This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Broke Down Last Night

GIJane

GIJane Rookie

All,

Last weekend my husband and i went out for dinner to celebrate our anniversary. Something I ate must have been contaminated because, by the time we got home, I felt ill, was teary, and had D. Now, nearly four days later I'm still feeling off. Last night was the worst and I'm wondering if it could have been gluten-induced. (Because, like some others on this site have noticed, gluten does a number on my psyche.)

My husband had to work late last night so I started painting the primer onto our newly plastered dining room. In the process, I began to feel totally stressed out, like I might make a mistake and I was so overcome by this that I started to weep. I cried for a full 40 minutes. I called my husband in the middle of all of it and asked him to come home. He was really worried about me.

This is not typical behavior for me. I am emotional, but usually with cause. I felt my crying last night came out of the blue. I'm happy with my life. I don't know what was going on. I tried to come up with an explanation and found that: (1) I was quite tired due to lack of sleep earlier in the week; and (2) was about to get my period. Unfortunately, neither explanation really explained the extent of my reaction and I began to think: could it have been gluten? Could I have been cced by the "Garden of Eatin'" Sesame blue chips I'd had earlier in the day? Or the Amy's quesadilla I'd eaten?