This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Baker

flxmanning

flxmanning Apprentice

Hello everyone!

I am really new to this as I just found out last week that I have Celiac Disease. My problems all started about 2 years ago and I continually was told by doctors that a lot of my problems could be attributed to something, anything else.

I first went to the doctor because I was losing an incredible amount of weight at a ridiculous speed. They told me that my problem must be that I simply wasn't eating enough. So, naturally, I ate more. I gained a little weight, but not much and I figured that I was just one of those "lucky" individuals with an alarming metabolism. Well, the problems got worse. The story gets better, I promise.

About a year ago I went off to culinary school with an emphasis in patisserie and baking. Just like any culinary student with a sweet tooth, my eating habits changed radically. Gone were the days of salads and fish and here were days of cinnamon rolls, tarts, cakes, anything and everything I could want and all only a short walk over to the next classmate or classroom away.