Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Mono Diglycerides


  • Please log in to reply

3 replies to this topic

#1 mdixon

 
mdixon

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
 

Posted 13 June 2004 - 05:57 PM

Hi

My daughter has been diasnosed 1 month ago. She is 12. Does anyone have the skinny on mono-diglycerides. I'm asking every where we go "do you know the ingredients in this or that are?. I always get a blank look and then they go ask the manager. Every time I ask about ice cream whether it be Brighams or Friendly's this is an ingredient. I'm guessing not good. She loves soft serve and I read Dairy Queen is OK. Any info is apppreciated.
Thanks
MDixon
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 dkmb

 
dkmb

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
 

Posted 14 June 2004 - 05:29 AM

Here is a link to a site .http://www.enabling.org/ia/celiac/monodiglycerides.html that answers your question. Mono diglycerides are fats that improve the consistency and give body to food like ice cream. They do have carriers (help in the process) in small amounts that up until 1996 didn't need to be listed on their labels and wheat is one of those. They are now required to list the carrier if it is wheat. They are not required to list any other gluten containing product used as a carrier. While it doesn't say so in this article, I think that wheat would be the most common carrier used as it is probably the most cost effective.
DK
  • 0

#3 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:29 AM

This should not be a concern in ice cream. If you contact Friendly's, they have a list of their gluten-free ice creams. Breyers and Blue Bunny clearly list any gluten. Baskin Robbins clearly lists wheat. Edy's and Turkeyhill have gluten-free lists.

I don't eat ice cream without checking (with the exception of vanilla, never have seen a vanilla ice cream with gluten), but for the vast majority of brands, ice cream is gluten-free unless it contains something obvious like cookies, cookie dough, or cake. And sometimes fudge flavors can be a problem for some reason.

richard
  • 0

#4 celiac3270

 
celiac3270

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,263 posts
 

Posted 20 June 2004 - 04:52 AM

More gluten-free icecream:

Haagen Dasz -- most flavors are gluten-free (strawberry, chocolate, vanilla....stick with the basics to be safe)...of course, cookie dough isn't gluten-free...etc.

Soy Delicious -- I'm trying to keep my dairy limited....if you're avoiding lactose/dairy, Soy Delicious has a neapolitin that's gluten-free....that's the only flavor that I've seen in stores....it might be hard to find if you don't have many large supermarkets around you.

-celiac3270
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: