16 replies to this topic

#1 hstevens

hstevens

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 07:18 PM

I am fairly new to this and am wondering if it's ok to buy deli meats. Even though a brand is gluten-free, what about cross contamination of the slicer? I've asked the deliworker to wipe the machine before slicing but I have a sinking feeling that's not good enough. Are the pre-packaged sliced meats safe? How else can you but this stuff?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Moongirl

Moongirl

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts

Posted 14 April 2006 - 05:07 AM

I am fairly new to this and am wondering if it's ok to buy deli meats. Even though a brand is gluten-free, what about cross contamination of the slicer? I've asked the deliworker to wipe the machine before slicing but I have a sinking feeling that's not good enough. Are the pre-packaged sliced meats safe? How else can you but this stuff?

Your sinking feeling is probably right. I dont buy from the deli counters anymore. Honestly the pre-packaged ones I have tried are better then some of the ones from the deli. Hormel has really good ones and are labeled gluten-free, and so does Hillshire Farms, there is Sara Lee, AppleGates.....there is a whole lot that you can get pre-packaged that are gluten-free. If you do a search on the forums for deli, Im sure you will get a lot of results to search from.
Dx & gluten-free since 12/09/05

Positive blood and endo test
Boston, MA

What doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger

#3 par18

par18

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 434 posts

Posted 14 April 2006 - 05:13 PM

I've been on the diet about a year and have never asked to clean slicer. I have had no problems. Usually get Boar's Head brand meats and cheese. Maybe I'm just lucky because I do have celiac disease.

Tom

#4 Lisa

Lisa

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 14 April 2006 - 05:28 PM