Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Pillsbury Frostings
0

17 posts in this topic

I have been hearing mixed opinions on Pillsbury Funfetti frostings. The label lists soy and they do not know the source of the flavorings. Does anyone know for sure? Is it a yes or a no? Thank you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Pillsbury's number is (800) 767-4466. They had a gluten free list, but they don't plan on updating it. You're supposed to call with specific product questions. Hope that helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There may be more, but for these I know that they are gluten and dairy free.

Pillsbury "Creamy Supreme" Frosting

Vanilla - UPC: 51500 76080

Chocolate - UPC: 51500-76050

Pillsbury tells me that they are gluten and dairy free. I cannot recall if they are on dedicated lines or not, but for such a common flavor sold all over the USA I can't imagine they wouldn't have dedicated lines...but check it out for yourself!! 1-800-767-4466

My sons and I have not yet had a reaction to these and we've been eating them for about 6 months now! (I hope I didn't just jinx myself!)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Pillsbury frosting alot and alot of theirs is gluten free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called them on Monday and they informed me that right now they do not have any ingredients for their "natural and artificial flavorings". They stated that they would onlly have to list wheat and there is no info for rye, barley and oats. I have always eaten it but someone told me that it wasn't gluten-free. Thanks.

I have been hearing mixed opinions on Pillsbury Funfetti frostings. The label lists soy and they do not know the source of the flavorings. Does anyone know for sure? Is it a yes or a no? Thank you.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I made a gluten-free vanilla cake last night and used Pillsbury Chocolate Fudge Funfetti frosting thinking it was gluten-free. I woke up with very swollen eyelids this morning. So, I am guessing there was some gluten in the frosting. Does anyone know for sure? I tried to call the # on the label to find out but got a recording.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We've used the vanilla funfetti with no problems and the same for the plan vanilla. It's our go-to frosting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does Funfetti icing have sprinkles? Those are a potential problem, some sprinkles contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Funfetti Frosting Ingredients

Frosting: Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Cottonseed)Water, Corn Syrup, Corn Starch, Salt, Monoglycerides, Artificial Flavor, Colored with Artificial Color, Yellow No. 5, Red No. 40)Modified Corn Starch, Polysorbate 60, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative)Soy Lecithin, Citric Acid.

Candy Bits: Sugar, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Soybean, Cottonseed)Corn Starch, Confectioners Shellac, Modified Corn Starch, Colored with Yellow No. 5, Red No. 40, Blue No. 1, Yellow No. 6)

There's NOTHING in here that screams gluten and my very sensitive Celiac daughter eats this frosting like, um, well, candy.

If you have issues with soy or coloring agents, I can see how it would be problematic, but there are no gluten ingredients in this product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PILLSBURY CONFETTI FUNFETTI IS NOT GLUTEN FREE!

My daughter and I both have celiac. I made a gluten free cake and used Pillsbury's Vanilla Confetti Funfetti frosting. She was asleep when it was ready so my husband and I each had a piece before her- luckily! It made me VERY sick.

I figured that it must have been the sprinkles since we have eaten Pillsbury frosting before with no problem. So when my daughter was disappointed that we couldn't eat the cake, we had some of the PLAIN frosting that hadn't been used. It made us BOTH sick! Usually my daughter is VERY insensitive to gluten whereas I can tell very quickly if I have eaten some.

Do not use this frosting!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The frosting looks absolutely gluten-free. I have never ever seen gluten in artificial flavors and there are no natural flavors in the ingredients.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you want ready made frosting and are leery of the Pillsbury just go with Duncan Hines. Their gluten-free frostings are labeled gluten free on the container.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

PILLSBURY CONFETTI FUNFETTI IS NOT GLUTEN FREE!

My daughter and I both have celiac. I made a gluten free cake and used Pillsbury's Vanilla Confetti Funfetti frosting. She was asleep when it was ready so my husband and I each had a piece before her- luckily! It made me VERY sick.

I figured that it must have been the sprinkles since we have eaten Pillsbury frosting before with no problem. So when my daughter was disappointed that we couldn't eat the cake, we had some of the PLAIN frosting that hadn't been used. It made us BOTH sick! Usually my daughter is VERY insensitive to gluten whereas I can tell very quickly if I have eaten some.

Do not use this frosting!

Please be careful when you post things like this on here. Just because you reacted from it, doesn't mean that it was because of gluten. I'm not saying that this particular frosting is or isn't gluten free, because while nothing in the ingrediants screams gluten, I haven't checked with the company but I don't know for a fact the status. Just be careful that you're not spreading false information just because you had a negative experience, I love to hear about everyone's experiences but this disease is too difficult to not have all the facts!

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Betty Crocker's frostings say gluten-free on the label! :D

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just called Pillsbury, with the number locted on the back of the frosting container. The lady was extremely nice and understood my concerns. I gve her the barcode of the frosting container so she could make sure she had the exact type of frosting. She was then able to look up exactly what is in the frosting and the sprinkles. The frosting has no gluten or traces of gluten. She was not just looking for wheat, as she listed out other forms of gluten as well. However, the funfetti sprinkles that are in a seperate container on the lid may have gluten in them. So if you use this frosting...the frosting is gluten free but the sprinkles may contain gluten. Also, she stated that Pillsbury just came out with gluten free frosting that will state "gluten free".

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7-9-14. I just called Pillsbury customer service and this frosting and the sprinkles are gluten free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the update.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,105
    • Total Posts
      920,393
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I never ate at the fair but always "rewarded" myself with a nice glass of wine at the wine and beer patio!   The corn on the cob might be ok but I have to agree with the poster who mentioned that stuff at the fair probably isn't terribly clean.  Stuff your purse with snacks and enjoy.  My partner would feel bad about eating in front of my and I would just - I don't feel bad so that's your problem, not mine! lol 
    • So far I've had no problems with gluten-free Cherrios and I've been eating them since they started producing the gluten-free line. Generally I will have some reaction to gluten if there is contamination in the product I'm eating. But I'm sure someone has gotten a bad batch or is simply very sensitive to trace amounts of gluten. It's up to each individual to decide whether you want to chance trying them. The article mentioned by squirmingitch sheds light on the problem with anything listed as gluten-free. Contamination can occur at any point in the harvest or processing, and testing may miss it. I also eat Chex, Nature's Path cereals and have tried other brands w/o any problems. I do miss gluten-free Rice Krispies, they made for a nice addition to meat loaf, shame they discontinued the item.
    • Here is another point.  My hubby went gluten-free per the poor advice of his GP and my allergist.  It worked.  A tough first year, but he got well.  Thirteen years later, I got diagnosed with celiac disease.  I was shocked!  😱.   Does he have celiac disease?  We will never know because we can not afford to have him do a challenge.  He refuses and I can not blame him.  He knows he will be very sick!   The point?  I am so lucky that we both can not have gluten.  I never worry about him making me sick or vice versa. We made the house completely gluten free for  1) our health and 2) the fact that our kid started helping in the kitchen. Kids make mistakes and I personally need a safe haven.  She wants gluten?  I buy prepackaged stuff and she takes it to school.  All parties and events at my house are gluten free.  Lots of work, but we stay healthy.  She does not have celiac disease.  When she is preparing for a celiac test,  I send her on the porch to eat cookies or bread or whatever floats her boat.  We travel in a gluten-free RV.  I have five sizes of ice chests.  We just have to be prepared for any event.   How can we live this way?   We love feeling good.
    • Freize is right, you need to think about your environment.   Based on that a study I posted for you, you will note that the patients who were diagnosed with refractory celiac disease and THOUGHT they were diet compliant found that they WERE NOT diet compliant.  How is this possible?   This is way out there, but unless you are growing all your own food, you don't really know if it is gluten free.  In the US, we do have laws to help protect our food supplies (no perfect, but a start).    I can not speak for India.  For example, what about your soy?  It can be contaminated by the farmer as it is often rotated with wheat.  Here is an article by Jane Anderson who has celiac disease.  She is very strict as she has DH (celiac rash), but she cites Trisha Thompson who tests foods for gluton contamination, The gluten-free WatchDog (like Consumer reports).  She found that soy which is naturally gluten free, but can be cross contaminated by wheat: https://www.verywell.com/is-soy-gluten-free-562371 so, start thinking about your food supply. As far as a negative TTG IGA or TTG IGG?  I test negative to both.  Only the DGP IGA has ever been elevated in my blood tests (even repeats), yet I had a Marsh Stage IIIIB on my biopsy.  Have you had a DGP IGG?  (I do not see this in your posting).   http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ These additonal celiac tests might help you feel confident that you have celiac disease and not something else that is damaging your villi.  But remember, some  folks have celiac disease even with negative blood.  I am not IGA deficient, so this is an area I have not researched.  Not to mention that some celiac researchers do not think that the celiac  antibodies tests are good for diet compliancy.   I wish I had better answers for you.  Try a grain free, whole foods diet of meats, fish, eggs, and vegetables for a while.  All food prepared by you. Who cooks your food now?  Is your home gluten free?  Cross contamination at home?  Kissing a loved one.  We had a doctor with celiac disease who was getting glutened by her little children who were consuming gluten!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,144
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    GlutenFreeGreg
    Joined