#1 Deb O (UK)

Deb O (UK)

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 31 July 2006 - 01:10 AM

[font=Comic Sans Ms]

Hi there, please bear with me as I'm very new to gluten-free!

I'm still at the stage where I'm preoccupied with checking labels :lol: and noticed that the ingredients listed on a pack of Wotsits (corn puffs) included 2 types of wheat. (Have inadvertently thrown away the packet so can't be specific <_< ) However, underneath the ingredients the pack stated that this product is 'suitable for coeliacs'.

Now I might be missing something, but what's this about?!

I'm not at all bothered about eating Wotsits (I could easily do without :lol: ) but am now feeling confused and disconcerted about labelling.

Can anyone shed any light on this please?

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 nikki-uk

nikki-uk

Out running.

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,957 posts

Posted 31 July 2006 - 03:04 AM

It's confusing isn't it?

They are labelled 'suitable for coeliacs' because the level of wheat is within the Codex standard.

http://www.coeliac.o...tailers/150.asp
It's not enough that we do our best; sometimes we have to do what's required - Sir Winston Churchill

Nikki

Son diagnosed with Coeliac Disease Oct 2006 by biopsy (at age 13yrs)

Posted Image

#3 Deb O (UK)

Deb O (UK)

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 48 posts

Posted 31 July 2006 - 03:19 AM

It's confusing isn't it?

They are labelled 'suitable for coeliacs' because the level of wheat is within the Codex standard.

http://www.coeliac.o...tailers/150.asp

Thanks for this. I guess I'll trust the label if it states 'suitable for coeliacs'.

#4 darlindeb25

darlindeb25

Advanced Community Member

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,324 posts

Posted 31 July 2006 - 03:49 AM