This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Kid's Antibiotics

ashlees-mom

ashlees-mom Rookie

Hi, I am still pretty new to this, so when I took my daughter to the doctor the other evening thinking she had Strep, I was wondering how I make sure the prescription meds don't contain gluten. Will the pharacist know, or will I still have to talk to the manufacturer, and then do you call the doctor and ask for a new prescription if it does and start all over? Luckily she didn't have anything but a virus, but it did make me aware that I should know how to do all this before it comes up for real! Has anyone run into problems with the common children's antibiotics, like Ammoxicilin? What about switching to generic when available? Thanks so much!

Michelle

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

angel-jd1 Community Regular

The way that I do things is to get the manufacter name , drug name, and strength from the pharmacy. I then go home and do a search on the net for a phone number to call. I call and talk to a pharmacist within the company. They will be able to tell you, or should be able to transfer you to a place within the company that does.

Do not expect your pharmacist to know the ingredients of every medication. That goes far beyond what they should have to do. Do the footwork on your own and it will be more reliable!!

I have had no problems getting answers from drug companies by using this method. Best wishes.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

plantime Contributor