Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

A1 Steak Sauce
0

8 posts in this topic

I have contacted Kraft, but I was wondering if anyone knew offhand if A1 was gluten-free or not?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Yes. Kraft will ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS list gluten-containing ingredients on the label.

I use it all the time with no ill effects, and I'm really sensitive. It makes the dry grilled steaks at restaurants taste better.

ENJOY!!! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I know, it is gluten-free. I eat it on my meat, with none of my glutened reactions.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found this article on the Kraft website a few weeks ago. It has a lot of excellent info regarding Kraft products that you will find helpful...and YES A-1 is gluten free. :o)

http://www.kraftfoods.com/health/articles/...ree_0623031.pdf

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is great news, I love A1!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




beware of hidden ingredients like:

motified food starch

natural flavoring

natural spices

artificial flavoring

SOY (for most of us soy is poison)

www.kraftfoods.com/a1/bn/c_sauces/

I have learned after I have caught several major companies not telling the entire truth. I call them and ask them direct question. What is in the ingredients (above)??? Ask if the machines can be cross contaminated by other products that are run on the same factory lines. This can make you sick. Ask what is in their ingredients are I've listed about.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have contacted Kraft, but I was wondering if anyone knew offhand if A1 was gluten-free or not?

Kraft told me that because of the word SPICE in their ingredients they do not recommend celiacs consume  A1 sauce it contains trace amounts of gluten. I was very sorry to learn of this

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kraft told me that because of the word SPICE in their ingredients they do not recommend celiacs consume  A1 sauce it contains trace amounts of gluten. I was very sorry to learn of this

 

The member you replied to has not been active since 2009, you may not get a response.

 

Colleen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,640
    • Total Posts
      921,549
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • That's great to hear you are feeling better Nightsky.  I really think when our GI systems are in distress already that it doesn't take much to set off symptoms.  Once I eliminated the other foods that cause me symptoms that helped a lot too.  And added some extra vitamin D to my diet and selenium. Many of us have developed reactions to other foods besides gluten and need to avoid them to keep symptoms at bay.  For me nightshades, carrots, soy, dairy, and celery all cause symptoms.  It took me awhile to figure out all those food culprits, but it made a big difference getting them out of my diet. But we are all individuals, and our bodies react individually.  So you may or may not have additional food intolerances develop. Celiac is one of those life journey things and we learn as we go.  Just keep the bottle of aspirin handy!
    • I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site: http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/ But it is in the US. I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free.  I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.
    • You should never have cut out gluten until you had the biopsy done. It's much worse to have to go back on after you've been off gluten for a while. There's no way I could ever do the gluten challenge after being off gluten for even a month because my reactions got so dramatically worse.  Stress definately can trigger celiac- before I was diagnosed - it got the worst after surgery and after a stressful time planning my daughters wedding. 
    • Hi not diagnosed celiac, Welcome to the forum! Your doctor should be sent to remedial celiac disease training.  Since that probably won't happen, I suggest you find a new doctor.  He doesn't know what he's doing when it comes to diagnosing celiac disease. You should not have gone gluten-free before completing all celiac disease testing.  The testing for celiac disease depends on the immune reaction being active.  Removing gluten before testing removes the antigen that causes the immune system to react, and lowers the chances of getting a correct test result dramatically.  The University of Chicago celiac disease center recommends: ******************************************** http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/what-is-a-gluten-challenge/ Prior to blood testing we recommend 12 weeks of eating gluten. Prior to an endoscopic biopsy we recommend 2 weeks of eating gluten. In the case of a severe reaction to gluten, a medical professional may opt to shorten the 12-week challenge and move immediately to an endoscopic biopsy. May, 2013 ******************************************** So you will need to go back to eating gluten before your endoscopy.  That may cause worse symptoms than before when you were eating gluten.  So it would have been better to do all testing before going gluten-free. Can you search for a celiac disease support group in your area?  They exist in many parts of the USA and world.  They can be a good place to get a knowledgeable doctor recommendation.  There is also a doctors subsection of this forum where you can search to see if any doctors in your area were recommended.
    • Hi All, I'm new to this and very confused! I have Lea & Perrins WC sauce, it lists it's first ingredient as Malt Vinegar.  I have the Coeliac Society of Ireland Food List 2015 here, and it says "All Vinegars are Gluten Free including Malt Vinegar." Doesn't that mean that L&P Worcestershire sauce is safe?   Their website states " Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce. " I'm cooking for my coeliac niece, can't afford to make a mistake!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,643
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    moojoo
    Joined