Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

M&M's Candy
0

33 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if M&M's milk chocolate candies are gluten free. I noticed on the ingredients it says Dextrin.

also, are the peanut M&M's gluten free.

thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

M&M's are my choice of desert. Enjoy.

Lisa

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only M & M's that ever had gluten in them were the crispy ones--and I believe they have been discontinued. As Lisa said, enjoy! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Patty,

You are always there to give uplifting comments to everyone. I'm glad that you are....always there. :)

Lisa

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Patty,

You are always there to give uplifting comments to everyone. I'm glad that you are....always there. :)

Lisa

What a sweet thing to say, Lisa. How did you know that was just what I needed to hear right about now? I'm glad that you're here! ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hope you're feeling ok. In about three weeks no one will hear from me. June 10 is the wedding date, so I will be having stress attachs in other places.

Keep on Patty, you do good work here and always make everyone feel better then when they posted.

xx00 Lisa

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Patti and Lisa,

Your both dear 'ones' on the forum.

We need you both.

and yes, i'm watching Grey's :lol: It's comercial time. :lol:

judy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Patti and Lisa,

Your both dear 'ones' on the forum.

We need you both.

and yes, i'm watching Grey's :lol: It's comercial time. :lol:

judy

I agree and include you too Judy!!! :) You all three are a comfort/help to so many people on here!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks so much for your help!! It's good to know I can still eat some M&M's!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
M&M's are my choice of desert. Enjoy.

Lisa

Ditto! My husband and I played poker with M&M's tonight. I ate my "chips" when I won!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess I'm confused...I thought Dextrin was on the "no-no list?" The last M & M's I looked at for my daughter have Dextrin listed boldly in the ingredients' listing. Do we know what kind of dextrin it is and that is why they are thought to be okay?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Perhaps you were thinking of Maltdextrin....key word malt. (but not 100% possitive on that, so don't rely on my info)...No....... Maltdextrin is ok, but Malt is not. That was one of my early facts. After a year, sometimes I forget what I have learned and have to do it over again. Repetitive, repetitive, repetitive is truely my way of life.

I go through the Delfi List about once a week just to refresh myself or I get slack and make some mistakes.

I DO know that M& Ms are wonderfully gluten free, except for the crispy ones, as stated.

Lisa

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dextrin is listed in Bette Hagman's cookbooks as something to avoid...it can be made from rice, etc., so if it's not specified we are to assume that it's made from wheat. M&M's milk chocolate candies have dextrin listed clearly on the ingredients...I just bought these 2 days ago. So...who's right? Maltodextrin is made from cornstarch so I know that's safe. What's the delphi list?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My husband called the company. M&M's are NOT given in their list of gluten-free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

M&M's are definitely gluten-free, except for the crispy ones, which I don't think they even make anymore. There was a thread a while back about the m&m's not showing up on the phone gluten-free list, and there was some glitch or something.

Also, I'm pretty sure M&M's/Mars clearly lists gluten on the label.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Dextrin is listed in Bette Hagman's cookbooks as something to avoid...it can be made from rice, etc., so if it's not specified we are to assume that it's made from wheat. M&M's milk chocolate candies have dextrin listed clearly on the ingredients...I just bought these 2 days ago. So...who's right? Maltodextrin is made from cornstarch so I know that's safe. What's the delphi list?

So is the dextrin in M&Ms from rice? I'm allgeric to rice but LOVE M&Ms (actually all choc.).

Have a good day...

LyndaK

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's my question...what is the source of the dextrin in M&M's? Everyone is telling me that they're gluten-free but no one is giving me any factual information about the source of the dextrin listed on the ingredients. I'm not sure when I can ignore the ingredients' listing - like I'm told to do with the m&m's - and when I can't. I would think that if everyone can eat m&ms' without getting sick that the dextrin must be from corn or rice, etc., but not wheat. I just need concrete evidence before I can give them to my daughter without feeling guilty. I have a call in to the company (not just getting their gluten-free list of products that are given on a recording on the phone) asking them to confirm for sure whether m&m's are gluten free or not. Can anyone out there confirm the source of dextrin in m&m's?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know the source, but i am deathly allergic to wheat and before the soy and corn came out i would never get sick from them, so i am positive they are not from wheat, not sure what the source is though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I read somewhere they are gluten-free and since reading that I have had a bag a day of the peanut M&M's and have had no issues (other than weight gain)!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've also heard that M&M's are gluten-free. I eat about a bag a day and I have had no ill effects. Also I wanted to add that there is a new M&M. It's to promote the Pirates of the Carribbean movie and they're white chocolate M&M's. OMG they're heavenly!!! They only come out in the Large bag, but BOY are they worth it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I finally got it...straight from the horse's mouth...!!! The dextrin in M&M's is derived from corn...so I can rest easy now in giving these to my daughter! Just thought I'd share! :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you so much for finding out that it is from corn. I didn't know what I was going to do if I had to quit eating M&M's. Yeah!!!!

Have a good day!

LyndaK

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, thank you very much for finding out the facts!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Either dextrin bothers "some" people or I am also lactose intolerant because M & M 's bother me every single time...

I am also irritated by "carmel color" such as that in some of the root beer's (barqs), dry roasted peanuts, maltodextrin in spices and many of the "gluten free" marked instant rice noodle soups.

I just ate some m&m's and i am suffering!!! ugh!

Just FYI...anyone else have that problem? I also break out in hives from touching any wheat/rye/barley/oats (products) and cannot be in the same room or smell range as something baking or a baking aisle in a grocery store because I start wheezing and getting a closed throat!

I have dermatitis herptaformairs too so I guess you could say I'm pretty easily irritated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

cannot be in the same room or smell range as something baking or a baking aisle in a grocery store because I start wheezing and getting a closed throat!

I have dermatitis herptaformairs too so I guess you could say I'm pretty easily irritated.

It sounds like you also have an allergy to wheat in addition to celiac. I would talk to an allergist about this as you may want to get and carry an epi pen just in case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,132
    • Total Posts
      919,522
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Cyclinglady is absolutely correct, after hours of internet research the only gluten-free food available at JNB is a fast food chain called 'Nandos'. I was hoping for a bit more variety, but I'll take what I get.   
    • It was a warm summer afternoon, my wife and I decided to go to the park to have a short excursion, taking our boy together. He likes to play in the park because there are some public entertainment equipments and many kids like to play in there.

      Upon arriving at the park, my boy played with his little partners and we started to detect metals. When we focused on treasure hunting, there came some visitors and most of them were very young. One adult asked "hey man, what were you seeking for?" I told him that we were seeking money and they became more curious, and some of them even join us and help us to dig. The story is not finished in here.
      By dinner time, we left the park and picked up a restaurant to eat. After we sat down, I recognize the waitress is the mother of one of the young boys who helped us to dig in the afternoon. So I talked with her, "Did your boy ask the metal detector for you?" She answered with curiosity “how did you know that?" I told him the story in the afternoon. She said she would buy a metal detector for her son for his next birthday.
      My blog
    • I'm so confused about my daughter's diagnosis.  I hope somebody can help.   My 4 year old daughter has a swollen belly, stomachaches, and lots of gas.  She does not have diarrhea or delayed growth.  Because of her symptoms and because it runs in the family (2nd degree relatives) I had her tested for celiac.   She was weak positive for TTG (IGA)  and strong positive for DGP (IGG)   TTG (IGA)  8   (0-3 neg, 4-10 weak positive, greater than 10 positive) TTG (IGG)  2   EMA: Negative DGP (IGG)  47  (0-19 negative, 20-30 weak positive, greater than 30 positive) Last week, she had her endoscopy.  The doctor found inflammation and little holes or bumps on her duodenum.  He started her on prevacid and said based on his observations, he was suspicious of celiac, but he would not be able to confirm until the biopsy came back. The biopsy showed no signs of celiac disease.  He said that he could not diagnose her with celiac without the biopsy report saying there was celiac damage.  He said he would categorize her as a potential celiac, keep her on a gluten diet and redo the endoscopy in a year or two to check for damage again.  My questions are: 1.)  If it is not celiac, something is causing her duodenum to be inflamed and have little holes or bumps on it, right?  Could it be a wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity?  What else could it be and how do they test for it?  Given her elevated celiac antibodies, how likely is it to be anything besides celiac causing the damage?  2.)  How likely are false positives for TTG and DGP?  I've heard they are pretty sensitive and specific.  Does getting two positives make false positives less likely? 3.) What have you done in this situation?  I want her to have an official diagnosis to make things easier at school and to feel confident that we are eliminating gluten permanently for a worthy reason, etc.  But, I'm having a hard time imagining keeping her on gluten and waiting for her to get more sick and have more intestinal damage just for a diagnosis.     Thanks in advance for your help.  I'm so overwhelmed and confused.  I hope someone has some insight and experience that will help clear things up for me.            
    • Yeah I actually live in Japan which is pretty similar, because Coeliac disease is rare over here so is the understanding and accommodating it. When I mention Gluten to some restaurants they think I am talking in English and they are unfamiliar with the word in Japanese.    So it seems I can write off my chances of getting some authentic Chinese gluten-free food at the airport, but at least there is a Thai restaurant in T3 so I won't starve. Its called  'Phrik Thai' for future reference. http://en-shopping.bcia.com.cn/store/739.html  
    • While in Boston I found Cheer's  Bloody Mary mix that says gluten-free on the bottle and have had no issues and  tastes pretty good 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,167
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Cristina17
    Joined