This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Why Go Through Endoscopy?

radman

radman Newbie

Let me preface this by saying that I am a physician in a specialty unrelated to gastroenterology. I have recently "self diagnosed" celiac disease.

I believe I have a relatively mild form. I have had loose, gassy bowels off and on throughout my life, but the symptoms have recently become worse. They have never been severe, I have never had pain, profuse diarrhea, significant weight loss, etc. But lets just say, it was always clear that my bathroom trips would be considered "offensive" to others (and me). In addition, I have had problems with borborygmi (noisy, roiling, growling stomach, primarily at night). These symptoms of "enteritis" and low grade malapsorption never seemed to fit any clear diagnosis. I remember wondering if it could be celiac while I was in med school, but the description by the professors seemed more severe than what I experienced.

Anyway, as the symptoms worsened recently I decided to try a gluten free diet. I have always been a bread, sandwhich and pasta lover, so rarely a day went by without gluten exposure (I'm 42).

I have been gluten free for about 2 weeks, and wow! I have never had such normal, regular, bowels. No offensive odor, no gas, no sign of malapsorption. There is no question that avoiding gluten has dramatically changed my digestive system. Having never had this normalcy in the past, I am astonished that such a simple change in diet could make such a difference.

So now the question is: Why go in for serum antibody tests, endoscopy, and biopsy?