5 replies to this topic

#1 Mabc

Mabc

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts

Posted 19 May 2006 - 07:53 PM

Hi, I'm still very new to this. I've been gluten free (as far as I know - I'm still learning) for 6 days (except for I found out the nuts I was eating the first 3 days were packaged at a place that also processes wheat.) Today I went out and ended up without food for hours with someone else controlling the situation because I wasn't driving and I got too hungry and ended up eating a hamburger, bun and all. I'm trying so hard to stick this out to see if my symptoms improve, so I'm really disappointed I didn't plan better.

Since I don't know if I have celiac yet, I wanted to ask if getting a sore throat and headache right after I ate could be related to the gluten. Thanks so much for any help.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Ursa Major

Ursa Major

My grandson Eli, 12 months

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts

Posted 19 May 2006 - 09:36 PM

Yes, the headache and sore throat could definitely come from being glutened. Those are two symptoms I get as well.

Take it as a learning experience. It's hard to do it perfectly at the beginning, and after years of just leaving the house without much planning, it takes a while to remember that you can't just pop into a burger place to eat. You'll get the hang of it!

Next time, just order the burger without the bun, though. It isn't perfect, as you could get cross-contamination. But then in frustration to eat the bun, too, will just backfire.