Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Gluten In Tofu


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_PatMinn_*

 
Guest_PatMinn_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 13 February 2006 - 04:55 PM

One of our support group is a vegetarian and he was told to be very careful of tofu because sometimes it contains wheat. Has anyone, else, every heard of this?

Pat
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Rusla

 
Rusla

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,350 posts
 

Posted 13 February 2006 - 05:48 PM

Some of the dessert tofu's have it in, I know Pete's does. Also things like Tofurkey and vegan or vegetarian tofu foods usually have tons of wheat in them but plain tofu doesn't. Best idea is still to read the label. Who knows when they will another food unaccessible to us.
  • 0
Rusla

Asthma-1969
wheat/ dairy allergies, lactose/casein intolerance-1980
Multiple food, environmental allergies
allergic to all antibiotics except sulpha
Rheumitoid arthritis,Migraine headaches,TMJ- 1975
fibromyalgia-1995
egg allergy-1997
msg allergy,gall bladder surgery-1972
Skin Biopsy positive DH-Dec.1 2005, confirmed celiac disease
gluten-free totally since Nov. 28, 2005
Hashimoto's Hypothyroidism- 2005
Pernicious Anemia 1999 (still anemic on and off.)
Osteoporosis Aug. 2006


Creative people need maids.

#3 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 13 February 2006 - 10:09 PM

flavored tofus often have soy sauce in them, and hence are likely to have gluten. *ALWAYS* read the ingredient list.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#4 kareena

 
kareena

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
 

Posted 19 March 2006 - 08:35 AM

Hi
We use the extra firm organic tofu and never have a problem. We make tofurkey from scratch as with most things it's safer that way. If you wish to have a tofu with flavor just put it in a food processor (not too long) to break it down add the spice you want then press it into shape again.
Oh and if you wnat to use soya sauce the health food store carries Tamari that is wheat free
  • 0
Kareena

#5 HeatherR

 
HeatherR

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 22 September 2006 - 03:44 PM

Walmart's brand of soy sauce is gluten free and very good.
HeatherR
  • 0

#6 cavernio

 
cavernio

    Advanced Community Member

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts
 

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:09 PM

I just called my favorite Tofu company, Unisoya, to double-check if their tofu has any gluten. Unisoya tofu is all gluten free, however their sausages have wheat. I have never bought their sausages, but I suspect wheat would be on the ingredient list for them anyways.

It was my first phonecall to a company about their product (there was no email), and it was awkward because they're in Quebec and the person on the phone didn't really speak English well, but he eventually got what I was asking.

I expected that the tofu would all be gluten-free, but the ingredients have something that says it's f'rom a naturally derived source', so I just thought I'd make sure.
  • 0
diagnosed Jan 2012, bloodwork only
June 2012 positive visual of celiac disease from gastroscopy

#7 kareng

 
kareng

    Gobble! Gobble!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,241 posts
 

Posted 19 March 2012 - 12:42 PM

Other than the most recent post, the other info is 6 years old. You would want to re-verify any info that old as product ingredients and manufaturing practices change.
  • 0

Thanksgiving dinners take 18 hours to prepare.  They are consumed in 12 minutes.  Half-times take 12 minutes.  This is not a coincidence.  - Emma Bombeck
 
dancing-turkey.gif
 
 
 
 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: