6 replies to this topic

#1 catfish

catfish

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:03 AM

Is malt flavoring a source of gluten? I want to try a gluten-free diet to see if I notice improvement, but when reading the ingredients on Corn Flakes this morning I noticed "malt flavoring". Would this thwart my efforts if I eat it? I'm new to gluten-free so I am just learning what may or may not be a source of it! Thanks in advance.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

lovegrov

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:33 AM

Malt flavoring can be made from a variety of sources but in cereal it's always made from barley, which means it is not gluten-free. Corn Flakes, Crispix, Rice Krispies and similar cereals all have gluten from malt.

Any time you see malt or malt flavoring you have to assume it comes from barley. However, you can call the manufacturer and check. I can't remember the product now but I just heard about one that the manufacturer was saying was gluten-free even though it had malt flavoring. In this case, it was malted corn.

richard

#3 catfish

catfish

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:40 AM

Argh, this is going to be harder than I thought! Does anyone know of a gluten-free corn flakes brand? That's my favorite breakfast cereal, and it's oh-so-close but darn that malt flavoring! :huh:

#4 Guest_jhmom_*

Guest_jhmom_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:57 AM

Here is a link that list all Forbidden - Foods and Ingredients Not Safe for a Gluten-Free Diet

Its a good idea to print it out and take it to the store with you while shopping!

#5 billfl

billfl

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 14 June 2004 - 08:08 AM