Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Gluten In Spices?


  • Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 goddess

 
goddess

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 19 May 2004 - 09:01 PM

Hi, I notice that spices are on the banned list of foods, but what about spices that are ingredients in other foods? Are those safe? Thanks!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 jordanandnadia

 
jordanandnadia

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
 

Posted 19 May 2004 - 09:56 PM

There are all sorts of spices that are gluten-free. McCormicks' pure spices - NOT THE BLENDS are gluten-free, and just check labels and call companies, i know i have a ton of spices, but they're mostly from the UK so i'm not too sure about US spices.

hope this helps
  • 0
Nadia

gluten-free since January 2003

#3 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 19 May 2004 - 10:11 PM

yep, in the US, the vast majority of pure spices I've come across are gluten free, but not all spice blends are - particularly packaged things like "taco seasoning", and the like. in prepared ingredients, "spices" are something that will cause me to not buy the item and call the company, since they _could_ have gluten in them, but very well may not.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 20 May 2004 - 09:47 AM

Spices in foods and spice blends are red flags that you have to check on. But as already said regular single spices are pretty much without exception gluten-free. And with McCormick, you can tell if their blends have gluten just by reading the ingredients.

richard
  • 0

#5 goddess

 
goddess

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 20 May 2004 - 02:49 PM

Thanks! Spices are pretty unavoidable in most packaged foods ... it's looking more and more like I'll have to make most of my own food.
  • 0

#6 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 20 May 2004 - 03:16 PM

You can always check with the company. Many times they ARE gluten free, but just use that label to protect their recipe. But I'm all for cooking from scratch! Food is healthier and tastes better that way! And it's fun!
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#7 lauradawn

 
lauradawn

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 112 posts
 

Posted 20 May 2004 - 07:04 PM

So does that mean that McCormick's red curry blend is gluten-free???? On my product list it specifically says not the curry blend. HOwever, I have called McCormick, and they said that it does not have gluten. I have been using it, but I am still unsure. I am new at this, and still have reactions to things that I havn't quite put my finger on yet. Does anyone know for sure?????
  • 0

#8 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 21 May 2004 - 06:01 AM

If McCormick says it doesn't have gluten I'd most certainly believe them over whatever list it is that you have.

richard
  • 0

#9 ROYAL BLUE

 
ROYAL BLUE

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
 

Posted 21 May 2004 - 07:22 AM

I called them in December, they told me" they were gluten-free and produced on a gluten-free line, BUT, in the new year this may change" You might want to call on this again. In my store, I have noticed new labels on thier spice jars, so maybe it has changed. Keep in mind I am from Canada and do not know if what they told me applies to U.S.

Tracy
  • 0

#10 Guest_aramgard_*

 
Guest_aramgard_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 May 2004 - 02:18 PM

There are recipes for making your own curry spice, try an Indian Cookbook from the library. Also Mrs Dash is gluten free. Believe me I am careful, I got hit by gluten once in chili powder. Shirley
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: