Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Wotsits (uk)
0

12 posts in this topic

Hi there, please bear with me as I'm very new to gluten-free!

I'm still at the stage where I'm preoccupied with checking labels :lol: and noticed that the ingredients listed on a pack of Wotsits (corn puffs) included 2 types of wheat. (Have inadvertently thrown away the packet so can't be specific <_< ) However, underneath the ingredients the pack stated that this product is 'suitable for coeliacs'.

Now I might be missing something, but what's this about?!

I'm not at all bothered about eating Wotsits (I could easily do without :lol: ) but am now feeling confused and disconcerted about labelling.

Can anyone shed any light on this please?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Deb, just a word of advice from another Deb--I wouldn't trust the label. Who can truthfully say how much is too much for us? Who really knows? If I read anything that remotely resembles gluten, I don't eat it. Just my opinion. I was purchasing vitamins from Pacific Pride and they told me they were gluten free, but on the label I read, barley grasses. They gave me the same answer--they feel there is not enough gluten to constitute calling it gluten--in my opinion, it's not up to them how much is not too much.

Deb

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for this. I guess I'll trust the label if it states 'suitable for coeliacs'.

deb im from the uk and know what youare on about, walkers have the same prob too, for instance the lamb and mint flavour says suitable butwhan you look at ingriedients it says contains wheat, i know celiac uk says you can have wheat but for me i know if i have the lamb and mint crisps i get ill. i wouldnt just take the word of the pack, just cos it says doesnt mean its gospel. even my regular items that i buy i still check labels to make sure they havent changed the ingriedients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




deb im from the uk and know what youare on about, walkers have the same prob too, for instance the lamb and mint flavour says suitable butwhan you look at ingriedients it says contains wheat, i know celiac uk says you can have wheat but for me i know if i have the lamb and mint crisps i get ill. i wouldnt just take the word of the pack, just cos it says doesnt mean its gospel. even my regular items that i buy i still check labels to make sure they havent changed the ingriedients.

Taz is right,I should of mentioned that some coeliacs cannot tolerate codex.

Also,CUK advise that you eat no more than 6 slices of Codex bread a day -(how that translates into bags of wotsits I don't know!)-so there is a limit to how much codex you can eat in one day.

It's all very confusing I know! <_<

My husband (who is a coeliac) always says 'If in doubt-leave it out'

He doesn't seem to react to codex but only occasionally eats anything with it.

Good Luck with the diet! :)

It does get easier!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Taz is right,I should of mentioned that some coeliacs cannot tolerate codex.

Also,CUK advise that you eat no more than 6 slices of Codex bread a day -(how that translates into bags of wotsits I don't know!)-so there is a limit to how much codex you can eat in one day.

It's all very confusing I know! <_<

My husband (who is a coeliac) always says 'If in doubt-leave it out'

He doesn't seem to react to codex but only occasionally eats anything with it.

Good Luck with the diet! :)

It does get easier!

Thanks so much to everyone who's replied - I feel easier about it now. It feels isolating when you're on your own trying to take all this on board. This board is brilliant - packed with info and so many people helping each other out, it's inspiring!! :D

I think "If in doubt - leave it out" is good advice!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Taz is right,I should of mentioned that some coeliacs cannot tolerate codex.

Also,CUK advise that you eat no more than 6 slices of Codex bread a day -(how that translates into bags of wotsits I don't know!)-so there is a limit to how much codex you can eat in one day.

It's all very confusing I know! <_<

My husband (who is a coeliac) always says 'If in doubt-leave it out'

He doesn't seem to react to codex but only occasionally eats anything with it.

Good Luck with the diet! :)

It does get easier!

hi nikki uk, its so confuseing about the codex thing is nt it, i havent a clue what it means? i do the same as your hubby if in doubt leave it out. i really dont undersand and i think my ignorance will get me in to trouble so i dont bother with wheat which is a shame cos if i underdtood it i may have a bit more of a vaired diet and could maybe have shredded wheat? again dont know if i could. do you? sorry was just curious about this one.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
hi nikki uk, its so confuseing about the codex thing is nt it, i havent a clue what it means? i do the same as your hubby if in doubt leave it out. i really dont undersand and i think my ignorance will get me in to trouble so i dont bother with wheat which is a shame cos if i underdtood it i may have a bit more of a vaired diet and could maybe have shredded wheat? again dont know if i could. do you? sorry was just curious about this one.

Taz,I'm afraid Shredded Wheat is a definant no-no <_< (shame,because my hubby loved them!)

If something has a Codex level of gluten it means there are less than 200 parts per million.

This really is a minute amount of gluten,but nonetheless some coeliacs find that it gives them diarrhoea and stomach pains/bloating.

Alot of G.F breads in the U.K contain Codex,and will clearly state it.

So,I suppose the only way to see if you can tolerate it is to try some.(a bit of a 'suck it and see' theory)

Sadly to date,there are no clear answers on the Codex debate.

There have been no long term studies to see if when a 'sensitive' coeliac reacts to Codex,it is actually doing harm to the villi in the bowel. :huh:

A rule of thumb is this,

Most foods on the packaging will have a 'contains box' which will list the main allergens

E.g- Contains Milk,Gluten or Nuts

Obviously avoid these like the plague!

But some will only say ''Contains Milk''.

However the ingredients list will list Wheat.

This is where it gets confusing-in the latter instance I would first check the CUK bible (as we call it!)

If any items in the bible contain for instance Barley it will have a small diamond symbol next to it.It will be within the Codex amount.

The same for wheat,(it has a small triangle symbol next to the listed food)

Then it's up to you whether you want to eat a product with trace amounts of gluten (Codex level)

Another thing I do is email the company if not sure about the food.

Finally ,if unsure you could try The Gluten Free message Board who will have a much better idea about UK foods and someone on there may have already got the info on a certain food.

http://members2.boardhost.com/glutenfree/

The only cereal my hubby now eats BTW is Whole Earth Cornflakes (completely G.F) available from Morrissons,Sainsbury's and Asda's.

Hope that helps!! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Taz,I'm afraid Shredded Wheat is a definant no-no <_< (shame,because my hubby loved them!)

If something has a Codex level of gluten it means there are less than 200 parts per million.

This really is a minute amount of gluten,but nonetheless some coeliacs find that it gives them diarrhoea and stomach pains/bloating.

Alot of G.F breads in the U.K contain Codex,and will clearly state it.

So,I suppose the only way to see if you can tolerate it is to try some.(a bit of a 'suck it and see' theory)

Sadly to date,there are no clear answers on the Codex debate.

There have been no long term studies to see if when a 'sensitive' coeliac reacts to Codex,it is actually doing harm to the villi in the bowel. :huh:

A rule of thumb is this,

Most foods on the packaging will have a 'contains box' which will list the main allergens

E.g- Contains Milk,Gluten or Nuts

Obviously avoid these like the plague!

But some will only say ''Contains Milk''.

However the ingredients list will list Wheat.

This is where it gets confusing-in the latter instance I would first check the CUK bible (as we call it!)

If any items in the bible contain for instance Barley it will have a small diamond symbol next to it.It will be within the Codex amount.

The same for wheat,(it has a small triangle symbol next to the listed food)

Then it's up to you whether you want to eat a product with trace amounts of gluten (Codex level)

Another thing I do is email the company if not sure about the food.

Finally ,if unsure you could try The Gluten Free message Board who will have a much better idea about UK foods and someone on there may have already got the info on a certain food.

http://members2.boardhost.com/glutenfree/

The only cereal my hubby now eats BTW is Whole Earth Cornflakes (completely G.F) available from Morrissons,Sainsbury's and Asda's.

Hope that helps!! :)

This is really useful Nikki, thanks!! Deb :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi also new to this :( label checking paranoia . So did you agree on whether Wotsits are ok or not as I love them lol. Im also in the UK

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi also new to this :( label checking paranoia . So did you agree on whether Wotsits are ok or not as I love them lol. Im also in the UK

The info on this thread is 6 years old. You will want to get more current info. Products and company paractices may have changed in that amount of time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,375
    • Total Posts
      920,571
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • https://www.facebook.com/groups/SingaporeCeliacs/
    • Today was the big day when I went to the GI and this is the first time I have felt heard and taken care of.  I told him about the two celiac blood tests  (in my first post) normal, he said that often happens, even with people who do have celiac and he needed to see the report and pictures from my endoscope.    I had filled out the appropriate Kaiser paperwork for Sutter to send all my medical records, but they ended up sending a disc with records to me, which Sutter said they could not use.  We also talked about gluten sensitivity v. celiac, and he said a lot of people are sensitive to gluten even if they don't have celiac. He said that my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which can be caused by any number of things.  He asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which limits certain foods and requires no gluten. He said my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which he said can be caused by any number of things, including gluten sensitivity.  He has asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which has restricted foods as well as no gluten because most gluten products have wheat in them.  So, since I am planning on going gluten free anyway, and I don't want another endoscope or blood tests if absolutely necessary, I am going to try the FODMAP diet and see what happens. I filled a consent form at the GI office today to have all my records sent to him so he can view the endoscope pathology report and photos.  I have an appointment with a Registered Dietician on September 30, and follow up appointment the GI in 4 months. 
    • gluten-free andee, according to an article on celiac.com  that talks about this subject see this link http://www.celiac.com/articles/24406/1/Celiac-Diease-and-Other-Autoimmune-Diseases-Equals-Low-Inflammatory-Diet/Page1.html Quoting the author "In the author's personal experience, a gluten-free diet has many limitations. The reactivity between alpha gliadin and corn, millet, oats, rice and dairy has been denounced as invalid by gastroenterologists and celiac disease researchers. While at a medical school in Missouri, biopsies did not show improvement in villous atropy until all alpha gliadin sources and corn, millet, rice and oats were removed from the diet."  Note this research is two years old but hilites the problem with non-gluten rice protein that you are having. It is the alpha gliadin sources that it causing the cross reactivity you are experiencing when you eat rice protein's. She says quoting "Celiac disease has gotten the most attention in antibody research, but the current data on cross-reactivity of antibodies is allowing a better understanding of gluten sensitivity. Antigen reactivity to alpha-gliadin can trigger immune attacks on many individuals beyond those with positive DQ 2, DQ 8 and TTG test results. She goes on to say "A low inflammatory diet customized to each person through testing for cross-reactivity or elimination diet protocols is needed to restore a state of health and well-being."  which sounds exactly like what you are doing. If you are still having problems after elminating rice a 30 day elimination of all the alpha gliadin proteins might be in order.  Corn is a common reactivity problem I hear with a gluten allergy from my friends as well as the obvious lactose problems that can be common among celiacs.  But rarely do you hear Rice allergy's brought up in context of a gluten allergy. I am glad you are making progress on finding your triggers. Read the whole article for yourself to see if there are nuggets of truth I did not highlight in my response. I hope this is helpful. Good luck on your journey to health. Posterboy,
    • One other thing - you might be able to tolerate some dairy if it's only the FODMAPs problem. I discovered that many cheese such as cheddar have effectively no lactose. And my wife sometimes makes 24 hour yoghurt, which also has effectively no lactose. Those have been fine for my tummy.
    • Celiacs got better gluten-free. Post-war, grains became available again and the same patients got sick again. 1952 the Gluten-Free Diet is officially ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,451
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined