Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

White Vinegar Confusion!


  • Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 LisaP

 
LisaP

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2004 - 07:38 AM

I am confused! I know that Heinz white vinegar is safe, but when I see it in salsa etc, is it ok? I am one of those Celiacs that has a minimal reaction to gluten and sometimes wonder if I ingested it or not. So help! What rules do you guys follow on white vinegar? :blink:
  • 0
Lisa

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Kim

 
Kim

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 184 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2004 - 11:23 AM

All vinegar, except malt vinegar, is gluten free. The only vinegar you have to worry about is malt vinegar, and, in the US, it will be labeled malt vinegar. If it just says vinegar, that's distilled vinegar, which is okay.

Hope that helps.

You may wish to read an article in Volume 8 #3 of Gluten Free Living which is all about vinegar.

Kim.
  • 0

#3 LisaP

 
LisaP

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2004 - 12:05 PM

Thanks Kim. I will go check out that article.
  • 0
Lisa




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: