Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Movie Popcorn
0

12 posts in this topic

We are taking the boys to see Cars tonight and after stocking up on a few gluten-free candies(so I do not have to pay movie theatre price) I was wondering about the popcorn. I have searched but can not find anything onit...does anyone out there know if it is ok?? :huh:

Thanks to all...Dallas

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I remember this being talked about several months ago. All I remember is that certain theaters had certain suppliers, and some had gluten-free stuff and some didn't. Maybe if you post with the name of the Theater (Regal, Century, whatever) someone will know, or you can do a search on that.

Nancy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never had trouble with the popcorn (except now that I also have to be casein free). I just tell them I have food allergies and can I read the ingredients to the "butter." They've always been happy to pull out the box and let me read it. I wouldn't worry about the popcorn itself.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:( This was a very bad mistake for me. I had popcorn at a Loews theater and was sick for three days. I'll never do that again. I hope you have better luck.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a Malco Theatre.

I think that we may just get his with out butter...better safe than terribly sorry!!

We went to the movies about 5 months ago and didn't notice any problems then...but I also had a newborn in ICU and wasn't home a whole lot.

Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I've never had trouble with the popcorn (except now that I also have to be casein free). I just tell them I have food allergies and can I read the ingredients to the "butter." They've always been happy to pull out the box and let me read it. I wouldn't worry about the popcorn itself.

Hi Carla,

I noticed you said you had to go casein free. Aimee( my nearly two year old who is breastfeeding) and I have had to go casein free also. I just realized (with a magnifying glass) that the non-dairy creamer I have been using in my coffee has casein in it. AAuurrrGGGhhh.

I don't care about caffeine but I love the flavor of , well, flavored coffee. It has been my, I can have it. And now it's not. I thought if it said lactose free it wouldn't have casein either. Can you help? Is there a non-dairy flavored creamer that is gluten and casein free. What about something that tastes like butter but is non dairy? I have put all my research into gluten and now it seems I am starting all over with casein.

So, how about it? Do you have a cupa coffee for a dairy deprived, butter lovin', man I miss cookies dipped in milk kinda girl? :o

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sue ~ my dd is dairy free too. Try to find Vance's Dairy Free at your health food store. It's powdered and works great as a milk sub for baking and as a creamer. For the butter ~ we use Crystal Farms margarine (threw out the box) but they one that is dairy free sticks. There is also Earth's Balance in a tub at the hfs.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sue ~ my dd is dairy free too. Try to find Vance's Dairy Free at your health food store. It's powdered and works great as a milk sub for baking and as a creamer. For the butter ~ we use Crystal Farms margarine (threw out the box) but they one that is dairy free sticks. There is also Earth's Balance in a tub at the hfs.

Thanks Cheri!

I feel better just knowing there are options :)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi Carla,

I noticed you said you had to go casein free. Aimee( my nearly two year old who is breastfeeding) and I have had to go casein free also. I just realized (with a magnifying glass) that the non-dairy creamer I have been using in my coffee has casein in it. AAuurrrGGGhhh.

I don't care about caffeine but I love the flavor of , well, flavored coffee. It has been my, I can have it. And now it's not. I thought if it said lactose free it wouldn't have casein either. Can you help? Is there a non-dairy flavored creamer that is gluten and casein free. What about something that tastes like butter but is non dairy? I have put all my research into gluten and now it seems I am starting all over with casein.

So, how about it? Do you have a cupa coffee for a dairy deprived, butter lovin', man I miss cookies dipped in milk kinda girl? :o

Ugh, I had my second cup of coffee in three weeks of casein free today. I went to Starbucks and put in the soymilk, yuck. The other cup I had a couple weeks ago, I used Silk Creamer, and it was better than the soymilk and it was flavored. I've learned to like tea again! I go to Starbucks for their iced green tea with a single pump of classic syrup --yummy! I also make various teas at home. I look forward to other's suggestions because the soy just isn't cutting it! I've turned my "I can eat this" treat from coffee to chocolate. I buy some gluten-free dairy-free chocolate at Wild Oats and eat a small piece after every meal. Funny thing -- I don't really like candy and never ate it before, I just REALLY needed a vice after giving up coffee. Apparently the low sugar, high cocoa chocolate I'm eating is also good for digestion, but please don't tell my tastebuds because they really need something bad for them. That's the problem with this diet, it's too good for you!!! :lol:

For butter, I use Ghee if I really need the butter flavor, but I use coconut oil or olive oil for everything else. I'll even use coconut oil on gluten-free toast -- but I've always loved it! I mix coconut oil and Ghee for my at-home popcorn.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nucoa margarine is also Dairy free (for those who need to add "butter" to homemade popcorn).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I've never had trouble with the popcorn (except now that I also have to be casein free). I just tell them I have food allergies and can I read the ingredients to the "butter." They've always been happy to pull out the box and let me read it. I wouldn't worry about the popcorn itself.

How long ago was this? Before their merge with AMC? Because the popcorn was gluten-free before the merge and I believe it still is with AMC controling the operations. I've eaten there before and after the merge and have never had an issue. Could it have been something other than the popcorn? For instance, Twizzlers have wheat in them which is a hard catch for some Celiacs.

In the theory of full disclosure I am a former Loews employee who was downsized by the merge so I have no loyalty to stick up for AMC.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have eaten the popcorn with no butter at my local theaters (can't remember the names) with no problems. I did some searches on this forum.

Hez

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,918
    • Total Posts
      919,628
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Depression / anxiety issues
      Hi Chris, haven't had a chance to read the whole conversation but regarding dairy, if you are suspicious of something, drop it for some time and see. You are still healing so maybe dairy is bothering you now. Also look at the nightshades, corn, dairy, soy, and eggs. I had a horrible time last year. I had muscle twitches, brain fog, pain, was tired,etc. I searched online and decided to drop all of those things I mentioned above. I am not sure what bothered me since I dropped them all at once but i slowly began feeling better. Now, i reintroduced eggs again and sometimes have lactose free milk with my coffee. I recommend eating salmon, tuna, bone broth soups, using olive oil and coconut oil and not eating much or not at all processed food even if it is marked gluten free.
    • Weird things people have said
      I've had people say strange things about celiac to me lately... Like someone said, "Oh I'm just a mild celiac so I don't have to worry about cross-contamination." And then someone else said that they're celiac but things have calmed down now so they can have a bit of gluten here and there. And I told my doctor that back in 2014 I thought I had been gluten free but I actually wasn't because I had been repeatedly glutening myself with an old colander. And he just looked at me like I was insane, like a colander?? Sure... I'm not crazy, right? Even if you have no symptoms you have to avoid cross-contamination because you can be doing damage internally right? You can never have 'just a bit'. And a colander is a big source of cross-contamination right?? I know all this but why do these other people not? Why does my doctor not know? So confusing and spreading misinformation... And then they look at me like *I'M* crazy.
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      Look up FODMAPS.   That might clarify things for you.  There really are a lot of diet recommendations so make sure you bring a list of questions regarding foods to your doctor's  and dietician's appointments.  
    • Recovery?
      Thank you for sharing those web sites. I will look at them. We have been gluten free since December so it's been a while. Once, he had a gluten free beer, the kind that they take the gluten out, and his legs felt very heavy and had a more difficult time walking. I really don't want to experiment.  Although I am very careful about what we eat, I am concerned that some of our medication could contain gluten. Is there any easier way to tell if medication has gluten. I did find a website which listed drugs and known gluten but every drug was on it or was determined to be gluten free
    • fructose malabsorption and gluten intolerant
      I don't have celiac but doctors or amazed I don't so they told me to fallow the gluten-free diet like I have it... any way I was wondering if one can have corn, corn starch if they have fructose malabsorption. I am so confused on what I can and can't have.. i have an appt next week hopefully with a dietitian... also can you have sugar free stuff since it's not sugar.. I'm reading online and I'm getting a bunch of mixed info on both. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,963
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Tams67
    Joined