Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kellogg's Has Bad Info On Their Website
0

23 posts in this topic

I have heard that a few mainstream cereals are gluten free so I was perusing Kellogg's site to see if they had any. I went into a seach part of their site and put in 'gluten free' which brings up the question 'do you have any gluten free products'. That page lists three items I've never heard as gluten free. Below that they list Corn Pops and Rice Crispies and say these items may be suitable for people on restricted diets, depending on their gluten sensitivity. They state that there is malt (from barley) in one cereal and a small amount of wheat starch in the other. I do not think this information would be good for a newbie to read and I could not find another thread about Kellogg's so I thought it was worth mentioning.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I have done research on this too, since all the non-mainstream "gluten-free" cereals tasted like chalk or had a texture capable of inducing the gag reflex and are impossible to find (except online for a boatload of money for shipping)!

I eat Captain Crunch, Lucky Charms, and Trix. I have discovered that Cpt Crunch is gluten-free unless you are concerned about Oats cross contamination. I do not react to Capt Crunch. General Mills cereals often don't have "malt flavoring" (made from barley) and therefore are OK, if made only from corn or rice. Kellogs uses malt flavoring in everything. I can tolerate a bowl of Frosted Flakes, Corn Flakes, Rice/Corn Crispix, Rice Crispies, but only once in a while.

I am fine with Captain Crunch or Lucky Charms most every day and I alternate them to make sure I won't react (in case one is worse than the other) .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the info on the kids cereals being gluten-free. Those are mosly too sweet for me though. But they might work as a sweet snack for me. I'm always looking for easy things to keep in baggies in case of emergency hunger when no safe food is in sight.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have done research on this too, since all the non-mainstream "gluten-free" cereals tasted like chalk or had a texture capable of inducing the gag reflex and are impossible to find (except online for a boatload of money for shipping)!

I eat Captain Crunch, Lucky Charms, and Trix. I have discovered that Cpt Crunch is gluten-free unless you are concerned about Oats cross contamination. I do not react to Capt Crunch. General Mills cereals often don't have "malt flavoring" (made from barley) and therefore are OK, if made only from corn or rice. Kellogs uses malt flavoring in everything. I can tolerate a bowl of Frosted Flakes, Corn Flakes, Rice/Corn Crispix, Rice Crispies, but only once in a while.

I am fine with Captain Crunch or Lucky Charms most every day and I alternate them to make sure I won't react (in case one is worse than the other) .

Are there any that aren't sweet? I just don't like sweet cereal, but plain puffed rice doesn't do much for me either. I miss Chex! And Cheerios!

Leah

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Are there any that aren't sweet? I just don't like sweet cereal, but plain puffed rice doesn't do much for me either. I miss Chex! And Cheerios!

Leah

Have you tried the Rice Crunchems, alternative for Chex cereal? They typically aren't in the "mainstream" grocery, but usually at a natural food store, wild oats etc. http://www.healthvalley.com/products/produ...5&cat_id=11

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I eat Captain Crunch, Lucky Charms, and Trix. I have discovered that Cpt Crunch is gluten-free unless you are concerned about Oats cross contamination. I do not react to Capt Crunch. General Mills cereals often don't have "malt flavoring" (made from barley) and therefore are OK, if made only from corn or rice. Kellogs uses malt flavoring in everything. I can tolerate a bowl of Frosted Flakes, Corn Flakes, Rice/Corn Crispix, Rice Crispies, but only once in a while.

I am fine with Captain Crunch or Lucky Charms most every day and I alternate them to make sure I won't react (in case one is worse than the other) .

You are eating gluten. You may be able to "tolerate" it, but it is still doing damage. Cancer causing damage. Think about that. Is it really worth some sugary cereal?!? Not in my opinion.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have done Cheerios, but again, because of the malt flavoring I can't do a lot nor everyday.

Rice Crispies is same thing and same for Rice/Corn Crispix.

I've only found Lucky Charms and Trix to be completely "safe"...........

It's probably because of all the sugar, that they don't need to use all the malt falvoring and starches for texture and flavor they believe is necessary.

