This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Trying To Figure This All Out

lgreg

lgreg Newbie

In my journey to figure out what is going on with me, I came across this site.

After more than four months of feeling totally horrible, and trying on my own to get healthy, I gave in and went to the doctor last week, (I am a certified doctor-phobe). This is a new doctor that I have only seen once. I had my laundery list of symptoms.....weight gain, bloating, terrible gas, bowel issues, headaches, dry skin, always cold, achy achy achy muscles all the time, sleep irregularity, total fatigue, and well, yeah, depression cause I feel like crap! I left the office almost in tears, felt totally dismissed by her and frustrated. I went back first thing the next morning to have my fasting bloodwork done, and waited on pins and needles for Monday to get the results. Was told Mond. afternoon, that she would call when she had the results, and then got them in the mail the next day!!! She hasn't even followed up with a call.....even though she told me she wanted an immediate colonoscopy scheduled if the labs were normal, which they were. To my poor husband's dismay, I feel now I will just forge ahead on my own and try and figure this out. Would it seem appropriate to try a gluten free diet on my own to see if I feel better? I don't really know what to do next, I just know I feel worse almost every day. I am about to enter a very busy time professionally, and need to get my groove back on....like now!

Help!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guest cassidy