Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Gelatin, Millet And More


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 simonsmama

simonsmama

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 June 2004 - 06:24 PM

There is so much to learn here! I have read controversial things about Gelatin, Millet and Oats.....maybe some other stuff too I cannot think of right now, but anyhow, it is my 1 year old child I have to choose for not me so I am VERY concerned about what he eats. Can anyone tell me about a definitive and exhaustive source for safe and forbidden foods? I have read the info on Celiac.com. Thank you.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kejohe

kejohe

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted 10 June 2004 - 07:50 PM

Unfortunately there is no one list that will give you failsafe information. But I can tell you that I know how you feel, my son was dx'd at 1 y/o and I had a heck of a time getting the right answers to all my questions.

Here is what I know though -

Gelatin is made from animal byproducts and is gluten free. This is not to say that all Jell-O products are gluten free though. Some of the pudding mixes have modified staches, or natural and artifical flavors that contain hidden gluten. They all have a 1-800 number on the box though, so you can call the manufacturer if you want a guarantee.

Millet is a grain not related to wheat, rye or barley and is okay.

Oats is an ongoing controversy. I feed them to my son and have no problems what so ever, but there are some who cannot tolerate them. I read a study last year that measured the amount of gluten in various brands of oatmeal and McCanns was the only one on the market who was supposedly totally gluten free. All the other brands tested had at least 0.06% gluten content, from cross contamination in the fields and processing plants.


I have a copy of a gluten-free foods list that someone had previously posted a link to, however that link is no longer working. But if you would like, I can e-mail you a copy of the list. It's in adobe acrobat and takes a little while to load because its 42 pages long. But it was just updated this year and has some pretty amazing info. Just let me know if you would like it and I'll send it your way.

Hope this is helpful to you... and don't stress too much, it seems overwhelming at first, but you get the hang of it pretty quickly.
  • 0
Kathleen
Son has been gluten-free since December 2001


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: