46 replies to this topic

#1 ErraticBinxie

ErraticBinxie

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 01:00 PM

I have my FAVORITE shampoo that I have been using for the last several months. I absolutely love it. It makes my hair smell so good and feel so soft. Today in the shower I just decided to read the ingredients for the first time and I saw that it has HYDROLYZED WHEAT PROTEIN in it. I am heart broken.

My question is, how bad can wheat protein in my shampoo really be and should I stop using it?

All of your thoughts on this matter would be appreciated.
<3 Alexis
Gluten-Free since 1995

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 StrongerToday

StrongerToday

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 737 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 01:11 PM

IMO it's just not worth it for me. I freak out about a crumb on the countertop!! There are lots of other good ones out there.
Ev in Michigan

GFDF since 8/20/05
Negative Bloodwork ~
Dr. encourages me to trust my
"Gut Reaction"

#3 lovegrov

lovegrov

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 01:40 PM

The danger is in accidentally getting some in your mouth and swallowing. It would certainly be just a tiny amount but it could build up over time.

richard

#4 jerseyangel

jerseyangel

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,939 posts

Posted 20 March 2006 - 05:10 PM

I know how you feel--really! But it's so easy to get the shampoo in your mouth that, to me, it's not worth the risk. I didn't pay attention to my products the first 2 months or so gluten-free. I didn't know about the risk at the time. When I did finally go through my products and stopped using those with gluten in them, I felt better. Up until then, I was getting 'mystery glutenings' that I couldn't figure out.
Patti

"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou