This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Protein Powder Workout Shakes

utdan

utdan Apprentice

Does anyone know of a gluten-free (and hopefully MSG free) protein powder supplement or meal replacement? I called a few manufacturers and they assured me there was no gluten but I still get a little reaction. Getting back into working out I tried so far "Muscle Milk" by CytoSport, and now "IsoPure" by Nature's Best. I realize that ideally I should be cooking up wild salmon or other meat but that's not always convenient. I don't see a problem with whey or soy protein right now but then again I'm new at this.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ursa Major Collaborator

Dan, I am reading a book called 'The whole Soy story', and apparently, soy protein will turn to glutamate (or something like that, I am too lazy right now to go and check). Anyway, if you use soy protein, you get glutamate, that I remember, because I was quite flabberghasted by that.

I've given up finding protein bars. You may want to buy a jerky gun and make yourself some meat jerky, that would be much better for you than any protein bars!

utdan Apprentice

Thank you for your reply Ursula, I appreciate that. For me that is extremely valuable information because a lot of my symptoms are neurological in nature as you can see in my signature. I've been trying to find out where the three killers are "glutamate, cysteine, aspartate" since I read that "Excitotoxins" by Blaylock. I'm sorry to hear that soy is so bad though too. I'll have to get a hold of that book you mentioned.