#1 Nshea

Nshea

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 January 2004 - 08:49 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to this message board, so hopefully I got this post in the correct spot. I've been diagnoised by my Dr. with celiac disease even though my biopsy came back negative. I'm trying to figure out what blood test he had me do that he figured this out. When I asked him what the number was he told me but I didn't remember. When I asked him what the normal range was he said to me that in a person without celiac disease the number would be "0". also is this an accurate way to diagnois? I was deffinetly having symptoms and am feeling much better on the gluten-free diet. I went on a splurge last weekend and am still paying for it...so I know I have something realted to gluten even if it is not celiac disease. Just wondering if anyone could shed some light onto this for me.

Thanks so much!
Nicole
Tampa, FL

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 seeking_wholeness

seeking_wholeness

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 350 posts

Posted 18 January 2004 - 08:58 PM

Nicole,

Welcome to the board! I'm glad you're here!

Your doctor was probably talking about the anti-tTG antibody test. tTG is a normal component of human tissue, so if you are making antibodies against it, you have an autoimmune disorder--celiac disease. Most doctors don't make a final diagnosis based on this test, however. You might want to pursue a biopsy to confirm the diagnosis (though even this is somewhat unreliable--it could come back false-negative, especially if you are already gluten-free), or request a genetic test to verify that you have the troublemaking gene. I would definitely ask the doctor again about which tests he ran. If the gluten-free diet is helping, your doctor's diagnosis is probably accurate, but further testing is available if you desire it.

Good luck!
Sarah
gluten-free since November 1, 2003

#3 Nshea

Nshea

New Community Member

• Members