#1 DavidB

DavidB

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 06:48 PM

Hi!
Newbie here wondering if anyone is from Central PA? looking for a support group, stores, anything else you can share! I am in Annville PA very close to Hershey and Harrisburg PA

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 happygirl

happygirl

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 15 February 2006 - 04:47 AM

Hi David-Welcome to the board!
I don't live in PA anymore, but I went to high school and PSU. My parents still live in Mechanicsburg and I'm home often. I was diagnosed after I moved away, but my mom has gone to numerous events, etc., in the area. Apparently the Harrisburg support group is great---she met the president of the group and thought she was wonderful. Also, if I remember correctly, once a month, there is a meeting at Hershey Med Center for new Celiacs. There is a new Giant grocery store that opened recently (over in Camp Hill, I think) and they apparently carry a lot of gluten free products. They did a gluten-free cooking class there over a three week period that my mom went to. Someone who works there (nutritionist? not sure) has family members who are Celiac so she was very informed about it.
Also-Outback Steakhouse has a gluten free menu (lists which items are safe). You can find it on their website, or request it when you go in. :D
Some of the health food stores in the area (and Giant) carry Tinkyada brand pastas---they are the hands down BEST!

#3 blueeyedmanda

blueeyedmanda

York Fair 2009

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,569 posts

Posted 15 February 2006 - 05:15 AM

Hi David