Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kraft - Catalina Dressing?
0

13 posts in this topic

Yes, I know Kraft is cool company, and I know you can just read the ingredients... but somthing got me durring what should be a gluten-free and DF Easter meal... and I was wondering if maybe I am missing something in the indgredients since this was about the only "new" product that I can think of. Anyone know if this si gluten-free and DF from experence?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I'm not sure about the dairy part, but it is definitely gluten free. I use it all the time.......

Karen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, I know Kraft is cool company, and I know you can just read the ingredients... but somthing got me durring what should be a gluten-free and DF Easter meal... and I was wondering if maybe I am missing something in the indgredients since this was about the only "new" product that I can think of. Anyone know if this si gluten-free and DF from experence?

Just a thought....because I got sick when I *knew* I shouldn't....are you sure it was a gluten reaction, and not a reaction to bad lettuce or a stomach bug? Maybe you got the brain fog or some other symptom that you KNOW has to do with gluten, but I just want to pose that question. I am so quick to blame gluten, but I think I actually got sick from bad lettuce last week....and all of the work I do to avoid gluten!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Catalina Dressing should be dairy free. This link says that the dressing is gluten and dairy free, but the list is Canadian: http://www.kraftcanada.com/assets/docs/KLG_all.pdf

Okay thanks Carrie! SO it was either CC someplace, or unrelated to what I ate. Gotta love these easy defititive answers! :)

BTW Carrier, if you have tiem can you pm me or post a list of items that should be dairy free (like lays stax) that you react to? Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Just tossing out ideas here, but... I made a totally safe easter meal and still felt kind of sick...

It's because I ate too much!

I often forget that I am human and will still feel sick from overeating :rolleyes:

I'm guessing you had a lot of casein free/gluten-free candy that day too? Maybe it was the combination and quantity of food that didn't agree with you...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have suspected Lays Stax and Lays Regular chips and possibly lundberg rice chips, although I'm not sure if my reactions to the lundberg rice chips were from gluten or dairy.

Some mistakes that I have made are eating dairy in restaurants and drinking wine with casein! I recently got sick from drinking wine that I believe contained casein.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just tossing out ideas here, but... I made a totally safe easter meal and still felt kind of sick...

It's because I ate too much!

I often forget that I am human and will still feel sick from overeating :rolleyes:

I'm guessing you had a lot of casein free/gluten-free candy that day too? Maybe it was the combination and quantity of food that didn't agree with you...

Nope, ever since I broke the carb addiction yearts ago doing aktins not realy eaten much candy at all. Just does not apeal to me any more. Im droping wieht like crazy! None of my pants fit sicne going casien free.. this is not good, I was *at* my target wieght.. so cant be eating to much.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have suspected Lays Stax and Lays Regular chips and possibly lundberg rice chips, although I'm not sure if my reactions to the lundberg rice chips were from gluten or dairy.

Some mistakes that I have made are eating dairy in restaurants and drinking wine with casein! I recently got sick from drinking wine that I believe contained casein.

WINE???? I did notknow that wine would have casien in it??? (I dont drink wine, so I guess I dont care... but its used in cooking alot!)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wine? How would wine get casein in it? I thought wine was fermented fruit juice. How does milk protien get into it?<----showing my ignorance in how wine is made!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Wine? How would wine get casein in it? I thought wine was fermented fruit juice. How does milk protien get into it?<----showing my ignorance in how wine is made!

http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:7aXy9c...&ct=clnk&celiac

"Isinglass, made from fish swim bladders has been used for centuries, but today many more fining agents are available to the wine-maker, most commonly bentonite and casein."

"It's possible that if filtration isn't properly carried out then some aluminium could remain in the wine. Casein, a milk by-product, is also commonly used and its worth noting that many people have an allergy to casein."

http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:nTw62t...&ct=clnk&celiac

"Wine! Casein is one of six substances that may be used to clarify wine. (Egg white is another.) If you call the vintner, ask if casein is used in the "fining process"."

http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:Ph8hic...&ct=clnk&celiac disease=19

"Some wines are clarified using battery egg albumen, an agent more commonly used for red wines, or casein (milk protein). "

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, I know Kraft is cool company, and I know you can just read the ingredients... but somthing got me durring what should be a gluten-free and DF Easter meal... and I was wondering if maybe I am missing something in the indgredients since this was about the only "new" product that I can think of. Anyone know if this si gluten-free and DF from experence?

Didn't you eat some wheat cereal or something? Could that be what got you? (Sorry I don't think I read that whole thread so I could be missing something). But could you have had a delayed reaction to that? Sometimes when I eat something I'm intolerant to, I don't react right away to that specific food. Instead, I start reacting randomly to foods that should be perfectly safe. Just a thought.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thanks for the link to the list, there are some gluten-free and dairy free things I had no idea I could have :D you mentioned its canadian list, does that mean I should not depend on it? I'm shopping tomorrow and wanted to buy some of the stuff on the list

thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,640
    • Total Posts
      921,548
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site: http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/ But it is in the US. I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free.  I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.
    • You should never have cut out gluten until you had the biopsy done. It's much worse to have to go back on after you've been off gluten for a while. There's no way I could ever do the gluten challenge after being off gluten for even a month because my reactions got so dramatically worse.  Stress definately can trigger celiac- before I was diagnosed - it got the worst after surgery and after a stressful time planning my daughters wedding. 
    • Hi not diagnosed celiac, Welcome to the forum! Your doctor should be sent to remedial celiac disease training.  Since that probably won't happen, I suggest you find a new doctor.  He doesn't know what he's doing when it comes to diagnosing celiac disease. You should not have gone gluten-free before completing all celiac disease testing.  The testing for celiac disease depends on the immune reaction being active.  Removing gluten before testing removes the antigen that causes the immune system to react, and lowers the chances of getting a correct test result dramatically.  The University of Chicago celiac disease center recommends: ******************************************** http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/what-is-a-gluten-challenge/ Prior to blood testing we recommend 12 weeks of eating gluten. Prior to an endoscopic biopsy we recommend 2 weeks of eating gluten. In the case of a severe reaction to gluten, a medical professional may opt to shorten the 12-week challenge and move immediately to an endoscopic biopsy. May, 2013 ******************************************** So you will need to go back to eating gluten before your endoscopy.  That may cause worse symptoms than before when you were eating gluten.  So it would have been better to do all testing before going gluten-free. Can you search for a celiac disease support group in your area?  They exist in many parts of the USA and world.  They can be a good place to get a knowledgeable doctor recommendation.  There is also a doctors subsection of this forum where you can search to see if any doctors in your area were recommended.
    • Hi All, I'm new to this and very confused! I have Lea & Perrins WC sauce, it lists it's first ingredient as Malt Vinegar.  I have the Coeliac Society of Ireland Food List 2015 here, and it says "All Vinegars are Gluten Free including Malt Vinegar." Doesn't that mean that L&P Worcestershire sauce is safe?   Their website states " Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce. " I'm cooking for my coeliac niece, can't afford to make a mistake!
    • I get these crazy cravings for some things I can not eat anymore. Not only am I diagnosed with celiac but I also have a allergy to corn, olives, sesame, peanuts, and intolerance to yeast, soy, dairy, and a very low tolerance for carbs/sugars, Top it off with I can not digest meats or egg yolks, they just give me the burps and come up later.
        To deal with these I find myself turning to Republic of Teas (They have a great desert tea line up all certified gluten-free) and sweetening them with monk fruit extract, or stevia. And I find myself making Puddings bases that I use for shakes, dips, and ice-cream for meals. The puddings are normally a blend of cashew, or almond milk with a thickening agent like agar agar, pectin, or knoxx gelatin, blended with a sweetener like xylitol, swerve, stevia, monk fruit or a combination. And flavored with Lor Ann Oils (all gluten-free certified and you can find the kosher ones listed as such) super strength flavors or fountain syrups to match something I can not eat normally a combination of two flavors (Strawberry Cheesecake, Banana and Carmel, Cookies & Cream, etc) Then I add a fat that matches best, like almond butter, cashew butter, hemp butter, ground flax seed, coconut flour, chocolate, Pumpkin seed butter or a combination) These bases are normally blended up and consumed with 1-2 scoops of protein powder and eaten with steamed vegges as a side dip or loaded into a ice cream maker for a desert after my meals.      Also found myself making desert soups....like a pumpkin soup that taste like pumpkin pie. I am sure we all have our little quirks but this is one of mine for getting that sweet craving taken care of. Most premade items are off my list due to the allergies and it seems most companies use the oils, starches I am allergic to as non stick or thickening agents, Even the semi safe ones tend to put way to much sugars in them and I find myself only being able to nibble . There is also my little binge issues with almonds, pumpkin seeds, and, cocoa but that was explained to me as normal And on my most craving for peanuts I have found sancha inchi powder to work great, The Powder itself taste like the girl scout peanut butter cookie sandwich from my childhood, And is great mixed with a bit of almond milk into a butter or used in baking and smoothies. Before this I have been making Artisan blends of almond butter for years and even made a market selling them to pay  for my own consumption. Baked goods wise I have a bunch of recipes I make for others and sell at markets and this allows me to nibble on a sample to check it, as most contain a bean or gluten-free Harvest Oats/Flour in them and the carbs from that and the coconut sugars bother me. Still helps with cravings there, I only have 2 recipes that sell good and are safe for me to eat full servings of but are so expensive as they use almond and coconut flours, low sugars/xylitol and are paleo that I only can afford to make them once a month. Posting to hear about some odd and out there ways others deal with substitutions and cravings. Please do not bash mine as odd as they might be as they keep me from going crazy. (Yes I know DROP THE OATS, fact is I only get them when tasting stuff and they are gluten-free Harvest, the only ones I have never gotten glutend with)  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,643
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    moojoo
    Joined