Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

12 Yr Old Daughter Just Diagnosed


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 mdixon

 
mdixon

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 08 May 2004 - 04:52 AM

Hi
My daughter is 12 and has just been diagnoed w/Celiac. She has small stature and no other symptoms. Her nutritionist suggested we start replacing what she eats now with gluten-free products. Can I trust commercial salad dressings?? I guess I'm not clear on the vinegar part. Can anyone help or suggest a good creamy dressing?
Is there any list anywhere that lists gluten free items by brand name and category?? Thanks
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 wwebby

 
wwebby

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 25 posts
 

Posted 08 May 2004 - 05:58 AM

I am new myself, so maybe someone else can be more helpful, but there's a great little database of gluten-free foods you can download from www.clanthompson.com. I haven't used it that much yet, and I just have the demo version, but you might want to check it out. You can search by category, name, etc. and it tells you the product's status and gives you the 800 number to call. It looks pretty good!

You might also have some luck if you go right to the manufacturer's website and see if they list their gluten-free products there.

Clan Thompson, I think, also distributes a printed list. They have a great site, so go poke around there and good luck!

--Laura in CT
  • 0
[FONT=Arial][SIZE=7][COLOR=purple]"Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway!"

#3 dkmb

 
dkmb

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
 

Posted 08 May 2004 - 06:15 AM

Annie's Naturals has quite a few dressings that are gluten free and are widely available in chain grocery stores and other stores that carry gluten free products. If you are looking for creamy you might try the Cowgirl Ranch.
DK
  • 0

#4 Guest_jhmom_*

 
Guest_jhmom_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 08 May 2004 - 05:35 PM

Hi, according to my gluten-free list, the following brands are gluten-free:

some KRAFT (says to read labels)

Newman's Own - ALL

Wishbone - 800-697-7887 ( too many to list)

Below is a link to the list I was looking at, dressings are on page 32:

http://homepage.mac....dlist011604.pdf

Mainstream GFproduct list
  • 0

#5 Kim

 
Kim

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2004 - 06:07 AM

Hello.

All vinegars, EXCEPT malt vinegar, are okay on the gluten-free diet. You can use distilled vinegar, cider vinegar, balsamic vinegar, wine vinegar. The only one you cannot use on the gluten-free diet is malt vinegar.

There was some "discussion" for many years that distilled vinegar is not okay, however, this is not correct. Distilled vinegar is fine, and is recognized as such by all leading authorities. In fact, Volume 8 #3 of "Gluten Free Living" magazine did an entire article about this.

Hope this helps.

Kim.
  • 0

#6 Ruth

 
Ruth

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 149 posts
 

Posted 09 May 2004 - 04:32 PM

Be careful with Newman's Own dressings. I have the same list...but they are NOT all gluten-free. They are good about labeling though! So check the ingredient list. Newman's clearly lists "wheat" "barley" "malt" etc.
Kraft Ranch works for my daughter.
  • 0
Ruth
Diagnosed 3/03 (Positive Biopsy/Negative Blood Tests)
Daughter dx 12/03 (Positive biopsy/Positive blood tests);
Two sons (Negative blood tests); One on gluten-free diet (6/04) ... cured his persistent, severe headaches.

#7 dkmb

 
dkmb

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2004 - 04:56 AM

Kim,
Was the statement "all leading experts" in the article you mentioned in your post? When I see the word all and leading in statements like that it raises a red flag for me. There is still disagreement about distilled vinegar. It brings to mind the discussion for years about hormone replacement therapy when millions of women took it and then came "the study" that ended it for many. During those years there were many experts who cautioned more judious use of HRT.
Using products with distilled vinegar or not is a decision each person with celiac disease needs to make on their own with as many of the facts available to them as possible.
DK
  • 0

#8 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 28 May 2004 - 11:51 AM

Hi...I'm a thirteen year old boy, diagnosed 13 weeks ago...just thought I could be of some assistance. If you have any questions or want some advice, you can e-mail me. My advice: read the boards...you'll find yourself an expert in no time. I don't have time to write a long post of some tips for starting, but again, don't hesitate to e-mail. After 13 weeks of trial and error, I think I've found the best of gluten-free breads, cookies, pastas, etc. If you want some help for starting out, I could get you her e-mail address. She got helped by people when I started the gluten-free diet, and therefore, likes to help others in a similar situation. Good luck and don't get discouraged...
  • 0

#9 Kim

 
Kim

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
 

Posted 28 May 2004 - 12:01 PM

Among experts in the field, there is absolutely no disagreement, the distillation process removes all traces of gluten. "There was never any reason to question the safety of vinegar." I really can't type the entire Gluten Free Living Article here, and, I agree, everyone who reads this cite has to make their own choices. Unfortunately, I also believe that some people, particularly newly-diagnosed celiacs, are still getting incorrect information about vinegar. As stated earlier, other than malt vinegar (where the malt is added after the distillation process), all vinegar is gluten free.

In addition, the FDA requires that where a label simply states "vinegar" it is apple cider vinegar, which even those who doubt, cannot question that it is gluten free.

Kim.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: