Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Does All Pancake Syrup Have Gluten In It?
0

23 posts in this topic

I read to stay away from syrup. I get a little reaction from my sugar free pancake sryup. Aunt Jemima. Is it gluten free or are there any syrups that are gluten free? I'm confused!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

100% pure maple syrup is gluten-free (all it is is maple syrup). If there are other ingredients involved, that could be a different story. Stick with the pure stuff if you can and you'll be fine.

I think there's a really long thread on this somewhere. I"ll try to find it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yep, stick to pure maple syrup and you're good. I prefer to use fruit preserves on my pancakes personally, or just plain fresh chopped fruit! :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aunt Jemima Original is gluten-free, not sure about the Sugar Free version. If it is, it could be the artificial sweetner you are reacting to. I know that I have a problem with splenda and nutrasweet.

I am going to give 100% pure maple syrup a try once I run out of this bottle of AJ.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use pure maple syrup, too. I use it as a sweetner on other things in addition to pancakes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




All Kroger store brand pancake syurps are gluten-free as per a call to them last month. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

speaking of pancakes is there any mixs out there besides online that are gluten free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten Free Pantry has a really yummy one, but there was a thread while back where a couple of people posted their own recipes for pancake mix--that would probably be a heckuva lot cheaper.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use Aunt Jemimma and pure maple syrup. There are quite a few that are gluten free:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
speaking of pancakes is there any mixs out there besides online that are gluten free?

I'm not sure where you're located, but I get Gluten Free Pantry at my local Acme--their pancake mix is really good. My non gluten-free husband likes them, too! Also, Wegman's Pancake Syrup is gluten-free, and says so right on the label. (My husband actually likes it better than my pure maple syrup). Go figure :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm not sure where you're located, but I get Gluten Free Pantry at my local Acme--their pancake mix is really good. My non gluten-free husband likes them, too! Also, Wegman's Pancake Syrup is gluten-free, and says so right on the label. (My husband actually likes it better than my pure maple syrup). Go figure :D

I have a jar of mrs butterworth here. Nothing outstandingly bad on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My syrup is both gluten-free and sugar free: Cozy Cottage is the brand name. I either got it at Walmart or Krogers.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to the companies more than a year ago, Aunt Jemima is gluten-free, but Log Cabin (except Country Kitchen) and Mrs. Butterworth's have barley in them. Remember that barley does not specifically have to be listed.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
According to the companies more than a year ago, Aunt Jemima is gluten-free, but Log Cabin (except Country Kitchen) and Mrs. Butterworth's have barley in them. Remember that barley does not specifically have to be listed.

richard

Richard, what do you mean? Do you mean on the bold May contain line? Doesn't it HAVE to be in the ingredient list, just not in the "may contain"?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Richard, what do you mean? Do you mean on the bold May contain line? Doesn't it HAVE to be in the ingredient list, just not in the "may contain"?

Neither - barley can be hidden in 'natural flavors', doesn't have to go on the 'may contain' line (which I think is optional anyway), and doesn't have to be listed at all. The allergen labeling law was for the eight major food allergens, and barley is not one of them. They are wheat, dairy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, eggs, and soy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got this response when asking about Mrs. Butterworth's Syrup--

To: jerseyangel

May 15, 2006

E-Mail Address: jerseyangel

Dear Ms.

Thank you for taking the time to inquire about Pinnacle Foods

Corporation

and the products we produce which might be gluten-free. We appreciate

your interest in our company and our products.

At the present time, Vlasic® Pickles, Sauerkraut and Peppers and Log

Cabin® Country Kitchen syrup are gluten-free. The vinegar used in

production of these items is corn-based, rather than wheat-based.

Other

items in our product lines (which include Swanson® frozen foods, Mrs.

Butterworth's, and Open Pit® barbecue sauces) generally contain

wheat-based ingredients in the form of modified food starches and other

thickening agents.

While our manufacturing facilities follow generally accepted good

manufacturing practices, we do not have the flexibility of segregating

production lines for the exclusive production of wheat-free items. We

recommend that you review the list of ingredients on the package prior

to

purchase to assure that you are meeting your specific dietary needs.

Since

we are constantly improving our products, ingredients may change from

time

to time.

We appreciate the time you've taken to share your specific concerns

with

us, because it helps us to become aware of consumer needs. We hope you

find this information helpful.

Sincerely,

Darlene Peters

Consumer Response Representative

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Neither - barley can be hidden in 'natural flavors', doesn't have to go on the 'may contain' line (which I think is optional anyway), and doesn't have to be listed at all. The allergen labeling law was for the eight major food allergens, and barley is not one of them. They are wheat, dairy, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, eggs, and soy.

Aha! Thanks, I always call in regards to "natural flavours" but I wasn't sure if that's what Richard meant. We don't have the same FALCPA (?) laws as you do up in here in the Great Sunny North. (It's not white right now) I thought the whole point of the new labelling law was for the "may contain" line, or is it that all top 8 allergens are labelled using the name of the actual allergen. Are they in bold?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pure maple. Don't get sugar free as it most likely has aspartame. Pure syrup taste way better anyway and doesnt have that chemical after taste. it is about $5 a bottle though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I grew up with the pure maple syrup, and I gotta say, when you're used to the pure stuff and then try the Mrs. Butterworth's or the Log Cabin, the chemical aftertaste is obvious--and makes you wonder why anyone buys them (okay, I know, I know, they're cheaper!).

Also, they're full of high-fructose corn syrup, which, despite massive advertising to convince us how good they are, raise your blood sugar but do not signal your pancreas to produce insulin--definite link with diabetes there, which is one of those autoimmune diseases we're at risk for.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The last time I read a Mrs. Butterworth's label, it listed Barley in parentheses under "Natural Flavors." While I appreciate the clear labeling on that bottle, I know not everyone is that good about putting Barley in the ingredients list. So I just avoid all artificial pancake syrups, and stick to pure maple syrup.

Maple syrup is not very expensive at Trader Joe's or at Costco. It can cost a fortune in other stores, for some reason.

I have liked all the pancake mixes I've tried so far... which I know have been Trader Joe's and Bob's Red Mill, and maybe Pamela's? I haven't done a comparison of them yet to pick a favorite.

I also like Trader Joe's frozen gluten-free toaster pancakes. In fact, I think I'll go make some of those with peanut butter for lunch (makes a great PB sandwich!).

-Elizabeth

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I grew concerned after reading Richard's comments on Log Cabin because I had read that they were gluten free at another location. That is what I have been using daily for my very, very celiac toddler. She has shown no signs of reaction (and she is very sensitive) I immediately wrote to Log Cabin telling them that my celiac daughter uses their product and I needed confirmation and this is what came back to me within 24 hours:

Thank you for taking the time to email Consumer Insights.

We are always grateful when loyal consumers such as you take the time to

communicate their experience with us. It gives us great pride to have the

opportunity to interact with the individuals who use our products.

There is no gluten in the Log Cabin Butter Flavored Syrup, in LC Original,

LC Lite or LC Sugar Free syrups. Log Cabin Country Kitchen syrups are

also gluten free.

The caramel color used in LC original syrup does not contain any gluten

ingredients; product is 100% caramel color.

Sincerely,

Phallen Bischer

Consumer Insights Representative

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

speaking of pancakes is there any mixs out there besides online that are gluten free?

I am a HUGE fan of the Bob's Red Mill pancake mix. So far that's my favorite. I really can't even tell a difference between that and the "usual" brands as far as flavor goes! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This thread is from 2006, with a few updates in early 2009. Please be aware that gluten-free status information in old posts may no longer be correct, as ingredients change.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,639
    • Total Posts
      918,434
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      DH is celiac disease that appears on the skin (gluten triggered).  It does not appear when you are consuming dairy, which sounds like a separate issue for you.   A DH biopsy requires active lesions (new/fresh) from consuming gluten.  So, if you want to be tested via a skin biopsy you must go back on gluten.  Finding a dermatologist who knows exactly how to biopsy for DH is often difficult.  Be sure your Derm is knowledable and has biopsied for DH before. Why no endoscopy for now?  I bet your GI  knows that your insurance will deny the endoscopy.  After all, you tested negative to the blood panel.  Your GI should not even ordered the blood panel knowing that you had been gluten free for months.  You have to be consuming gluten daily for 8 to 12 weeks for the blood test to be accurate.   Did you ever test positive?  Why did your primary diagnose you?  Having the gene just means you can develop celiac disease.  Some 30% of the population carries the genes.  The gene test should only be used to help rule out celiac disease.  
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      No one can say exactly how long you might be able to get a positive dh biopsy after having been gluten free as long as you have been. The Chicago Celiac Disease Center says this: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/im-scheduled-to-have-a-skin-biopsy-to-screen-for-celiac-disease-should-i-maintain-a-gluten-containing-diet-similar-to-those-who-are-being-screened-via-blood-or-intestinal-biopsy/ http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/what-is-a-gluten-challenge/ You said you had a flare of the plaque psoriasis -- that is NOT dh so why do you think the dh biopsy will show positive? Testing positive for the celiac genes does not mean you have celiac disease. 30+% of the population have the celiac genes but only very, very small fraction of those people do or will present with celiac disease. The gene tests are only used to rule OUT celiac NOT to diagnose it. Frankly, I can understand why your GI does not put any stock in your Primary doc's thinking you have celiac disease. A positive celiac gene and the boils in your armpits which the GI never saw and were never biopsied for dh but they resolved on a gluten free diet and so did your plaque psoriasis. That's all the GI has to go on. I don't know why you are pushing an endoscopy. If you've been eating strictly gluten free then an endoscopic biopsy for celiac will be negative.  Your PCP should have done a celiac blood panel on you back when you were still eating gluten rather than dx you based on the celiac gene you tested positive for.
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      I've been gluten free for a year now and my gastro wants to wait for the endocopy until I'm eligible for the colonoscopy when I turn 50 later this year. I don't think she believes I have celiac, even though I tested positive for one of the genes associated with celiac and my primary has diagnosed me as having celiac. The gluten sensitivity blood tests came back negative, of course, since I was gluten free for 9 months at that time. Why is she waiting? At any rate, My digestive system has improved greatly, but when I reintroduced non fat Greek yogurt in my diet, the plaques psoriasis returned on my elbows. My primary believes it is dermatitis herpetiformis (as well as I, since before going gluten free, I used to get boils in my armpits) and I'm scheduled for a skin biopsy in 3 weeks. However, I eliminated dairy from my diet 4 weeks ago and the plaques psoriasis is healing like it did when I eliminated gluten from my diet a year ago. If the scar is reduced to eczema, does that mean there still are IGA deposits in my skin? I don't want to resume dairy since I experienced a cross reaction to the casein in cheese and found lactose was on that same list. So my question is, how long do the granular IGA deposits remain in the skin in order to have a valid skin biopsy test performed for dermatitis herpetiformis? Since it takes 1-2 years for dermatitis herpetiformis to heal on a gluten free diet and I just had a recent flare up, can I continue on my dairy free diet or should I resume eating non fat Greek yogurt for the next 3 weeks just for this skin biopsy?
    • Celiac Night Vision
      Thanks Cristiana. It was Mistyx7 and night driving. Migraine type is very personal but does not appear to be closely connected to celiac or my peculiar scotomas. If you think going gluten-free has improved it that deserves a separate topic!
    • Burning Sensation
      The last post was from 2011.   if you can eat a regular pizza crust with no issue, then gluten isn't your problem.  You might want to look for something else.  The amount of gluten in a beer or fryer cc is very very small compared to eating a pizza crust.   I am assuming you do not have Celiac disease.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,732
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    SueJ
    Joined