Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Pillsbury Frostings
0

17 posts in this topic

I have been hearing mixed opinions on Pillsbury Funfetti frostings. The label lists soy and they do not know the source of the flavorings. Does anyone know for sure? Is it a yes or a no? Thank you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Pillsbury's number is (800) 767-4466. They had a gluten free list, but they don't plan on updating it. You're supposed to call with specific product questions. Hope that helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There may be more, but for these I know that they are gluten and dairy free.

Pillsbury "Creamy Supreme" Frosting

Vanilla - UPC: 51500 76080

Chocolate - UPC: 51500-76050

Pillsbury tells me that they are gluten and dairy free. I cannot recall if they are on dedicated lines or not, but for such a common flavor sold all over the USA I can't imagine they wouldn't have dedicated lines...but check it out for yourself!! 1-800-767-4466

My sons and I have not yet had a reaction to these and we've been eating them for about 6 months now! (I hope I didn't just jinx myself!)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Pillsbury frosting alot and alot of theirs is gluten free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called them on Monday and they informed me that right now they do not have any ingredients for their "natural and artificial flavorings". They stated that they would onlly have to list wheat and there is no info for rye, barley and oats. I have always eaten it but someone told me that it wasn't gluten-free. Thanks.

I have been hearing mixed opinions on Pillsbury Funfetti frostings. The label lists soy and they do not know the source of the flavorings. Does anyone know for sure? Is it a yes or a no? Thank you.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I made a gluten-free vanilla cake last night and used Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge Funfetti frosting thinking it was gluten-free. I woke up with very swollen eyelids this morning. So, I am guessing there was some gluten in the frosting. Does anyone know for sure? I tried to call the # on the label to find out but got a recording.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We've used the vanilla funfetti with no problems and the same for the plan vanilla. It's our go-to frosting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does Funfetti icing have sprinkles? Those are a potential problem, some sprinkles contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Funfetti Frosting Ingredients

Frosting: Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Cottonseed)Water, Corn Syrup, Corn Starch, Salt, Monoglycerides, Artificial Flavor, Colored with Artificial Color, Yellow No. 5, Red No. 40)Modified Corn Starch, Polysorbate 60, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)Soy Lecithin, Citric Acid.

Candy Bits: Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Cottonseed)Corn Starch, Confectioners Shellac, Modified Corn Starch, Colored with Yellow No. 5, Red No. 40, Blue No. 1, Yellow No. 6)

There's NOTHING in here that screams gluten and my very sensitive Celiac daughter eats this frosting like, um, well, candy.

If you have issues with soy or coloring agents, I can see how it would be problematic, but there are no gluten ingredients in this product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PILLSBURY CONFETTI FUNFETTI IS NOT GLUTEN FREE!

My daughter and I both have celiac. I made a gluten free cake and used Pillsbury's Vanilla Confetti Funfetti frosting. She was asleep when it was ready so my husband and I each had a piece before her- luckily! It made me VERY sick.

I figured that it must have been the sprinkles since we have eaten Pillsbury frosting before with no problem. So when my daughter was disappointed that we couldn't eat the cake, we had some of the PLAIN frosting that hadn't been used. It made us BOTH sick! Usually my daughter is VERY insensitive to gluten whereas I can tell very quickly if I have eaten some.

Do not use this frosting!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The frosting looks absolutely gluten-free. I have never ever seen gluten in artificial flavors and there are no natural flavors in the ingredients.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you want ready made frosting and are leery of the Pillsbury just go with Duncan Hines. Their gluten-free frostings are labeled gluten free on the container.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PILLSBURY CONFETTI FUNFETTI IS NOT GLUTEN FREE!

My daughter and I both have celiac. I made a gluten free cake and used Pillsbury's Vanilla Confetti Funfetti frosting. She was asleep when it was ready so my husband and I each had a piece before her- luckily! It made me VERY sick.

I figured that it must have been the sprinkles since we have eaten Pillsbury frosting before with no problem. So when my daughter was disappointed that we couldn't eat the cake, we had some of the PLAIN frosting that hadn't been used. It made us BOTH sick! Usually my daughter is VERY insensitive to gluten whereas I can tell very quickly if I have eaten some.

Do not use this frosting!

Please be careful when you post things like this on here. Just because you reacted from it, doesn't mean that it was because of gluten. I'm not saying that this particular frosting is or isn't gluten free, because while nothing in the ingrediants screams gluten, I haven't checked with the company but I don't know for a fact the status. Just be careful that you're not spreading false information just because you had a negative experience, I love to hear about everyone's experiences but this disease is too difficult to not have all the facts!

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Betty Crocker's frostings say gluten-free on the label! :D

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just called Pillsbury, with the number locted on the back of the frosting container. The lady was extremely nice and understood my concerns. I gve her the barcode of the frosting container so she could make sure she had the exact type of frosting. She was then able to look up exactly what is in the frosting and the sprinkles. The frosting has no gluten or traces of gluten. She was not just looking for wheat, as she listed out other forms of gluten as well. However, the funfetti sprinkles that are in a seperate container on the lid may have gluten in them. So if you use this frosting...the frosting is gluten free but the sprinkles may contain gluten. Also, she stated that Pillsbury just came out with gluten free frosting that will state "gluten free".

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7-9-14. I just called Pillsbury customer service and this frosting and the sprinkles are gluten free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the update.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,918
    • Total Posts
      919,628
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Depression / anxiety issues
      Hi Chris, haven't had a chance to read the whole conversation but regarding dairy, if you are suspicious of something, drop it for some time and see. You are still healing so maybe dairy is bothering you now. Also look at the nightshades, corn, dairy, soy, and eggs. I had a horrible time last year. I had muscle twitches, brain fog, pain, was tired,etc. I searched online and decided to drop all of those things I mentioned above. I am not sure what bothered me since I dropped them all at once but i slowly began feeling better. Now, i reintroduced eggs again and sometimes have lactose free milk with my coffee. I recommend eating salmon, tuna, bone broth soups, using olive oil and coconut oil and not eating much or not at all processed food even if it is marked gluten free.
    • Weird things people have said
      I've had people say strange things about celiac to me lately... Like someone said, "Oh I'm just a mild celiac so I don't have to worry about cross-contamination." And then someone else said that they're celiac but things have calmed down now so they can have a bit of gluten here and there. And I told my doctor that back in 2014 I thought I had been gluten free but I actually wasn't because I had been repeatedly glutening myself with an old colander. And he just looked at me like I was insane, like a colander?? Sure... I'm not crazy, right? Even if you have no symptoms you have to avoid cross-contamination because you can be doing damage internally right? You can never have 'just a bit'. And a colander is a big source of cross-contamination right?? I know all this but why do these other people not? Why does my doctor not know? So confusing and spreading misinformation... And then they look at me like *I'M* crazy.
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      Look up FODMAPS.   That might clarify things for you.  There really are a lot of diet recommendations so make sure you bring a list of questions regarding foods to your doctor's  and dietician's appointments.  
    • Recovery?
      Thank you for sharing those web sites. I will look at them. We have been gluten free since December so it's been a while. Once, he had a gluten free beer, the kind that they take the gluten out, and his legs felt very heavy and had a more difficult time walking. I really don't want to experiment.  Although I am very careful about what we eat, I am concerned that some of our medication could contain gluten. Is there any easier way to tell if medication has gluten. I did find a website which listed drugs and known gluten but every drug was on it or was determined to be gluten free
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      I don't have celiac but doctors or amazed I don't so they told me to fallow the gluten-free diet like I have it... any way I was wondering if one can have corn, corn starch if they have fructose malabsorption. I am so confused on what I can and can't have.. i have an appt next week hopefully with a dietitian... also can you have sugar free stuff since it's not sugar.. I'm reading online and I'm getting a bunch of mixed info on both. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,963
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Tams67
    Joined