Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Does Wine Have Gluten In It?
0

19 posts in this topic

Just asking....

I went out to dinner tonight and now I'm kind of bloaty. I knew I shouldn't have eaten out but it was nice to catch up with an old friend.

I'm sure there was something in something that I ate...milk or gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Wine does not contain gluten. The really cheap stuff that you get in grocery stores thats "peach flavored" or whatever and wine in a box, maybe those have gluten ingredients, but if you were out at dinner, chances are that's not what you had :)

Elonwy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plain wine is fine, even the cheap plonk in the box. Any time you add flavor to anything you need to look at what has been added, since there could be gluten in it. But wine is okay. Enjoy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Plain wine is fine, even the cheap plonk in the box. Any time you add flavor to anything you need to look at what has been added, since there could be gluten in it. But wine is okay. Enjoy!

Hmmm....so if it was an Red Apple Wine drink with more than just wine in it I may be in trouble? :unsure: (where's the guilty face? LOL)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hmmm....so if it was an Red Apple Wine drink with more than just wine in it I may be in trouble? :unsure: (where's the guilty face? LOL)

Yep. It was likely some kind of syrup they put in it, not the wine itself.

I'm actually drinking a glass of pinot noir right now - thank goodness wine is gluten-free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Yep. It was likely some kind of syrup they put in it, not the wine itself.

I'm actually drinking a glass of pinot noir right now - thank goodness wine is gluten-free!

Well, actually, I read all the ingredients of the drink and it sounded ok.

I think it *may* have been the salad. After going through the whole menu and asking questions about what was in this and what was in that, explaining what I could and couldn't eat, she finally brought me a salad with grilled chicken, sans croutons and cheese......with a big ol' slab of garlic toast on the side of it!

I scraped off with a napkin anything I thought had touched the bread, but who knows!? It could have even been the grill. Honestly, I think what I'm feeling is some kind of milk from lunch....a little early for the gluten to have hit me already.

No more fancy drinks for me! Vodka and cranberry juice ONLY!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

are you lactose or casein free? if you are casein free, wine is filtered with casein.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well, actually, I read all the ingredients of the drink and it sounded ok.

I think it *may* have been the salad. After going through the whole menu and asking questions about what was in this and what was in that, explaining what I could and couldn't eat, she finally brought me a salad with grilled chicken, sans croutons and cheese......with a big ol' slab of garlic toast on the side of it!

I scraped off with a napkin anything I thought had touched the bread, but who knows!? It could have even been the grill. Honestly, I think what I'm feeling is some kind of milk from lunch....a little early for the gluten to have hit me already.

No more fancy drinks for me! Vodka and cranberry juice ONLY!

Yea it was most likely the salad. Even a crumb can get us as well as the dressing. I bring by own. Make sure the vodka is potato vodka though, many of us can tolerate gluten grain alcohol but many of us can't.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
are you lactose or casein free? if you are casein free, wine is filtered with casein.

Um, whoops! :o

I am in fact at this time casein intolerant. Thanks for the tip!

Yea it was most likely the salad. Even a crumb can get us as well as the dressing. I bring by own. Make sure the vodka is potato vodka though, many of us can tolerate gluten grain alcohol but many of us can't.

I seem to be ok with vodka (thank God!) but I had no idea wine was filtered with casein.

I should just give up on eating out for now, it was just too hard to pass up meeting with a friend I haven't seen in MONTHS! Next time, it's Outback or just a bar. LOL

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wine is generally fine although it contains sulfates, which may cause sensitivity in some.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Um, whoops! :o

I am in fact at this time casein intolerant. Thanks for the tip!

I seem to be ok with vodka (thank God!) but I had no idea wine was filtered with casein.

I should just give up on eating out for now, it was just too hard to pass up meeting with a friend I haven't seen in MONTHS! Next time, it's Outback or just a bar. LOL

The wines that are vegetarian don't use casein. There was a thread a while back that may have given some brands, maybe you could try a search to find them or ask at your local liquor store.

Not being able to be comfortable in social 'eating' situations can be tough. It is hard not to feel isolated. I would still meet with my friend, I would just take some bottled water and eat first. Eating out is risky, especially in the begining. There are some dining cards that are available that you can take with you that many find to be helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only some Port wines contain gluten, or so I found when I researched this subject. If you order a cosmo out you'll have to question the brands to make sure they are safe but with wine - as long as it's not Port you should be safe. And not all Ports contain gluten so if you like them, you can contact the winemaker for details.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
are you lactose or casein free? if you are casein free, wine is filtered with casein.

Aw crap, really??? All wine, most wine, or just a few wines?

Jeanne, who thought she could still drink an occasional glass...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The wines that are vegetarian don't use casein. There was a thread a while back that may have given some brands, maybe you could try a search to find them or ask at your local liquor store.

Just to clarify, it is the vegan wines that are casein-free. Vegetarian means dairy and eggs are allowed. I think if you google vegan wines, you'll find a few brands available.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

Or you can just stick to vodka and cranberry juice. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

Really? Sounds interesting, but it also sounds like more of a project than I'm likely to take on for as little as I drink it. But geez, with everything I can't eat when we go out, now I can't even order a glass of wine with my gluten/casein/soy-free dinner? Phooey.

Jeanne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

count your blessings, becuase one day, you won't be able to drink anything :)

unfortunately, that happened to me at a ripe, young age.

i still don't drink the casein/gluten free wine, but that way, my mom can when we make it. i can't have sulphites. or alcohol, in that case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
count your blessings, becuase one day, you won't be able to drink anything :)

unfortunately, that happened to me at a ripe, young age.

i still don't drink the casein/gluten free wine, but that way, my mom can when we make it. i can't have sulphites. or alcohol, in that case.

Well, alcohol's not exactly good for me, and I don't drink that much anyway (my dad is a pretty extreme alcoholic, and I've always been VERY careful not to go there), so it's not that big a deal, really. It's just One More Thing I Can't Have . And since I'm still adjusting to being soy-free, PLUS South-Beaching, my food world is starting to feel awfully restricted. I know it's worth it, and I'm feeling healthier than I ever have, but it sure does feel like a lot of effort sometimes!

Jeanne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,681
    • Total Posts
      921,725
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I also only really eat one meal a day and always after I get home. I never really feel hungrey. I call it 'Pavlov's dog in reverse'.  I think it comes from so many years of food making me sick. I have gotten to the point where I now at least can eat a sandwhich and some fruit during the day but it wasn't a quick process. When folks get like that it is very important to make sure that one meal has a good amount of both calories and nutrtion.  If your diet is how you describe you are starving yourself.  You need to get yourself used to eating again.  What helped me was carrying a baggie with some nuts and dry fruit with maybe even a handful of gluten free pretzels and always some chocolate baking chips. I just ate couple pieces when I thought of it throughout the day. A little bit of cheese and a couple safe crackers, a piece of fruit or a small tin or individual serving snack pack are also good. You need to get some nutrition during the day so you can feel up to cooking a simple full meal  for dinner. I hope your feeling better soon.
    • Ok, I can't seem to find my first lot of blood tests that were done for Celiac screening, they did include TTG I remember that much, and I am getting another copy of it but another test did come in today.  I don't know how different tests are done around the world and I don't get all the medical jargon but this is what it states, ******************************************************************************* HLA DR/DQ Genotyping for Coeliac Disease, Specimen type : EDTA blood Method : Detection of sequence-specific oligonucleotides (Gen-Probe). HLA-DR - 1, 13          DRB1 - 01, 13 HLA-DQ - 5,6        HLA-DQA1 - 5,6      HLA-DB1 - 05, 06 Interpretation : No genotype susceptibility for coeliac disease.  The DQ2 and DQ8 antigens associated with increased risk of coeliac disease were not identified in this patient.  In the absence of these antigens, coeliac disease is extremely unlikely.   *******************************************************************************   I have read the horror stories of blood tests and scope biopsies not be done right or flawed but here is what I do know as of now, At the moment the most non invasive test I can have done say negative.  I have double scopes (endoscopy and colonoscopy) booked for the 12th of October with results from biopsies expected a week or two after. Chances are they will show, a) signs of coeliac disease (even if the odds are low it can still happen), b) show signs of something else entirely and we will be busy dealing with the ramifications of that or c) it will show no signs of coeliac but I will still be suffering from gluten sensitivity (which is harder/impossible to measure clinically). My GP has told me that stress and anxiety can be a cause of all the symptoms I have been experiencing and suggests if the scopes show nothing that I may benefit from something to treat anxiety, i.e. antidepressants.  Not in a, "Oh we don't know what it is so have these," kind of way, he agrees with the thought that the scopes could indeed show coeliac, something else or even be negative. I did tell him that I could have a sensitivity and that even without benefit of clinical results, some people have gone on a gluten elimination diet for a period of time to see if they get any relief.  My question is this, if the scopes come up negative and I try eliminating gluten, how long would it be before I saw any results or improvements?  I have read enough here and elsewhere to know that everybody is different, some see results within days, some see results longer but are there any guidelines for how long a test like this should be undertaken for?  I have heard everything thing from two weeks to two months.  All of this is entirely moot at this point but I know that even if the results said clear, there would always be a little part of me that wonders if it could be a sensitivity that is the problem.  Any thoughts or advice greatly appreciated, and a thank you to all those who have taken the time to respond and offer advice and encouragement so far.        
    • We don't delete accounts but can delete any personal information and change your screen name if you would like. Just send me a personal message with three possible screen names. For the record you can edit most things in your account area with the exception of your screen name.
    • Thanks I never heard of that dye before, I guess I have to find more natural meat thanks for the suggestion. 
    • Yes, I only eat one meal a day. Sometimes salad or fries or whatever I can find. And thanks for the replies again.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,680
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Misalina
    Joined