This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Link Between Celiac And Dvt?

Katja

Katja Rookie

I was doing some research on other auto immune disorders when I came accross Hughes syndrome (also Antiphospholipid syndrome) which leads to Thrombosis and is related to Protein C. Pardon my ignorance but I am not a doctor by any means, so this might all be a little convoluted.

I had severe DVT at age 20 after surgery. What was unusual at the time was that I had about 7 blood clots in both legs and only had surgery in my left leg. I was also still fairly young and at the time had only been in the hospital for 4 days.

Anyhoo, they did tests a few years ago and it turns out I have a Protein C mutation which is linked to Thrombosis.

Has anybody else had these problems and if so what kind of treatment are you following for this? Could this be linked to another autoimmune disease?

Katja

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Esther Sparhawk Contributor

This may or may not be helpful information for you, but here goes. I had a blood clot in my leg during my pregnancy with Annie, and Annie is a celiac. Due to my genetic link to her and my own lactose intolerance, I've recently taken a blood test to see if I test positive for celiac disease, but I've never been tested for the other diseases you've mentioned. I won't find out about my bloodwork (celiac or not) until later.

I was an older mother with a tendancy toward high blood pressure, so they (doctors) weren't surprised about my blood clot during pregnancy. Maybe I should be concerned, though?

Mechelle

Bootin'TheGluten Newbie