Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Does Wine Have Gluten In It?
0

19 posts in this topic

Just asking....

I went out to dinner tonight and now I'm kind of bloaty. I knew I shouldn't have eaten out but it was nice to catch up with an old friend.

I'm sure there was something in something that I ate...milk or gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Wine does not contain gluten. The really cheap stuff that you get in grocery stores thats "peach flavored" or whatever and wine in a box, maybe those have gluten ingredients, but if you were out at dinner, chances are that's not what you had :)

Elonwy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Plain wine is fine, even the cheap plonk in the box. Any time you add flavor to anything you need to look at what has been added, since there could be gluten in it. But wine is okay. Enjoy!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Plain wine is fine, even the cheap plonk in the box. Any time you add flavor to anything you need to look at what has been added, since there could be gluten in it. But wine is okay. Enjoy!

Hmmm....so if it was an Red Apple Wine drink with more than just wine in it I may be in trouble? :unsure: (where's the guilty face? LOL)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hmmm....so if it was an Red Apple Wine drink with more than just wine in it I may be in trouble? :unsure: (where's the guilty face? LOL)

Yep. It was likely some kind of syrup they put in it, not the wine itself.

I'm actually drinking a glass of pinot noir right now - thank goodness wine is gluten-free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Yep. It was likely some kind of syrup they put in it, not the wine itself.

I'm actually drinking a glass of pinot noir right now - thank goodness wine is gluten-free!

Well, actually, I read all the ingredients of the drink and it sounded ok.

I think it *may* have been the salad. After going through the whole menu and asking questions about what was in this and what was in that, explaining what I could and couldn't eat, she finally brought me a salad with grilled chicken, sans croutons and cheese......with a big ol' slab of garlic toast on the side of it!

I scraped off with a napkin anything I thought had touched the bread, but who knows!? It could have even been the grill. Honestly, I think what I'm feeling is some kind of milk from lunch....a little early for the gluten to have hit me already.

No more fancy drinks for me! Vodka and cranberry juice ONLY!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

are you lactose or casein free? if you are casein free, wine is filtered with casein.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well, actually, I read all the ingredients of the drink and it sounded ok.

I think it *may* have been the salad. After going through the whole menu and asking questions about what was in this and what was in that, explaining what I could and couldn't eat, she finally brought me a salad with grilled chicken, sans croutons and cheese......with a big ol' slab of garlic toast on the side of it!

I scraped off with a napkin anything I thought had touched the bread, but who knows!? It could have even been the grill. Honestly, I think what I'm feeling is some kind of milk from lunch....a little early for the gluten to have hit me already.

No more fancy drinks for me! Vodka and cranberry juice ONLY!

Yea it was most likely the salad. Even a crumb can get us as well as the dressing. I bring by own. Make sure the vodka is potato vodka though, many of us can tolerate gluten grain alcohol but many of us can't.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
are you lactose or casein free? if you are casein free, wine is filtered with casein.

Um, whoops! :o

I am in fact at this time casein intolerant. Thanks for the tip!

Yea it was most likely the salad. Even a crumb can get us as well as the dressing. I bring by own. Make sure the vodka is potato vodka though, many of us can tolerate gluten grain alcohol but many of us can't.

I seem to be ok with vodka (thank God!) but I had no idea wine was filtered with casein.

I should just give up on eating out for now, it was just too hard to pass up meeting with a friend I haven't seen in MONTHS! Next time, it's Outback or just a bar. LOL

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wine is generally fine although it contains sulfates, which may cause sensitivity in some.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Um, whoops! :o

I am in fact at this time casein intolerant. Thanks for the tip!

I seem to be ok with vodka (thank God!) but I had no idea wine was filtered with casein.

I should just give up on eating out for now, it was just too hard to pass up meeting with a friend I haven't seen in MONTHS! Next time, it's Outback or just a bar. LOL

The wines that are vegetarian don't use casein. There was a thread a while back that may have given some brands, maybe you could try a search to find them or ask at your local liquor store.

Not being able to be comfortable in social 'eating' situations can be tough. It is hard not to feel isolated. I would still meet with my friend, I would just take some bottled water and eat first. Eating out is risky, especially in the begining. There are some dining cards that are available that you can take with you that many find to be helpful.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Only some Port wines contain gluten, or so I found when I researched this subject. If you order a cosmo out you'll have to question the brands to make sure they are safe but with wine - as long as it's not Port you should be safe. And not all Ports contain gluten so if you like them, you can contact the winemaker for details.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
are you lactose or casein free? if you are casein free, wine is filtered with casein.

Aw crap, really??? All wine, most wine, or just a few wines?

Jeanne, who thought she could still drink an occasional glass...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The wines that are vegetarian don't use casein. There was a thread a while back that may have given some brands, maybe you could try a search to find them or ask at your local liquor store.

Just to clarify, it is the vegan wines that are casein-free. Vegetarian means dairy and eggs are allowed. I think if you google vegan wines, you'll find a few brands available.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

Or you can just stick to vodka and cranberry juice. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
you can also make your own wine, too. we do that.

Really? Sounds interesting, but it also sounds like more of a project than I'm likely to take on for as little as I drink it. But geez, with everything I can't eat when we go out, now I can't even order a glass of wine with my gluten/casein/soy-free dinner? Phooey.

Jeanne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

count your blessings, becuase one day, you won't be able to drink anything :)

unfortunately, that happened to me at a ripe, young age.

i still don't drink the casein/gluten free wine, but that way, my mom can when we make it. i can't have sulphites. or alcohol, in that case.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
count your blessings, becuase one day, you won't be able to drink anything :)

unfortunately, that happened to me at a ripe, young age.

i still don't drink the casein/gluten free wine, but that way, my mom can when we make it. i can't have sulphites. or alcohol, in that case.

Well, alcohol's not exactly good for me, and I don't drink that much anyway (my dad is a pretty extreme alcoholic, and I've always been VERY careful not to go there), so it's not that big a deal, really. It's just One More Thing I Can't Have . And since I'm still adjusting to being soy-free, PLUS South-Beaching, my food world is starting to feel awfully restricted. I know it's worth it, and I'm feeling healthier than I ever have, but it sure does feel like a lot of effort sometimes!

Jeanne

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,645
    • Total Posts
      921,584
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I've been eating gluten for 4 weeks now, as recommended by my doctor, to test for Celiac. Today I got 'some' of my blood test results back, although not all... I have my biopsy test scheduled for tomorrow morning, but I don't know if I should go through with it or not if the other results are not back by morning (which would show a clear positive or negative)... The results I got so far have a few alarming numbers...

      My platelets are marked as High, being 484 x10^9/L but what I found more confusing was that my ESR is a Low 5mm (with average rate being 10 - 14)... 

      My Ferritin (Serum) is 36 ng/mL which I think is low(?)

      I'm no doctor, and I know that the best thing to do is ask a doctor, but I'm quite sure that if I go for my biopsy appointment tomorrow my specialist would insist on me taking it, even if the other results are not back by then. I'm sure it's not a pleasant experience and would like to avoid going through with it unless it is necessary. 

      Also, I took my blood test after eating gluten for only 3 weeks (since that was a week ago), and if my blood tests result as negative, I'm thinking about trying to keep eating gluten for another 4 weeks and test again then... if that comes positive, I'll then want to have the biopsy test done.

      What do you make of the above numbers? Any connections with celiac? Or with something else? 
    • The first two tests (at least in the US and most of the EU) have been replaced by the DGP tests (at the bottom) of GFinDC's list of celiac tests.  Not all celiacs test positive to the common Screening TTG.   The TTg is good and catches most and it was cheaper to run the best one (it is all about the money), but researchers realized they were not catching all celiacs.  Here is a link to the University of Chicago's celiac website.  When I was diagnosed three years ago, this site recommended just the TTg (as did the American GI Association).  Now they have expanded the list of celiac tests.   http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ Luckily, my GI must have just attended a GI conference and he ordered the complete panel for me.  ($400). It paid off.  Only my DGP IGA was positive and the rest of the blood panel (including the popular TTG test) was negative.  My biopsies revealed some severe intestinal damage.  My new health provider only allows PCP/GP doctors to only order the TTG.  So, if I want the follow-up testing to see if I have improved or had a gluten exposure, I must go to my New GI.  Yep, it is all about the money!   Keep eating gluten and make sure your  GI takes four to six samples during the endoscopy.  Maintain copies of all your results.   Your symptoms?  Yes, there are over 300 celiac disease symptoms.  celiac disease does not just affect the gut, but mis-informed and those who do not keep up with the latest in medical, do not seem to know that!   Do not give up!  
    • It's great to hear from you, Nightsky.  Glad to also hear of your steady progress.  Living gluten free is definitely a learning process, and even the baby steps are times to celebrate.  Wish you all the luck in the world as you continue to heal for the glutenization.  
    • Hi Nicky, When you first go gluten-free your symptoms often do change.  Feeling better or worse is possible.  The healing process is a major change in our gut and that means a big change in the gut flora is likely,  which can cause symptoms by itself.  Additionally the immune system doesn't stop making antibodies on a dime.  the immune system keeps working  to defeat the gluten invaders until it is darn good and ready to take a break. You really shouldn't start the gluten-free diet until all testing is completed.  That includes a full celiac disease panel and an endoscopy with biopsy samples.  It's much easier to complete testing while still a gluten eater than it is to stop gluten and go  back on it for testing later.
    • Hi Kircket, Welcome to the forum! Yes, he could be wrong.  Not everyone passes the blood tests.  And they are just one part of the diagnostic process anyway, although an important one.   Did you have the complete celiac antibodies panel? Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgA
      Anti-Gliadin (AGA) IgG
      Anti-Endomysial (EMA) IgA
      Anti-Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) IgA
      Deamidated Gliadin Peptide (DGP) IgA and IgG
      Total Serum IgA If you didn't have the full celiac disease antibodies test panel, I'd insist on getting it done.  There have been numerous people on the forum who tested positive on one antibody but not on others.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,651
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Kricket73
    Joined