3 replies to this topic

#1 Nadtorious

Nadtorious

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 134 posts

Posted 09 May 2004 - 11:21 PM

Hey guys-I'm kinda new at this (gluten-free for a year now)-I am getting ready to move to Denver to race for a mountain bike team out there and I need RELIABLY gluten free meals/snacks to take with me to races. So far I've been living off turkey sandwiches, but the thought of eating those all summer makes me lose my appetite. I seem to be sensitive to most "gluten-free" cereals on the market-I'm trying to stick to stuff from dedicated facilities right now (I can't race, much less even look at my bike for at least a week after having reactions, and it makes me nervous to eat stuff I'm unsure about). I need loads of energy (who doesn't though, right?), but I'm getting frustrated trying to find stuff that I can pack on longer trips and weekend hotel stays. Any suggestions? <_<
Eat, drink, and be merry!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 midnightlullaby

midnightlullaby

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 34 posts

Posted 10 May 2004 - 09:50 AM

Hey, I'm a biker too. I pack a lot of food bars around with me. At trader joes here and some other health food stores they have bars called "vegan" that are gluten-free and I live off them. Here's the gluten-free bars they have posted here:
Dr. Atkins - Diet Bars
Essential Bars - Chocolate and the Fruit and Yogurt
Gary Null & Assoc. - Fruit and Fiber Energy Bar
Granola Bars from Trader Joe's
NuBasics - Complete Nutrition Bar and the Mocha Berry
I think there's some speciality gluten-free companies that sell bars too. That's what I'd recomend for fast food. Good luck with your race!!

#3 travelthomas

travelthomas

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 10 May 2004 - 10:10 AM

Hi Natorious,