Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Malt Flavoring
0

13 posts in this topic

Hi,

Does Malt FLAVORING contain gluten. I'm thinking it does, but im not sure....

Thanks!

Ashley

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Malt Flavoring is made from barley, so it is definitely gluten-full!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not gluten-free!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi

I've been going gluten-free for past 2 months, but I think I may have found a problem ingredent in my instant potato mix. It's called MALTODEXTRIN, and when I checked out the safe/unsafe food list here it said that DEXTRIN is not safe, but MALTODEXTRIN was safe.

Apparently, if it's made in the USA, it's supposed to be from corn starch or potato starch (per FDA regs) BUT, the manufacture's might change it to wheat starch or gluten-based enzyme, in the future (article written May 1997). (from Celiac.com)

The product is made by the food chain, Stop & Shop, and it's called: 100% IDAHO, Sour Cream & Chives, Mashed Potatoes. With my long hours (job & commute) I need something quick & easy to make when I get home.

Unfortunately, I've used it for several different evening meals, and now I'm all bloated up and have the gas attacks again! And here I was just feeling really good about my body!

Has anyone else used this product or can tell me if it's the maltodextrin that's effecting me?

Thanks for any help you can give!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




So why is it they say that Rice Krispies is okay? It has malt flavoring.

Thanks!

Deanna

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A few topics in one post.

Not all malt flavoring has gluten but it usually does. I ALWAYS assume it's made from barley, but in fact you can malt any grain. I can't remember the product, but recently somebody on another forum picked up a product that said "gluten free" and was appalled to see malt flavoring listed. She was getting ready to blast the company but picked up the phone and discovered the flavoring was from malted corn.

I'm not sure who is telling Deanna Rice Krispies is gluten-free. It's not. The malt flavoring is from barley.

As for maltodextrin, I don't worry about it in food made in the U.S. Despite its name, maltodextrin has neither malt nor dextrin in it (just as buckwheat doesn't have wheat).

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ive never heard that Rice Crispies are ok, Ive always known them to contain gluten, along with other "regular" cereals.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I read it in a supposed gluten-free recipe (for Rice Krispie treats), and I also saw it on a "gluten-free shopping list" that I printed off the internet. I never bought them, though, because I saw "malt flavoring" on the label. Maybe I should call the company and find out what kind of malt flavoring it is. I would love to be able to have Rice Krispie treats.

:)

Deanna

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ah... if you implied it from a recipe, it may have been because the person who wrote the recipe assumed that you'd get gluten-free rice crispies. The thing is... Kellog's Rice Crispies (the popular brand with the three little... whatever they are... as a logo) are NOT gluten-free. But there are a number of natural brands of the exact same type of thing that ARE gluten-free, and don't have malt flavoring. (I think they're usually called Crisp Rice, or something, due to trademark restrictions, but it's the same concept of cereal.) These brands you can use to make gluten-free rice crispy treats.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for clearing that up. When someone notes "Rice Krispies" I naturally think of Kellog's Rice Krispies, because it was not clarified. I am new to all this so bear with me...=).

Thanks!

:lol:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought the same thing when I first started out. Just wait... you're going to post a recipe of your own six months from now using a "generic" name, thinking it's obvious! :-) It's all part of the learning (heck, sometims, I think it's just our own little private "language". ;-) )

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to simplify, I wrote to Kellogg's and they told me that NONE of their cereals are gluten-free.

To GinEva; have you considered the possibility that it is something else in the mix causing your bloat? Those instant potato mixes with cheese or sour cream flavorings have many times more lactose in them than a regular glass of milk. Often times I have read the ingredients on one of these to find many different sources of lactose added to it, in the forms of concentrated milk solids, whey, powdered cheese or cream flavorings, lactose sugar etc.

Even people who can tolerate normal, moderate amounts of lactose may have symptoms of lactose intolerance after eating such a concentrated amount of lactose!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,098
    • Total Posts
      920,345
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • My daughter, who is almost 21 and has celiac disease, was diagnosed with Epilepsy a year ago. Hindsight being 20/20, we realized she had been having seizure since she was a teenager but the random passing out and feelings of being 'out of it' were attributed to dehydration or poor nutrition and sleep habits during numerous trips to the emergency room. In our reading about Epilepsy, I have found some mention of celiac and gluten issue connections and even where a strict adherence to a gluten-free diet provided a lot of improve the with frequency and severity of seizures.  I would be interested to know if anyone else shares this experience.
    • I have also reacted to various Planters products, believing them to be safe because gluten is not listed in the allergens but have had almost identical reactions to yours.  It did not occur to me that I might be getting zapped from them until just recently when I ate some of their Salt and Vinegar almonds and became really ill and then recognized that I had reacted to them before. I have notice in the past few months that the 'Hermans' brand nuts, which have never mentioned wheat in their allergens now carries the 'processed in a plant that processes wheat' disclaimer.  It makes me wonder if all nuts are processed in the same manner and if all nuts and nut products should be considered unsafe? I know that I will not trust the Planters brand any longer regardless of whether wheat is listed or not.
    • I've heard some people say that they're gluten free, and some say they're not.. I had a container of planter's cashews that I ate a few days ago and I haven't been feeling that great since then. I thought I was fine, but yesterday I woke up with a headache and was feeling really gassy all day. Then since last night, every once in a while I'll have some stomach cramps. They last for a few minutes and then go away.. that has happened 3 or 4 times since last night. It seems weird that I wouldn't have a reaction right away though.. or at least within a few hours of eating them. I ate some on thursday and on friday, and I didn't really start to feel sick until saturday. It's been a while since I last got glutened though, so maybe my reaction has changed? Or maybe I'm being paranoid and I just ate too many cashews haha. But that's the only thing I've eaten in the past like 2 weeks that was different. Has anyone else had a problem with planter's nuts?
    • Well, a different doc is checking for wheat allergy not the one who ran the celiac test. Interesting about the lyme and ttg iga, I didn't know that.  So much to muddy the waters with her.  She's been treated for lyme for many years but they keep coming back with other tick borne illnesses that may be infecting her.  But since  the testing is so poor and nothing is solid in her testing, I am needing to look at every avenue I can to try to help her.  It's just not adding up. As a young child she had sensory processing disorder, than PANDAS (reaction to strep), then Lyme.  Was gluten free for many years until we added it back in about 4 years ago.  Then 3 months ago started failing fast with psych symptoms of dissociation, anxiety, fears, unwanted laughter, joint pain, random pain, feeling ill after every meal, severe pain after wheat and dairy combo followed by diarrhea.  I hope we get a good GI who will at the very least be willing to rule out celiac as we are running out of ideas.   I hope after all her testing she will be willing to go gluten-free again regardless of what we find, to see if it will help her.                 
    • Great point.  EoE!   http://www.aaaai.org/conditions-and-treatments/related-conditions/eosinophilic-esophagitis
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,131
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Feralgurl
    Joined