5 replies to this topic

#1 ashlee's_mom

ashlee's_mom

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 26 May 2004 - 01:11 PM

Hi, I am still pretty new to this, so when I took my daughter to the doctor the other evening thinking she had Strep, I was wondering how I make sure the prescription meds don't contain gluten. Will the pharacist know, or will I still have to talk to the manufacturer, and then do you call the doctor and ask for a new prescription if it does and start all over? Luckily she didn't have anything but a virus, but it did make me aware that I should know how to do all this before it comes up for real! Has anyone run into problems with the common children's antibiotics, like Ammoxicilin? What about switching to generic when available? Thanks so much!

Michelle

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 angel_jd1

angel_jd1

Gluten Free Goddess

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,053 posts

Posted 26 May 2004 - 01:47 PM

The way that I do things is to get the manufacter name , drug name, and strength from the pharmacy. I then go home and do a search on the net for a phone number to call. I call and talk to a pharmacist within the company. They will be able to tell you, or should be able to transfer you to a place within the company that does.

Do not expect your pharmacist to know the ingredients of every medication. That goes far beyond what they should have to do. Do the footwork on your own and it will be more reliable!!

I have had no problems getting answers from drug companies by using this method. Best wishes.

-Jessica :rolleyes:
Jessica
Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!
Kansas

#3 plantime

plantime

My two handsome grandsons

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,692 posts

Posted 27 May 2004 - 05:47 AM