Jump to content





   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Hams For Easter


  • Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 jknnej

 
jknnej

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
 

Posted 12 April 2006 - 04:27 PM

I'm sorry if this was already posted, but if it was, I couldn't find the thread. Anyway, does anyone know of gluten free hams? My mother said she just called honey baked ham store and they are not gluten-free.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 angel_jd1

 
angel_jd1

    Gluten Free Goddess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,053 posts
 

Posted 12 April 2006 - 04:38 PM

Hormel has some gluten free hams. Here is the link to their gluten-free list.

http://www.hormel.co...sp?catitemid=41


-Jessica :rolleyes:
  • 0
Jessica
Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!
Kansas

#3 wolfie

 
wolfie

    Kim

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
 

Posted 12 April 2006 - 04:39 PM

Hormel makes some that are gluten-free...they are listed on their website www.hormel.com

You can order the Honeybaked ham without the glaze (the glaze has wheat starch in it), but I would call and speak with the manager and make sure that they can do it.
  • 0
Kim

"Life isn't about how to survive the storm
but how to dance in the rain."


Positive bloodwork 1/9/06
gluten-free since 1/12/06
Very positive dietary response


DS (12 years old)
Biopsy 7/7/06 ~ Diagnosed Celiac 7/12/2006
gluten-free since 7/15/2006

DD (almost 6)
HLA-DQ2 positive
Celiac Bloodwork negative 2 different times
Still eating gluten for now.

#4 Guest_nini_*

 
Guest_nini_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 12 April 2006 - 06:36 PM

my mom always gets our hams at Sam's club... she always makes sure there is nothing added and she bakes it herself and makes a honey glaze from scratch. Always very yummy!
  • 0

#5 AmandaD

 
AmandaD

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
 

Posted 12 April 2006 - 07:02 PM

Boar's Head has an excellent holiday ham I get at our local Italian deli.
  • 0
Amanda
Positive TTG 9/05
Positive endoscopy 9/05
Doing well with "Sprue"

#6 jerseyangel

 
jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,939 posts
 

Posted 13 April 2006 - 03:15 AM

Cooks Hams are a Con Agra product--they will clearly list any gluten in the ingredients. They're also delicious!
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#7 Green12

 
Green12

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,299 posts
 

Posted 13 April 2006 - 08:59 AM

As far as hams from the health food stores, Applegate Farms and Wellshire Farms are suppose to have a allergy information key code on the packaging- "gluten-free" for gluten free.
  • 0

#8 wolfie

 
wolfie

    Kim

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 752 posts
 

Posted 13 April 2006 - 02:39 PM

Need to update what a said yesterday about Honeybaked Hams....appears that broncobux called (posted in another post) and the CAN NOT be made without the glaze, therefore, NOT gluten-free. Sorry for any confusion.
  • 0
Kim

"Life isn't about how to survive the storm
but how to dance in the rain."


Positive bloodwork 1/9/06
gluten-free since 1/12/06
Very positive dietary response


DS (12 years old)
Biopsy 7/7/06 ~ Diagnosed Celiac 7/12/2006
gluten-free since 7/15/2006

DD (almost 6)
HLA-DQ2 positive
Celiac Bloodwork negative 2 different times
Still eating gluten for now.

#9 Green12

 
Green12

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,299 posts
 

Posted 13 April 2006 - 05:00 PM

I made an error in my earlier post, the key code should read gluten-free for gluten free.

Beeler's is also another company at the health food stores that have hams, I think they list allergens on the packaging as well.
  • 0

#10 kactuskandee

 
kactuskandee

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
 

Posted 13 April 2006 - 07:37 PM

I'm glad this subject was brought up. I just bought a Farmer John ham, cheap. I went right away and looked at the label, which was under the price tag, and it clearly stated soy sauce made with wheat. I'm taking it back!!!

Kandee
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: