Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Question About Soda Pop
0

18 posts in this topic

Hi everybody I was just wondering if any body knows if pepsi or diet pepsi contain gluten , also i read an article that alot of foods or beverages that have caramel color in their ingredients probably contain gluten because the color is made from wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

From the CSA book published as of last Fall, and double checked thru the Wheaton-Gluten Free support group's list, all Coca-Cola (USA & Canada) products are gluten free. The same thing goes for Pepsi. You can verify yourself if you like to make sure nothing has changed since;

Coca-Cola (800-438-2653)

Pepsi (800-433-2652)

Somwhere on this board there are links to gluten free food lists, I reccomend the CSA and the Wheaton ones, they are very large.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Pepsi website states that their caramel coloring is from corn sugar, which I understand is true of caramel coloring that originates in the US.

I agree with calling them. I try and send out emails to companies that don't clearly label their products and I am unsure about an ingredient.

DK

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Coca-Cola is gluten-free: regular, caffeine free, diet, diet and caffeine free, etc...I don't know about that C2, but it's probably fine as well. I didn't check into Vanilla or Cherry Coke, but I don't drink those that often....the regular kinds that I listed above are fine.

Pepsi is gluten-free: regular, caffeine free, diet, diet and caffeine free...I didn't check into any variations they might have....like something with vanilla....

Most sodas are gluten-free....just be careful with root beer. A&W Root Beer is fine. Other gluten-free sodas that I'm aware of include Coke, Sprite, 7up, Canada Dry, Sunkist, Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, Schweppes. I drink Sunkist, Coke (and Pepsi), and Sprite somewhat "regularly".

-celiac3270

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While we are talking about soda, I have not seen my FAVORITE types of soda listed here. Neither one contains any kind of carmel I would think, since the color of the soda isn't dark.

The kinds would be Mountain Dew & Code Red Mountain Dew.

I just installed a 6 flavor restaurant style soda fountain in my basement. I have Pepsi products, the two mentioned above, then Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Pibb Xtra (this is the only Coke Product I have) and Yellow Lemonade.

I want to remain 100% gluten-free, but, it is going to be a learning curve.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hey to all,

i found that pretty strange, since i tried Pepsi and had really painful stomach ache and head (bone) ache. And i was so sad, because i love Pepsi. I'm pretty sure, i didn't make another mistake in my diet. So it can only be the Pepsi. Or does the vanilla and chocolate icecream from Turkey Hill contain gluten? I thought they don't have gluten actually.

Stef

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know that Pepsi doesn't have gluten (unless there was some freak batch of it).......I've never heard Turkey Hill listed as being gluten-free, but it probably is....dunno what caused that reaction

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I drink coke and pepsi and they are surely gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey all - just got this from Coke. I am still trying to get them to tell me if DIET CHERRY COKE IS gluten free.

Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company.

We apologize for the delay in our response and appreciate your patience.

However, we have some new information that we think you might find helpful.

We are currently able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola

classic, Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with Lime,

caffeine free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, diet Sprite, vanilla

Coke, diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and our 100% juice products

(without added ingredients) are gluten free.

Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet Codex's

definition of gluten-free, which is less than 200 ppm (0.02%) gluten. Codex has

examined the data and determined that less than 200 ppm gluten is below the

level in which people with celiac disease would experience adverse reactions.

However, at this time the U.S. Food and Drug Administration does not have a

regulatory definition of gluten-free.

We can assure you that the exact amount of gluten in these products is very low

- perhaps even zero. Some minor ingredients in these products are manufactured

from plants that gluten-sensitive people could react to, so we are unable to

state categorically that they are totally gluten-free even though they may have

undetectable levels of gluten in them. The Codex guideline provides a very low

threshold for gluten content and exposures below this level are not expected to

result in damage to the majority of gluten-sensitive individuals. However,

extremely gluten-sensitive individuals should discuss consumption of these

products with their health care provider.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have any additional questions or

comments, please visit our Web site again.

Jennifer

The Coca-Cola Company

Industry and Consumer Affairs

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got that same list from Jennifer a few weeks ago :lol: Hmmm....can't find the e-mail now, so thanks for reposting.

I tried to find out if Fanta (orange) was gluten-free......they're testing it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

is Fresca gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
We are currently able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola

classic, Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with Lime,

caffeine free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, diet Sprite, vanilla

Coke, diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and our 100% juice products

(without added ingredients) are gluten free.

It's gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was at Costco this week and noticed a case of Sparkling Ice which is sparkling spring water with flavors and a full days worth of vitamin C. It is sweetened by Splenda and has only 3 calories. So I called the company right then and there and they said all their products are gluten free. So, jumping up and down and squealing in Costco, I bought a case and they're great. Their website is www.talkingrain.com and they have the gluten free comment on their FAQ page. So, I've had the grapefruit and can't wait to try the Mango and Black Raspberry. I also bought some Philly Swirl Italian Ice and that's gluten-free as well. Their website tells you that except for their new sanwiches their other products are gluten-free. It's www.phillyswirl.com.

Sorry if I'm rambling but it's now 4:00 a.m. I can't sleep so I figured I'd hang out here!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Stef,

I don't know if you were drinking regular Pepsi or Diet Pepsi. Some Diet drinks have a chemical sweetener called Aspartame. Which, in case studies, mixes with our stomach acids and creates formaldahyde. Also, in all of the monkeys that were fed aspartame, All of them developed Granmal seizures. My husbands aunt also developed these seizures from drinking Diet sodas. When she quit drinking them, the seizures stopped. I recommend Diet Rite, or any other Diet drink sweetened with Splenda which is a safe alternative for sugar and has not been known to cause health risks as far as I know.

Rian

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wait..the above post says that those certain coke products are under 200 PPM? did you mean to say 20 ppm? I know most coke products are gluten-free but if the others are only able to guarantee 200 ppm, I wouldn't touch it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yay! :D I checked with Pepsi on the internet; they have some feature called "ask lisa".....it's like a search engine. I typed in "gluten free" and one of the results: are pepsi products gluten free? They say that ALL Pepsi products are gluten-free and none contain gluten! That encompasses everything such as their other soft drinks and non-carbonated beverages.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
While we are talking about soda, I have not seen my FAVORITE types of soda listed here. Neither one contains any kind of carmel I would think, since the color of the soda isn't dark.

The kinds would be Mountain Dew & Code Red Mountain Dew.

By the way, Glen4Cindy, this means that Mountain Dew and Mountain Dew Code Red are gluten-free....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Uuups, i found out, it was the Turkey Hill Icecream. Since i eat Breyers i got a whole lot better. Thanks for your answer.

Lots of greetings, Stef

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined