This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Fast Food Places...subway?...

liveforlove

liveforlove Newbie

Heyy. im new at this. im going to go see my nutritionist (if thats how you spell it?) next month. but for now im kind of winging it on my own... i was wondering if i could still eat subway??...if the white bread has any wheat or gluten in it?.. and if you guys know of any other places i could eat. ?

thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

jerseyangel Proficient

Hi welcome in! I take it that you are diagnosed with Celiac or are gluten intolerant. If so, you can not have anything containing wheat, barley, rye or oats. That would include all "regular" breads--like the kind at Subway. Celiacs can eat breads made from other grains like rice, buckwheat, tapioca. You can find those in health food stores and places like Whole Foods. It sounds like you are starting at square one. It is important to read the labels of all packaged foods before eating them. A better idea for now would be to eat whole, naturally gluten-free foods. Plain meats, fish, poultry, veggies, fruits, plain nuts, oils, peanut butter are safe. A good book for a someone new to the gluten-free lifestyle is Wheat Free Worry Free by Dana Korn. I would recommend you to read it. Here is a list of allowed foods:

https://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-45106469953.f0

Feel free to post with questions anytime--good luck! :)