Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Aldi's Foods!


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Becky6

Becky6

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 525 posts

Posted 12 February 2006 - 06:31 AM

I was there yesterday and found a brand called Asia. They have rice noodles and rices that list gluten free right on the back and the front says suitable for vegetarians and gluten free! I was so excited! Then I found that several of their Grandessa fries and other frozen items had gluten-free on them! I didn't have a lot of time but am wondering if more things have gluten-free on them? Just wanted to share this discovery!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 nettiebeads

nettiebeads

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 820 posts

Posted 12 February 2006 - 09:02 AM

I was there yesterday and found a brand called Asia. They have rice noodles and rices that list gluten free right on the back and the front says suitable for vegetarians and gluten free! I was so excited! Then I found that several of their Grandessa fries and other frozen items had gluten-free on them! I didn't have a lot of time but am wondering if more things have gluten-free on them? Just wanted to share this discovery!

That is so cool! Thanks for sharing. I don't know why I don't shop at Aldi's more that I do, it's just a little ways down the street from Wal-Mart in my town. I will make a mental note to start shopping there more.
  • 0
gluten-free since Oct 1996

#3 kevsmom

kevsmom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts

Posted 12 February 2006 - 11:25 AM

That is so cool! Thanks for sharing. I don't know why I don't shop at Aldi's more that I do, it's just a little ways down the street from Wal-Mart in my town. I will make a mental note to start shopping there more.


I see that you live in MO. I thought that maybe you were in Hanover, PA. Aldi's is right down the street from Wal-Mart there too. ;)

Cindy
  • 0
Diagnosed with Celiac Disease April 2005
Diabetic

#4 Guest_nini_*

Guest_nini_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 April 2006 - 01:00 PM

I've sent Aldi two lists of products to verify if they are gluten-free or not and so far this is what I've gotten back
1)
We would like to assure you that there is no gluten/wheat product or byproducts in any of our canned vegetables, which would include Happy Harvest Whole, Diced, and Stewed tomatoes, Natures Nectar tomato juice, and Happy Harvest Cut and French style green beans.

Sincerely,
Connie Gast
The Beckman and Gast Co.
2)
We have been notified by Aldi Inc. concerning your nutritional inquiry on the Happy Harvest frozen vegetables. We have been identified as the supplier of these products.

All of the plain Happy Harvest vegetables (broccoli cuts, cut corn, corn on the cob, peas, broccoli stir fry and California blend) are both gluten and wheat free.

We value you as a loyal Aldi consumer and appreciate your concern.

Sincerely,
Chad
consumer Relations Analyst Birds Eye Foods

3)
Thank you for your letter inquiring about gluten in Aldi's Toasty Puffs Miniature Marshmallows.

This product contains no gluten or alcohol derived from wheat, either as an ingredient or processing aid and is casein free. Our marshmallow ingredients are corn based. Our product contains no milk, eggs, or peanuts, either as an ingredient or processing aid. The flavoring used in our marshmallows is a blend of natural and artificial vanilla. Blue dye is used as a "whitening" agent to enhance the whiteness of the marshmallows: it is less than 1% of the ingredients.

We only manufacture marshmallows so there is no possibility of cross contamination from other products.

If you have any other questions, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you for your concern.

Sincerely,
Betty Tarzian
Consumer Affairs Doumak

(this company also makes Fireside Marshmallows, Campfire marshmallows and Rocky Mountain Marshmallows)
  • 0

#5 Becky6

Becky6

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 525 posts

Posted 15 April 2006 - 06:56 PM

Cool! Thanks! Keep me updated!
  • 0

#6 Guest_nini_*

Guest_nini_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 April 2006 - 05:39 AM

Cool! Thanks! Keep me updated!


you got it babe!
  • 0

#7 Guest_nini_*

Guest_nini_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 April 2006 - 09:29 AM

responses I received today

1) We are in receipt of your inquiry asking whether Happy Farms Cheese/Cream Cheese is gluten free.

We do not intentionally add gluten to our products. However, we don't screen our ingredients to insure they don't have an incidental amount of gluten either. Therefore, we do not guarantee our products are gluten free.

We are sorry we cannot provide the assurance necessary to achieve a gluten free status.

Sincerely,

Lori Piton, Consumer Affairs Schreiber Foods, Inc

2) We are the company which manufactures the Sweet Harvest brown and powdered sugars that are sold at the Aldi stores in your area. We received a copy of your letter to Aldi inquiring about the Gluten status of a variety of products.

We can confirm that the Sweet Harvest brown and powered sugars are Gluten Free. If you need any additional information please feel free to contact us.

Regards,

Stephen Ward, Quality Assurance Manager US Sugar

3) Thank you for takinig the time to contact Aldi about our Brach's Chazoo Fruit Snacks. We do appreciate your inquiry about the gluten status of this product. I regret to inform you that we do not consider any of our products gluten free at this time.

As one of the nations's leading candy manufactureres, we take great pride in our fine line of products, all made from only the highest quality ingredients. It is always rewarding to receive support from consumers like you.

Thanks again for contacting Aldi.

Yours truly,

John R. Lux, Consumer Relations Manager Brach's Confections Inc.

4) Your inquiry regarding Aunt Maples- Syrup has been forwarded to our office, as we are the manufacturer of this product.

The Original Syrup is wheat gluten free.

Thank you for your interest in our products.

Sincerely,

Tammy L. Crino Quality and Product Safety Carriage House Companies, Inc.

5) We recently received a letter from Aldi's Inc. We are the Private Label manufacturer for Aldi, Inc. on the Parkview Beef Smoked Sausage and Polska Kielbasa. Both of these products are Gluten Free. If you need any further information, please do not hesitate to call me at 1-800 KLEMENT, Ext. 244. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Klement Sausage Co., Inc.

Jeff Klement, Vice President, Consumer Affairs
  • 0

#8 tiredofdoctors!!!

tiredofdoctors!!!

    Will NOT let this disease diminish me!!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,219 posts

Posted 17 April 2006 - 09:57 AM

Nisla -- THANK YOU for contacting all those people -- and for posting the responses! That's great -- we have an Aldi about 10 minutes from our house! This is REALLY good news! Thanks for posting guys -- you're the greatest :D . . . Lynne
  • 0
Lynne

Courage does not always roar. Sometimes it is the quiet voice at the end of the day that says, "I'll try tomorrow".

"There's not a word yet, for old friends we've just met. Part Heaven, part space, or have I found my place? You can just visit, but I plan to stay, I'm going to go back there some day." Gonzo, in the Muppet Movie

#9 Guest_nini_*

Guest_nini_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 April 2006 - 02:45 PM

Nisla -- THANK YOU for contacting all those people -- and for posting the responses! That's great -- we have an Aldi about 10 minutes from our house! This is REALLY good news! Thanks for posting guys -- you're the greatest :D . . . Lynne


you are welcome, oh and btw I'm getting all these responses via snail mail so I'm having to retype all the info for y'all as it comes in! I must REALLY love you guys! LOL!
  • 0

#10 PreOptMegs

PreOptMegs

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 296 posts

Posted 17 April 2006 - 02:47 PM

Anyone know about the Fit - N - Active products there?
  • 0
I LOVE JESUS!

#11 Guest_nini_*

Guest_nini_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 April 2006 - 02:52 PM

Oh, and I don't have a typed response for this one because I don't know what I did with the letter, the Grandessa Frozen Fruit Bars are gluten-free... I like the strawberry ones, they also have a Pina Colada flavor, Caribbean Fruit Mix and Lime Pineapple
  • 0

#12 tiredofdoctors!!!

tiredofdoctors!!!

    Will NOT let this disease diminish me!!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,219 posts

Posted 17 April 2006 - 07:00 PM

Nisla, you're the best!!! :D :D :D . . . Lynne
  • 0
Lynne

Courage does not always roar. Sometimes it is the quiet voice at the end of the day that says, "I'll try tomorrow".

"There's not a word yet, for old friends we've just met. Part Heaven, part space, or have I found my place? You can just visit, but I plan to stay, I'm going to go back there some day." Gonzo, in the Muppet Movie

#13 Guest_nini_*

Guest_nini_*
  • Guests

Posted 18 April 2006 - 03:24 AM

Anyone know about the Fit - N - Active products there?


most of their products even if they have the same "brand" label ie: Fit-N-Active, are actually made by at least several different manufacturers. What they suggest you do is write down the particular items you are interested in and send a letter to Aldi's headquarters... they will forward your request for info on to the different manufacturers who will in turn answer your letter directly. That's what I did!

Just send your requests to

Aldi Inc.
Batavia, IL 60510-1477
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: