This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

List For The Newly Diagnosed

TCA

TCA Contributor

I've seen a lot of posts lately asking how to get started. Why don't we make a thread of things to do to get started post diagnosis? That way we can direct new people to this thread to see the great ideas. All you old pros, add your info in. I'm still relatively new to this (9 mos.), but these are some tips that would have helped me:

1. Take a breath!!! You're not going to be able to do this overnight, but it will all come together. We're all here to help, so try not to panic!!!

2. Buy some gluten free treats that make you feel like you can eat!!! I highly recommend Enjoy LIfe snickerdoodles, Chebe breads and pizza crust, Cause you're Special (glutenfreegourmet.com) and Pamela's brands (on sale now at amazon .com), and Tinkyada pasta. If you don't have a good health food store near you, glutenfreemall.com is a good place to start and order from.

3. Go through your pantry and call the 1-800 #s on the backs of the package to see if they're gluten-free. Ask the manufacturers for gluten-free food lists. Most are great about this and will also send you coupons. The web also will have some companies' lists. This takes some time, but it helps you identify what you're already using that could be gluten-free.

4. Do the same with your med cabinet. Call about any drugs you take. This is sometimes harder to get info on, especially with generics. Vitamins, pain killers, cold meds, topical meds, everything has to be checked.