Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Activia Yogurt
0

33 posts in this topic

um your son is the cutest thing that i have EVER seen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
um your son is the cutest thing that i have EVER seen

Wow! Thanks!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
i was just telling you what i was told when i talked to them......i never claim to be an expert it's a pretty normal occurance for me to be wrong..i've not had a reaction with the activia and i only ate it to give it a try....sorry for being wrong...glad that you set me straight! :blink: yogourt isn't my favorite anway ha, so i don't eat it much :P

although, you aren't the only one who has called so the whole "it was me on the phone remember" and the "i do know what i'm talking about on this" kinda isn't necessary, i was by no means calling you a liar or saying what you were saying was incorrect nor implying that you didn't know what you were talking about....just saying that my experience when i phoned them was a different one.

I didn't mean to seem like I was attacking its just I've contacted Tons and Tons of companies....go through my old messages because I've posted most of the replys under "Product Updates." I'm sorry if you took it that way.

BTW...lets not all forget there is more then just WHEAT we have to be concerned about....Rye, Barley, most oats and a huge list of ingrediants derived from those products that don't even sound like those things can be in them. Plus there is a lot of celiacs who don't even feel it when they are being glutened...like the family members who have no symptoms but still test positive for celiac. It doesn't mean the damage still isn't being done, just because something doesn't make you sick.

Hugs

Bridget

hmm....it's spelled offense....

Hmmm...must be nice to be you, to only have to worry about my spelling in this world being I was rushing when I typed it.

Hugs

Bridge

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Stardust,

If your reacting to somthing, it does not mean it has gluten in it. :) Many ppl on this site react to vingar, but its becasue they have a problem (and sounds like you do) with vingars and not gluten. Just like many Celiacs will react to MILK or NUTS or YEAST or some other food. It just a fact of life that many celiacs have more then one intolernce. My Son for example reacts to Eggs and Gluten.

Everyone wants to blame celiac disease for all thier reactions. Its only natural. Some times its a simple as CC other times its an unknown intolerence/alergy and sometimes its the flu. :)

Hee Hee Hee!! Yup-could be asparagus or sperm!! (Others please refer to my last post!)

Of course they are reacting to the vinegars. What do you think they are made from? There's nothing in Distilled white vinegar except the steam-evaporated condensed form of whatever they boiled to make it. Usually a grain mash. Refer to my post on Distillation process-try keyword in SPIRITS and Bootleggers. Honestly-most people don't know. It amazes me how many people don't have a clue what they are eating. At restaraunts more than once, I've told waitstaff that I can't have wheat-so they ask if I want "white bread" instead!! Ha Ha I ask "what do you think "bread" is made of? And they DON'T KNOW. Honestly! Even some of my family members didn't realize "durham semolina" pasta was wheat-they thought I could it eat that kind, maybe.

I'll I'm saying is that if people ARE reacting to vinegars, and distilled alcohols-liquor, Liquers, and flavor extracts which contain DISTILLED grain alcohols, whether from Rye-Oats-Barley-or Wheat--that by golly, maybe there's a REASON. Something we DON"T KNOW YET.

I know I don't have any problems with rice or apple cider vinegars-and use products that contain them freguently. I have a huge bottle of apple cider vinegar and I use it to make my yeast breads. Never a problem. Just to set you at ease though, I Don't use any dairy, and did elimination on eggs for over 2 months. No problem there. Peanuts-maybe-I get headache, but no gut symptoms. Almonds may be a problem too. I can drink rum, made from sugar, but not flavored vodka. I CAN drink tequila, (ick) made from agave-but hate the taste, but not Whiskey-which is DISTILLED from grains.

See the thread in this thread people? The only things I have trouble with are the ones DISTILLED from grains. Perhaps I am not the only one.

Mostly, I just leave that stuff alone. There's no reason to add to my problems. But for a special treat with friends, I have a Malibu PLAIN rum and OJ.-at least I get some Vit C with my cocktail!! :D

I also have had reason to question a brand of cheaper flavored decaf coffee. Either the cheap flavoring, or maybe coloring to make it richer looking- I drink regular decaf all the time with no problem. But this flavored decaf--Woo. Won't do that again. And again the ONLY unknown is "natural Flavoring". Anybody else ever had that? I love ChelsE "love and hate" threads!! Dove

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
. Won't do that again. And again the ONLY unknown is "natural Flavoring". Anybody else ever had that? I love ChelsE "love and hate" threads!! Dove

Natural Flavoring should ALWAYS be a red flag, until you know what the source of the flavoring is.

As for Vingar, there is more to Vingar then just what is distilled..

How is Vinegar Made?

Vinegar is made by two distinct biological processes, both the result of the action of harmless microorganisms (yeast and “Acetobacter”) that turn sugars (carbohydrates) into acetic acid. Many of our favorite foods involve some type of bacteria in their production – from cheese and yogurt to wine, pickles and chocolate. The first process is called alcoholic fermentation and occurs when yeasts change natural sugars to alcohol under controlled conditions. In the second process, a group of bacteria (called “Acetobacter”) converts the alcohol portion to acid. This is the acetic, or acid fermentation, that forms vinegar. Proper bacteria cultures are important; timing is important; and fermentation should be carefully controlled.

Although acetic acid is the primary constituent of vinegar aside from water, acetic acid is not vinegar. Vinegar contains many vitamins and other compounds not found in acetic acid such as riboflavin, Vitamin B-1 and mineral salts from the starting material that impart vinegar with its distinct flavor

Alot of ppl have problems with YEAST, again, and I want to repeat this so that others that come across this thread months from now see it, just becuase you react to a food does not mean it has gluten in it. It could be cross contimantion, but in most cases when its a known gluten free source (or a known and test gluten removeal process like distilling) its a reaction to a another ingredinet, another intolerence or algerie that you may or may not know of yet. Vingart is not PURELY the grain source, and you never have a garrentee its not contimanted with somthing elese, yes even gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Natural Flavoring should ALWAYS be a red flag, until you know what the source of the flavoring is.

As for Vingar, there is more to Vingar then just what is distilled..

Alot of ppl have problems with YEAST, again, and I want to repeat this so that others that come across this thread months from now see it, just becuase you react to a food does not mean it has gluten in it. It could be cross contimantion, but in most cases when its a known gluten free source (or a known and test gluten removeal process like distilling) its a reaction to a another ingredinet, another intolerence or algerie that you may or may not know of yet. Vingart is not PURELY the grain source, and you never have a garrentee its not contimanted with somthing elese, yes even gluten.

Vydorscope

Thanks for the detailed info--Wow. Yes, I believe I am going to have to reconsider yeast as an issue. There IS still something that has me just "not right". Thank you for your persistance and guidance. I have had a lot of time to think the last few days, as I have glutened myself again, and was extraordinarily sick for the last 4 days. I should have known the night I stayed up all night typing to you all that something was wrong!! Because I felt SO GOOD! (I guess I am one of those people that gets the whole endorphin rush thing, because sometimes if I eat bad stuff, I FEEL SO FANTASTIC AND ENERGETIC AND HAPPY for a while--until the CRASH!! I used to think that was what "drunk" was all about.) I had taken a chance on trying some Pepsi, and I also ate 2 bites of a marshmallow bar that was "clean" when I read it--the first time. After I had puked my breakfast, guts and socks up the next day-- I thought maybe it was the Pepsi. I almost forgot the 2 bites of marshmallow bar--So Good! ^_^ Irony of Ironies--it had VANILLIN as the last ingredient on a line by itself. I just didn't see it. And here I had stayed up half the night talking about flavorings and I SPECIFICALLY told someone with a chocolate Q that vanillin was just vanilla flavored grain alcohol-a cheap flavoring-as far as I knew.

Well, now I KNOW that any chocolate with VANILLIN is OFF THE LIST for me at least!! I usually don't actually vomit if I eat something wrong, but I am STILL shaky and "hungover" feeling--even today. It would actually be kind of nice to puke every time I ate the wrong thing--at least then I would know right away I had eaten something bad, instead of feeling crappy for 4 days and then trying to figure it out.

As I said, though, I have had much time to think and be humbled. I will try removing yeast--(Thanks also to Kabowwoman for input) Sometimes, we do not notice divine intervention from such a "technological" source, and I am guilty of thinking you were "threatening my ability to be right". I was arguing my point maybe too much and missing what you were trying to tell me. I was stuck. God will come in and give us a reality check, and He did. Gave me a few days to think about how I was behaving, and arguing the help of one of his messengers to me. Thank You again.

I don't want to make this my confessional, but there is a spiritual journey here involved too, and when you have 4 days to lie on your back, and are honest with your spirit self, much growth can be accomplished, especially anywhere there is "friction". I believe all of us Celiacs and DH people are trusted with a special set of challenges by Him. But He didn't ask us to do it alone-even tho we may have felt that way at times--He gave us this forum, supportive families-as evidenced by ChelsE's lovely "Love" thread, and He personally gave me VydorScope.

Thanks for the link back to more "Love" VydorScope, after these last days, it was much appreciated.

I am now also looking for "environmental offenders" in my 1872 home, as well as the yeast. Perhaps the molds in the basement and mildew etc. are giving me more trouble than I dared to look at. Recently, we had terrible storms here and like 5 inches of water came through the basement wall!! Onto the floors which are all DIRT. 135 year old dark damp, now soppy wet dirt floors. Maybe the mold is "sporing" because it was threatened by the "great flood!!" and that is ALSO contributing. When I think of it, how can it NOT? (I DO keep my home very clean BTW-just that we have stripped TONS of wallpaper-(WHEATPASTE DUST) and mildew grows on all the pocketdoors like crazy!! All the "dust" in the house is comprised of things that I may be especially sensitive to. I have tried to ignore this "way too big for me to handle" problem. But ONE light illuminates the whole room, and if I have yeast problems, I probably have others. I was always the tough one...You Know? I hate to think I am so "wimpy". I must learn that these sensitivities do not make me weak. They are giving me a chance to become wiser..if I would just listen. I am listening now. Let go of my shirt already! With Much Humility Dove

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would like to add that I was foolish enough to get the Activia with the extra fiber (assuming that since I've been ok with the regular Activia that I didn't need to look at the label for this one because it would be safe too). Boy do I ever regret that now. I just ate half of it, then noticed the bright yellow letters on the side that said "Contains Gluten." I now have those familiar sharp stomach cramps and am waiting to get sick.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd like to put in a plug for Greek style yogurts, particularly Fage. I can't vouch for the fruit flavors, because I only buy the plain or honey flavored. Now, the little individual 5oz servings are expensive (around $1.50 each) but handy to tote around. Lately, I've been buying the larger tub--the plain and fat free and then buying my own honey and adding a tablespoon (or two or three...). This is really inexpensive, but a pain if you're taking it to work for lunch.

I like Greek yogurt because it's thicker and less drippy and runny than regular yogurt. Incidentally this makes it perfect for those with spatial orientation issues, blindness and/or hand/facial tremors--it tends to stay on the spoon and not drip off. You can also use it in place of creme fraiche or sour cream.

Geesh...I sound like a commercial!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.