose & offensive. My GP ran tests, including the TTga (hope that's  right) antibody blood test. Negative so he tells me that's not it. After 9mnths of this he shrugs and says, "I don't know what it is I've run out of ideas what ideas do you have?" Finally refers me to a gastrointerogist.  Private, of course and can't really afford it but we (my fiance and I) go. Stools and blood samples are ordered, basically bye, see you in a month. I have looked my symptoms up and they seem to point to Celiac. Today we went back. I have been having bloated stomach, sore back and limbs,  lovely burps, constant urination and crushing anxiety attacks folowed by depression (which I have never had before in my life). Admitted over the last weekend I didn't sleep for two and a half days and found myself hallucinating and crying to just be able to sleep. Mr fancy pants gastrointerogist says," Hey great news, the stools samples rule out parasites and Crohns!" I tell him how excrutiating the last month has been to which he replies, "It's not Celiac disease, (points at negative blood test results). Celiac doesnt present with diarrhea, anxiety and frquent urination all together." I also had a fecal occult blood test which showed positive & notes say are maybe due to a lower gi bleed, and a ct scan that says shows some damage which, in their words, could be due to a condition such as Celiac disease. He has booked me for a double scope as the next step, has a few ideas what it could be (won't tell me because he doesn't want me to be 'anxious'). Told me to consider that all these symptoms could be me just worrying and being anxious. Told him when this started I was not worried about anything, shrugged and said, It could stil have happened, hey, sometimes we never find out what causes it and your just stuck with diarrhea forever." Then as I was leaving he slapped me on the back and said, "Don't worry so much, see you soon." I need to have the scopes done but is it me or are the things I was told today not true?  I would honestly love it not to be Celiac disease but could he be wrong?
    • Sigh. I totally do love the packs of stretch pants at Costco though...
    • hey, i'm vegetarian and gluten free as well
      have you tried making any recipes with cashew nuts like cashew cheese or pasta sauce? they're really good, easy to make and an excellent way to get more protein/iron
      i can send you some of the easy recipes if you like  
    • Right, fistulas or fissures are usually associated with Crohns, but not celiac.  It is not impossible to have both conditions though.
    • Bravo for being strong enough to bring this topic up.  Depression, anxiety, and other mental or neurological issues are common in celiacs and those with NCGI.  Science is finally catching up to what many of us have already known to be true.   http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3641836/ I have suffered from anxiety and still have some neuropathies.  At first I blamed menopause (that alone can make you crazy), but my symptoms tend kick in after a Gluten exposure and improve as I heal.   You are not crazy!  Gluten can cause so many problems.  What other disease requires that the patient be in charge of "medicating" and caring for themselves?  Most of us after a diagnosis get a "Well, just avoid gluten.  Lucky you that there are so many restaurants that offer a gluten free menu!", speech from our doctors.  We never get time off from thinking about food, our next meal and will it be safe?  Our relationship with food changes dramatically and it can be exhausting.   We do need more resources and support from medical, but for now, at least this forum is helpful!    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,651
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Kricket73
    Joined