Same goes for low-fat, "light", sugar-free etc. Many of those have gluten, where the full-fat, sugary versions do not (same reason). And that applies to all foods, not just cereal.

I spend a lot of time reading labels on cereal boxes in the supermarket. They change all the time! Lucky Charms has recently changed (for the better), but previously had malt flavoring. Now it doesn't! So got to READ labels every shopping trip.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only mainstream cerals that I have seen that are gluten-free are

POST Cocoa Pebbles

POST Fruity Pebbles

General Mills Cocoa Puffs (New boxes only)

General Mills Trix (New boxes only)

Some generic copies of the above are also gluten-free some are not.

Ceral that lists OATS, OAT FLOUR, etc is not gluten free, and just becuase YOU do not react is not a good reason to recomend them. Mainstream oats are KNOWN to be covered in wheat gluten (Note thats WHEAT GLUTEN, the oat protien is a sperate issue). There is no debate on that, and it has been proven with testing. Any one recomending them is puting everyone else at risk for sever damage and long term complications. Frankly it is darn uncarring and calous to continue to recomend ppl intentionaly eat known gluten sources like that.

Of course even with the safe brands/varities/etc CC is ALWAYS possible.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quaker makes some of the cereals you mention, and they don't consider ANY of their products to be gluten-free. At all. Period. That includes rice cakes. It's because oats are grown in the same fields, transported in the same trucks, and stored in the same silos that gluten containing grains are. Here is a statement from their oatmeal FAQ:

Do oats contain gluten?

Because oats are grown, stored, transported in bulk, they may contain trace amounts of wheat, rye and barley. USDA grain standards allow a certain percentage of other grains to be present in the oats. Therefore, gluten may be found in oats, even if very small amounts of these other grains are present.

Malt flavoring is never safe, because it is made from barley. I agree with Vincent, just because you don't react to it, that is NOT a good reason to reccommend it to others. And are you sure you aren't reacting to it? Just because you don't feel symptoms does not mean that you aren't reacting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The last time I looked at Lucky Charms, they had wheat listed at the tail end of the ingredients list. I'll have to see if that has changed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The last time I looked at Lucky Charms, they had wheat listed at the tail end of the ingredients list. I'll have to see if that has changed.

Acording to thier website, there is no Wheat Starch listed, but Oats is the very first ingredient so it does not matter, they are not gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Malt flavoring is ALMOST always from barley but not always. Althugh I always assume it is barley, malt can be made from any grain. In the past I've heard of a few products with corn malt, but I don't remember what they are now.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Malt flavoring is ALMOST always from barley but not always. Althugh I always assume it is barley, malt can be made from any grain. In the past I've heard of a few products with corn malt, but I don't remember what they are now.

richard

My opinion is if it doesn't say the source of malt don't risk it .. and the same for other wheat barley derivatives.

Experience tells me that those who don't label it properly in the first case often either don't know or don't want to know ...

The same is true for oats ... Quakers are just being honest (good for them)

personally I think we should all just boycott as much as possible companies like kellogs who try and beat around the bush and buy whatever we can from companies like quaker/kraft ... firstly because you can at least trust them and secondly they deserve it .. we can't buy mmuch but we do tend to be very loyal customers.. once we find solmething we trust we tend to stick with them...

This makes stuff like CC really more important because if something is CC'd to a

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was looking at cereal this morning at the grocery store, and I can't remember what kind, but it was either corn or rice based, I'm pretty sure it was a Kellogg's product - Crispix or something, and after the word malt flavouring it said in brackets corn (something I can't remember - corn sugar? corn flour?) and malted barley. Then at the end of the ingredient list in bold it said something about may contain soy. That leads me to believe that malt flavour CAN be made from something other than barley, but we will always assume barley. Cool that it said may contain soy, too bad they aren't on board with contains barley. One day, one day. Meanwhile, my son is getting pretty good at label "hearing". He asks if he can have something and I'll read off the ingredients and he'll say: yes, yes, yes, no. He only knows the "big 5" W, R, O, B/M, though. Not too bad for a 6 year old.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have done research on this too, since all the non-mainstream "gluten-free" cereals tasted like chalk or had a texture capable of inducing the gag reflex and are impossible to find (except online for a boatload of money for shipping)!

I eat Captain Crunch, Lucky Charms, and Trix. I have discovered that Cpt Crunch is gluten-free unless you are concerned about Oats cross contamination. I do not react to Capt Crunch. General Mills cereals often don't have "malt flavoring" (made from barley) and therefore are OK, if made only from corn or rice. Kellogs uses malt flavoring in everything. I can tolerate a bowl of Frosted Flakes, Corn Flakes, Rice/Corn Crispix, Rice Crispies, but only once in a while.

I am fine with Captain Crunch or Lucky Charms most every day and I alternate them to make sure I won't react (in case one is worse than the other) .

I hate to break it to you but I don't think any of those are gluten-free, or the Cheerios you mention in another post. Regardless of how you feel your body is still being damaged.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have DH with no damage to villi and nothing in biopsy.

Seems to be all in the skin. So, supposedly my skin is the only indicator and it's greatly improving, even with the minor CC. For some reason some people DO tolerate miniscule amounts with no damage.

If I challenge with wheat bread, rye bread, and other high Gluten foods, my skin goes nuts (and tests prove it's not "allergy" - have both markers for Celiac too and Enterolab positive). But CC from Oats and other stuff, and occasional malt flavoring doesn't seem to have any effect (even on an endoscopy).

My insurance and Dr won't consider Enterolab home test an official diagnosis!

I guess everyone has their own individual tolerance level (some have zero - especially with the digestive form of Celiac) and have to find that out for themselves and it's not necessarily a pleasant experience.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Franceen, I hate to tell you this, but you are still eating gluten, all of the products you mentioned contain gluten. For you to continue to eat them is like deliberately ingesting rat poison with every meal. You say you have done research, well, I'm trying to be nice, I have done TONS of research for the articles I write and for helping newbies out on this site and I have yet to come across anything that says that the products you listed are safe. They are NOT safe. You may not be reacting to them visibly but they are still doing damage to your insides. For you to recommend them to other Celiacs is not only irresponsible it is dangerous. Please don't take this as an attack because we are only trying to help you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Franceen, if you want to contine to eat gluten, thats your call, but you need to stop telling others that it is okay to eat gluten, because alot of ppl that do not know any beter come here looking for adivce, and your threads are DANGEROUS and RECKLESS to them.

I think you do not understand the seriousness of this diease or the extreme health impact that it has. If you did, I dont think you would be recomending ppl eat gluten like you are. Please try to spend time reading up on the impact of gluten on ppl with celiac disease and get an idea for how bad it realy is. My son nearly died from celiac disease and was only eating Cheerios and Oatmeal as we were trying to find somehing that was safe (pre celiac disease diag). IF I as a newbie listened to you, he would be DEAD today.

Its that serious.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, DH is the skin manifestation of celiac disease, and many people that biopsy positively on their skin also have dignigificant intestinal damage. Either way, you have the IgA antibodies going. If you did the full enterolab gluten intolerance panel and stuff came back positive, sorry, you are damaging your intestines, even if it didn't show up on endoscopy. The small intestine is 22 ft long, the endoscope can go 5 ft. in. You do the math.

All forms of celiac are dangerous. Please don't tell anyone that some celiacs can handle a miniscule amount of gluten, because they can't. Studies have shown that as little as 1/38 of a slice of bread can do visible damage.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd be just as concerned about the silent damage the small amounts of gluten are doing. The neurological and or other immunicological damage that can occur that can't be reversed with eliminating the gluten alone. It's too much of a risk to eat foodstuffs that cannot be considered gluten-free even if obvious physical symptoms aren't apparent.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear God woman! You say Captain Crunch is gluten free? Which flavor/which version of Captain Crunch? Crunch Berries? Peanut Butter? Captain Crunch Plain? Please respond ASAP!

msb

Msbookie@netzero.net

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear God woman! You say Captain Crunch is gluten free? Which flavor/which version of Captain Crunch? Crunch Berries? Peanut Butter? Captain Crunch Plain? Please respond ASAP!

msb

Msbookie@netzero.net

Please notice how old this thread is.....they're not confirmed gluten free and to the best of my knowledge...never were!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,688
    • Total Posts
      921,756
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Do you mean something like a protein powder you could mix up?  A lot of them in the US seem to be gluten free.  Maybe just go to your local store and read all the labels?
    • Yeah I ended up allergic to corn, olives, sesame, whey, and peanuts and intolerant to dairy, soy, yeast, enzyme issues with breaking down meats, and egg yolks, along with extreme bloat with any kind of carbs/sugars in moderate amounts. And very adverse reactions to certain artificial sweeteners. So your not alone in all the other issues cropping up, it happens as our bodies adjust.  I eat a bunch of stir frys with veggies, egg whites, plenty of  avocados, and toasted and raw forms of almonds, coconut, cashews, walnuts, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sancha inchi seeds, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds in all forms including making them into butters, spreads, and incorporating them into sauces.   Most meals are forms of soups, omelettes, and stir frys. I do the seeds and nuts on rotation same with my veggies and snack on fruits in small amounts along with some homemade baked goods I make for markets. I do suggest a rotation of foods, my dietician said I need to rotate my foods to prevent more issues, making sure I am off one one for at least 7-14 days at a time completely. I find changing up the spices and rotating my cuisine base works well. I also make puddings, and protein shakes along with nut/seed milks, and different bases and extract flavorings to get my random cravings Taken care of. Guess take what you can from this and and see how it can help you,    As to the tinging, I ended up with both B vitamin and magnesium deficiency issues, the magnesium one caused a fire like tingling in my arms, legs and back, along with muscle pain. Ended up on a doctors best powder form of it so I can dose it out right, and found epsom salt bathes helped.  
    • Hi, I've gained so much knowledge on this forum over the past few months, which I am so thankful for. I can see how much hell people are going through with this disease and it's so lovely to see how much support and advice people give to others on here. I'd like a little bit of reassurance and advice myself from anyone that can help. I've been gluten free for six months. Two weeks after going gluten free I realised I also had a problem with corn so cut out processed food. Over the following weeks and months I continually had problems with food; fruit, dairy, a lot of vegetables, nuts, soya....it's basically dwindled down to just eating potatoes (not white potatoes), cucumber, lettuce, small amounts of red onion, spring onion, sprouts and beetroot. There may be more things I could be okay with but to be honest I'm too scared to try.  Is this all normal? Am I an extreme case? I've been taking some digestive enzymes and probiotics for about six weeks, my acid reflux has dramatically decreased but I always have a lot of loud noises going on in my guts, I'm guessing this is the probiotics working.  I've lost nearly 3st in weight since this started - which I'm not complaining about as I was overweight due to thyroid problems. I've had loads of blood tests done recently, all organs are working 'great' according to my doctor, the only thing they've picked up on is ketones, I seem to be having a glucose problem, which might explain my exhaustion and weight loss. I also have permanent numbness and sometimes tingling in one of my legs and sometimes hands and one shoulder, I thought it could have vitamin B12 deficiency but that's okay according to blood tests. I would be greatful for any replies. Thanks for reading.
    • Hi everyone, I am doing job in restaurant at evening 5 to 12 during working hours no time to do a dinner. I'm thinking to make a shake but don't know the gluten free vitamin or supplement brand which one is good for me and easily available in Berlin Germany to make me fit cause last one week i feel weak. I'm 28 year old. Sincerely
    • Hey there just wanted to warn anyone that has other allergies- these crackers may not be a good choice! I'm mildly sensitive to MSG- I only react if there's a giant amount like in Chinese food or Ramen noodles, etc.  I literally have a to eat TONS of a the offending food before reacting.  Anyway, I was excited to try these Trader Joes pumpkin crackers, kept hearing about them on the radio .... and they're gluten free!  (I have Hashi's).  I ate about 3/4 of the box last night. Woke up this morning with a red itchy face and nasal congestion, headache, anxiety. Hallmark symptoms for me of high MSG intake. (It does say yeast extract on the side but it's pretty far down the list). So if you're sensitive.... stay away! Apparently these particular crackers are loaded with it. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,690
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    lastcowgirl26
    Joined