Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

I Thought Gin Was Safe?


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 Moongirl

 
Moongirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 05:34 AM

I was just curious about this brand of gin because i drank it all the time before DX. Then I got this email from them. I thought Gin was on the safe list?!

"Thank you for your inquiry. As per your request, please be advised that the alcohol used in processing the gin does derive from grain, corn, wheat, and rye. Therefore, BOMBAY SAPPHIRE and BOMBAY ORIGINAL Gins may contain trace amounts of gluten, because some of these ingredients are outsourced. The exact quantity is unknown. If you still have questions, we suggest you contact your doctor as to whether or not you should consume such beverage products before consumption.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued patronage.

Best Regards,

Consumer Services
The Bombay Spirits Company U.S.A. "
  • 0
Dx & gluten-free since 12/09/05

Positive blood and endo test
Boston, MA


What doesn't kill you, only makes you stronger

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gfp

 
gfp

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,311 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 05:43 AM

I was just curious about this brand of gin because i drank it all the time before DX. Then I got this email from them. I thought Gin was on the safe list?!

"Thank you for your inquiry. As per your request, please be advised that the alcohol used in processing the gin does derive from grain, corn, wheat, and rye. Therefore, BOMBAY SAPPHIRE and BOMBAY ORIGINAL Gins may contain trace amounts of gluten, because some of these ingredients are outsourced. The exact quantity is unknown. If you still have questions, we suggest you contact your doctor as to whether or not you should consume such beverage products before consumption.

We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your valued patronage.

Best Regards,

Consumer Services
The Bombay Spirits Company U.S.A. "

Well lets not knock a company for being honest... personally I prefer a we can't guarantee that platitiudes.
On another thread I just said as much so I stick to tequila, white rum and the like .. avoid anything with coloring or anything derived from grain alcohol.

The question of what is 'safe' and not is a personal question, noone can answer it definitively the important thing is to do as you have done and make an informed choice ... three cheers to Bombay for being upfront.

I will personally buy Bombay products for others when buying a round but not avoid them myself. Hopefully they will get the custom their honesty deserves and we all stay safe.
  • 0
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (JC, De Bello Gallico Liber III/XVIII)

#3 Clark Bent as Stupor-Man

 
Clark Bent as Stupor-Man

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 06:28 AM

Well, I guess that may explain why I've felt like s@#t since Monday morning. I figured I had a delayed reaction to something from Sunday night but thought it was butter that I suspected was used in my meal. I did have Bombay Sapphire gin though. I never even drank gin often (I prefer rum or vodka) but thought gin was a safe choice. :blink:
  • 0
- Charlie

- gluten free since January, 2006

- multiple food intolerances temporarily from leaky gut and candida

- positive test for lyme disease - April, 2007

#4 IrishLisa

 
IrishLisa

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 07:42 AM

That's strange! After going gluten-free I contacted Bombay Sapphire as I was concerned that their products might contain gluten. I received this reply approx. 2 months ago.

****************************************************

Many thanks for your query. Bombay gins do
not contain cereal nor cereal components as
ingredients. Therefore, they can be
declared "gluten free" according to Codex
standards.

Kindest regards,
www.bombaysapphire.com
  • 0

#5 ehrin

 
ehrin

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 210 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 09:07 AM

Was bummed to hear about Sapphire, as I love my gin -
so I just e-mailed tanqueray today and just got this response!

May 31, 2006




Dear Ms. Ehrin Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding glutens in beverage
alcohol products, specifically Tanqueray.

Please be advised that Tanqueray products, which have been distilled, do not
contain glutens or gluten residues. However, as this relates to a medical
condition, may we suggest that you consult your own physician concerning the
consumption of beverage alcohol products. Tanqueray is gluten free.

Once again, thank you for contacting us, and we hope the information
provided has been helpful.

Sincerely

Chris R.
Tanqueray Consumer Care Representative
  • 0
My name is forgettable, so I invite you to remember this tale." (RG)

Diagnosed with celiac disease, by biopsy, 10/05
T1 diabetic since 2/80

#6 hez

 
hez

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 11:11 AM

I love a gin and tonic with lime in the summer. I use Tanqueray and enjoy it. I have heard that some gins add flavoring after the distillation process. This might be what Bombay is doing.

Hez
  • 0

#7 Clark Bent as Stupor-Man

 
Clark Bent as Stupor-Man

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 03:48 PM

has anybody had a gluten reaction to drinking bombay gin before? I definitely reacted to something over the weekend seeing as how I'm still out of it but am not positive it was the gin since I also ate out for the first time in months... the statement from bombay seems like a disclaimer, and I'm not sure if gluten would actually be present in the finished product or if it is distilled out...
  • 0
- Charlie

- gluten free since January, 2006

- multiple food intolerances temporarily from leaky gut and candida

- positive test for lyme disease - April, 2007

#8 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 06:11 PM

The Bombay response sounds like a typical CYA disclaimer to me.

Distilled alcohol is gluten-free regardless of the source. Only if gluten were added after distillation would there be a concern. This is the case with some coolers and all "malt beverages" but should not be a problem with regular spirits.

Cheers!
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#9 gfp

 
gfp

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,311 posts
 

Posted 31 May 2006 - 11:54 PM

The Bombay response sounds like a typical CYA disclaimer to me.

Distilled alcohol is gluten-free regardless of the source. Only if gluten were added after distillation would there be a concern. This is the case with some coolers and all "malt beverages" but should not be a problem with regular spirits.

Cheers!

Technically speaking there is no such thing as distilled alcohol only distilled alcohol, water mix. Pure alcohol can only be obtained by taking this mix and passing it through a drying agent, usually concentrated sulfuric acid.

See
http://www.glutenfre...ic=18682&st=15#
  • 0
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (JC, De Bello Gallico Liber III/XVIII)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: