This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

There Seems To Be A Genetic Factor Here

Cin

Cin Rookie

Hi,

I am new to all this!!!! Very confused, concerned and a bit depressed.

I have just learned that my mom, brother and his daughter all have celiacs disease.

I have 4 children.....they do not appear to have any GI problems except maybe one with "pasty stools" and some seepage still at age 9- history of UTI's. One son has very large BM's and ADHD. Two children are on the small size but so am I.....why test if no symptoms???? What could happen.

I have heard that following gluten free is expensive. With 4 children and a disbled husband this is gonna kill us financially. Does anyone have a helpful place to get low cost gluten-free food or a list of things to find at the supermarket. Maybe I am jumping the gun as I go get tested Tuesday but it is all just freaking me out and overwhelming me!!!!

Thanks for any input

Cindy

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guest nini

the gluten free diet IS ONLY EXPENSIVE if you try to buy a lot of the replacement products.