Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Corn And Rice Gluten


  • Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 coldandhardy

 
coldandhardy

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
 

Posted 02 July 2006 - 08:00 AM

I am of the understanding that corn and rice are OK for Celiac. Then one day I was looking at the Chicago comodity exchange and saw "CORN GLUTEN" being sold on the futures market. Rice also contains gluten.

I thought they must be different forms of gluten but a chemist whith ADM (Archer's Daniel's Middlen) which is a company that specializes in corn and the like told me that he seriously doubted that there was any difference between corn gluten and wheat gluten. Does anyone know more about such?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 02 July 2006 - 09:01 AM

I am of the understanding that corn and rice are OK for Celiac. Then one day I was looking at the Chicago comodity exchange and saw "CORN GLUTEN" being sold on the futures market. Rice also contains gluten.

I thought they must be different forms of gluten but a chemist whith ADM (Archer's Daniel's Middlen) which is a company that specializes in corn and the like told me that he seriously doubted that there was any difference between corn gluten and wheat gluten. Does anyone know more about such?


gluten is a generic term that refers to the main protein in a grain. but we use it very specifically (on this forum and in other places) to refer to the protein in wheat, barley, rye, and oats. the term is overused, and in cases like this, it gets confusing. corn gluten and rice gluten just means the protein from corn and rice, and it is safe for celiacs.

(an analogy - someone can ask you for a kleenex, but they don't really care if it's a kleenex brand tissue paper. the term has been misappropriated. this is a very similar case.)
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 coldandhardy

 
coldandhardy

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
 

Posted 03 July 2006 - 09:36 AM

gluten is a generic term that refers to the main protein in a grain. but we use it very specifically (on this forum and in other places) to refer to the protein in wheat, barley, rye, and oats. the term is overused, and in cases like this, it gets confusing. corn gluten and rice gluten just means the protein from corn and rice, and it is safe for celiacs.

(an analogy - someone can ask you for a kleenex, but they don't really care if it's a kleenex brand tissue paper. the term has been misappropriated. this is a very similar case.)


I think the labeling guys got it wrong generally too. Often they say a product is gluten free yet it often contains rice and corn products in it.
  • 0

#4 queenofhearts

 
queenofhearts

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 884 posts
 

Posted 03 July 2006 - 10:14 AM

I am of the understanding that corn and rice are OK for Celiac. Then one day I was looking at the Chicago comodity exchange and saw "CORN GLUTEN" being sold on the futures market. Rice also contains gluten.

I thought they must be different forms of gluten but a chemist whith ADM (Archer's Daniel's Middlen) which is a company that specializes in corn and the like told me that he seriously doubted that there was any difference between corn gluten and wheat gluten. Does anyone know more about such?

I'm really surprised that the ADM chemist wouldn't be aware of the differences between the grain proteins-- I thought it was pretty basic. My sister's girlfriend who studied Food Science was well aware of the different structures & she was still in school. I guess that's why you can't always trust the "experts"!

Leah
  • 0
The Queen of Hearts,
She made some tarts
All on a summer's day.
The Knave of Hearts,
He stole the tarts
And took them clean away.

Diagnosed at age 49 by biopsy 31 May 2006

Learning how to bake those tarts gluten-free!

#5 Fiddle-Faddle

 
Fiddle-Faddle

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,159 posts
 

Posted 03 July 2006 - 10:27 AM

My dh isn't here right now, but he's a chemist, and he said something about it a while ago to me. (I hope I got this right!) I think he said that the amino acid structure in wheat, barley, and rye glutens are very closely related (oats, too, hence the difficulty many of us have with them). Corn and rice glutens do NOT have amino acid structures that are similar to wheat's.

I'll ask hm when he gets home tonight and check back here.
  • 0

#6 KaitiUSA

 
KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts
 

Posted 03 July 2006 - 01:36 PM

Corn and rice gluten are fine. All grains I believe actually contain gluten but the structures are different and the only ones we can't have are wheat, rye, barley, and oats.
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: