Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Jello Or Pudding
0

11 posts in this topic

I think Jello is safe but is Jello brand pudding safe? Anyone know?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Amy--It's not on my gluten-free list, but all Hunt's Snack Packs are. So are Kozy Shack Rice, Tapioca, Choc, Vanilla, Banana and Flan. Do yourself a favor and check out:

http://homepage.mac.com/sholland/celiac/GFfoodlist.pdf

It listed these items and 49 pages of other gluten-free mainstream foods. I don't go to the food store without it!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jello Instant Pudding is safe; also, since it is a Kraft product, I read that all Kraft products will specify on the ingredients lable if a wheat product is used. I haven't checked the non-instant varieties but I know the instant mix is okay, although the buttterscotch flavor does list caramel color and doesn't state whether it is from barley or not. Will Kraft also specify foods that have barley ingredients in them or only wheat?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know why Jello Instant Pudding didn't show up on my gluten-free list--it's that 49 page one--but I "googled" it and yup it is gluten-free. Don't know about the caramel color though, catfish, good point! Nothing came up on google for the butterscotch. Can't pass that new labeling law fast enough to suit me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just because a label will list a wheat ingredient doesn't mean it will list barley. Make sure you read the labels. I am trying to remember which kind of instant pudding I eat, but the brand slips my mind. I buy it at Wal Mart, it is a mainstream item, but I just can't think of the brand!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Jello Instant Pudding is safe; also, since it is a Kraft product, I read that all Kraft products will specify on the ingredients lable if a wheat product is used. I haven't checked the non-instant varieties but I know the instant mix is okay, although the buttterscotch flavor does list caramel color and doesn't state whether it is from barley or not. Will Kraft also specify foods that have barley ingredients in them or only wheat?

Even of Kraft products you need to read the labeling...they won't write in bold letters on the front of the container: DOES NOT CONTAIN WHEAT. However, flavorings are usually questionable as to being gluten-free or not and you need to call the company. With Kraft however, all flavorings and colorings are gluten-free unless they specifically write (in parens. next to it) wheat, or some other gluten-containing ingredient...in that way you should be able to tell if a product is gluten-free right from the label. At least, that's what I was told when I called about Crystal Light (drink mix) a week ago. By the way, it is gluten-free.

-celiac3270

P.S. the barley is a good point...I'm not sure about it, but I believe the person said that it'll list the gluten-containing ingredient in parens next to it...then again, going by the labels isn't a good idea to begin with: labels are subject to change whenever the manufacturers feel like it -- and because it is "too expensive" to throw out printed labels, manufacturers are allowed to "run out" their labels, thereby leading us to believe that a product is gluten-free, although it may not be. Always be careful.

P.S.P.S. I have also heard that Kozy Shack is gluten-free...although I am going to stay dairy-limited until my symptoms completely go away so I haven't investigated yet. I remember eating Kozy Shack chocolate pudding before the gluten-free diet...it's delicious.... :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Kozy Shack even lists on the package that it is gluten free. We tried some the other day, but the dairy caused a lot of my symptoms to return, so I think 6 months off dairy wasn't enough. celiac3270 you are smart to stay off dairy. I'm back to dairy free and was wondering about Jello pudding and if it possible to make it with any milk alternatives. It probably wouldn't taste the same. <_<

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Folks the Kraft page about gluten (I don't have the exact address; you'd have to go to kraft.com and search around) says they will clearly list any gluten, not just wheat. So if it had barley, which is very rare in itself, it would say so.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mariann,

I just made a box of the pudding with soy milk because my 6 month old cant have cows milk yet. Well it never harden. Its still liquid in my fridge. Too bad he cant use a straw yet. lol I have alot of goats milk too, after I try making it with that I will let you know how it works.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't use Soymilk anyhow, but it is good to know that it won't set. I don't want to use the almond milk we drink for pudding, since it does have a strong almond taste and the kids don't want the pudding to taste like almonds. I thought I might try Mocha Mix. I make a milk alternative for baking and such with it at a mix of 1/4 Mocha Mix and 3/4 water. It does have a bit of a chemical taste that you have to get used to, but once you get past that it isn't bad. :rolleyes: We use the Mocha Mix Ice Cream and I sort of figured it would taste a bit like that...

Anyone tried pudding made with rice milk??

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know about other brands, but I have found that Jello brand instant pudding (not the kind that needs to cook, I haven't tried that) will set even with plain water although it tastes a little bit flat. Also, the mix has no milk in it. I imagine almond milk would work just fine with it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined